We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tour we did in Luang Prabang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours

Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours
Sisavangvong Rd. Next to Royal Palace Museum | At the End of the Night Market, Luang Prabang 098989, Laos
+856 71 212 311
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2000, Tiger Trail Travel is a leading destination management company in Laos. We provide unique short trips and extended journeys through the country. With our extensive experience and network in the region, we guarantee quality services and a memorable adventure.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best tour we did in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

We did a junge trek with them. It was excellent. They were very friendly and professional from the beginning to the end. Our guide, Fong, spoke good English and was very keen to tell us many interesting things. They are 'fair trade' - they support local communities.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    40
    13
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overprized - Try to avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Don't support the overprized trips! For sure the nature is wonderful in this region, but the tour was just moneymaking. We made a bike tour with visiting of a cave and going back by boat. Bikes were in quite good condition. Caves were not worth visiting. The wiskey-village was just another textile market. Our guide was friendly, but we don't get more information than absolute necessary. They even saved money on everything. (Cheap water with plastic-taste, only a small budget for the lunch in a restaurant). Even in Europe this tour-price had been too high!! I am pretty sure there is a price agreement in the city, but try to get something cheaper or renounce this kind of tours. Don't support this rip-off!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Public Relations Manager at Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear aworldtourist,

Thank you for your concerns. Your Tiger Trail Travel tour included a licensed guide, high quality mountain bikes that are well maintained, lunch, entrance fees to see the Pak Ou Caves, and a private, long-tailed boat that was chartered roundtrip from Luang Prabang to the caves. This tour may only be slightly higher in cost because we employ our licensed tour guides year-round and they receive generous benefits working with us.

The Pak Ou Caves and the Whisky Village are some of the highest-rated and well-visited sites for tourists in Luang Prabang. I am sorry to hear that these sites were not quite up to your expectations. Please do not hesitate to try some of our other tours that are highly rated.

Please note that we have never had any previous complaints about the quality of our water bottles nor the lunch that is served. However due to your concern, we have immediately chosen to upgrade our supplier for water bottles. We have also consulted the restaraunt near the caves, and they will now serve multiple delicious Lao dishes on a regular basis to the benefit of all future participants wishing to book our tours. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay through Laos.

- Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not quite what we hoped for”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Although the day was rainy, we thought we would have the trekking and waterfall experience we hoped for when we paid the 100 dollars to the guy at the office. However, on our way there the guide told us the roads were not suitable for the van and we could just go to the waterfall and come back. We wondered how could a tour with that price not have a suitable vehicle for those roads, in a country where it rains so much. So we asked the guide to take us back to Luang Prabang to ask for our money back. The guide managed to promise us a trekking which ended up being half of what we paid for. He was polite, but spoke almost no english and it was hard to understand the whole situation.
I would not recommend Tiger Trail. You don't get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Public Relations Manager at Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Laura W,

We, Tiger Trail Travel, are an adventure tour company with vehicles that are certainly capable of all weather conditions and the varying terrain in the Lao countryside. There was a light rain shower occurring throughout the city that day, and we though it would be fine to not use our all-terrain vehicle for this common tour. However, we were caught off guard when we noticed a heavy rainstorm in the countryside. Our highest-rated and gold-card certified tour guide offered this tour to be fully refunded. Though you had agreed to as shorter version of the trekking tour around the Kuang Si Waterfalls.

For this tour, Mr. Joy was your personal guide. He has had three full years of college courses on English from 2005, and has worked with some of the finest hotels and tour companies in the city. We highly recommend Mr. Joy, and we have been lucky enough to have him working with us since 2014. We solidly stand behind his level of English and his professionalism in handling our Tiger Trail tours.

- Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Despite the hills, still lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We opted for a bike tour to the Kouang Si waterfalls to see more of surrounding Luang Prabang. The ride was tough in parts as there were some uphill stretches that didn't seem to end. However the swim in the beautiful falls seemed very well deserved at the end. Our guide Mr Bounchan was very accommodating and helpful and full of interesting information. The tour along the Mekong following the waterfall gave us another insight into the country.
I like being active and the outdoors so I would highly recommend this tour! The booking process and confirmation and pick ups was all very professional.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Public Relations Manager at Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Dear Tamara R,

I am very enthusiastic to hear that the tour you booked with us to the Kuang Si Waterfalls was great! I will pass on the information regarding our helpful guide. I hope you have a good rest of your time in Luang Prabang and Laos overall. Come back soon for some more active adventures with Tiger Trail!

- Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

I got picked up in a minivan exactly on time. Had 2 guides, Noah and Ntok (sp?) who couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Ntok's English was very good and Noah's was perfect since he grew up in the US. The bikes worked fine. The ride was pretty challenging, especially in this heat. Lunch was just OK but the view was spectacular. I doing another one tomorrow.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Public Relations Manager at Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Dear Gasman32,

Glad to hear that your bike tour went well! The landscape in the countryside is truly amazing. Have fun on you next bike tour!

- Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiger Trail Outdoor Adventures - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.