We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average food in a nice setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The House Restaurant & Belgian Beer Bar

The House Restaurant & Belgian Beer Bar
Phousi Road 10 | Aphai Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
+856 71 255 021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Italian, French, Belgian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "The House" is a Restaurant where the Belgian Chef works closely with local staff. Also known for it's variety of Belgian beers. Much appreciated by many. Indoor seating or outdoor under the stars or nest to the fire. Cuisine is Local, Belgian, French and Italian. Also you can enjoy different activities like Movies, Petanque and Travelers Table.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Below average food in a nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Me and my partner ate here after reading verybgood things about it, we were very disappointed with the food! Atmosphere was lovely, staff were friendly, food arrived promptly but it was big let down I'm afraid to say. After travelling SEA for the last four months and eating alot of rice and noodles it is a treat when we fork out for some western food. We both ordered the pizza expecting for the price a good size one, when it camebit was very small indeed, had a side salad on the plate to make up for the lack if pizza! It was tasty enough though, just disappointed by the level of food in such a beautiful place!I am unable to comment on their other dishes so maybe they are better than the pizzas...worth a try if your not too hungry :)

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    51
    21
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southhport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The House Luang Prabang, Our first night in Laos could not of been better. Not knowing where to go we took advice From Trip Advisor and went to the House. A warm friendly welcome from the staff who are all Laos except the owner who is from Belgian. As recommended the beef stew was amazing. It was much appreciated that the owner adds a personnel touch in chatting with his guests which was a pleasent surprise. As to cost this restuarant is very good value for money. If your in Laos it is well worth going to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious belgian place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We loved this place so much we went back twice (lured by the free drinks vouchers we got the first time!) the drinks menu is fantastic and the food was top notch as well. Friendly owners who came over to chat both times and great staff...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A friend recommended this restaurant to us and it was absolutely divine. It was my mum's 60th and we went there for dinner. The food was to die for. The staff were very friendly attentive and we were lucky enough to meet/chat to the owner who provided some recommendations. When we ordered desert, the staff put a candle and sparkler in it for mum’s birthday. When we're back in Luang Prabang, we'll definitely be going back to ‘The House’!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at The House Restaurant & Belgian Beer Bar, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for posting this. Our staff also had a great time and remember you as the ladies with the party hats. They are still asking when you will be back for the next party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Get the Beef Stew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I decided to go for the house specialty (Belgian Beef Stew) and was pleasantly surprised. My wife was bummed that she didn't get it too because it was so good. The owner came out and was very nice and cared about our experience, which I always think is a nice touch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at The House Restaurant & Belgian Beer Bar, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback. Our beef stew is a best seller. It is an old "grandmother's" recipe and everyone makes it differently. Great to hear your appreciation. Granny will be happy too.

Thanks and happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House Restaurant & Belgian Beer Bar also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The House Restaurant & Belgian Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House Restaurant & Belgian Beer Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.