We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Laodeum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Laodeum to your Saves list
Villa Laodeum
Ban Choumkhong, Ounheuan Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a very nice guesthouse in a great location and close to the pier with restaurants close by. The property is very nice and the terrace area has some tables for breakfast and is a nice place to relax. We had read that the rooms are a bit small, but in fact showed larger in. The room was extremely clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

The included breakfast is delicious with a selection of sandwiches and eggs served various ways with a baguette. You also get a selection of coffee, tea and a fruit place.

Honorable mentions would be the mini fridge, complimentary water, coffee & tea station on the terrace, the free map and glass of juice upon arrival.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    33
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
33
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Four nights at Villa Laodeum proved a good choice overall, in that the location is pretty central - near the Royal Museum - and the staff generally very nice. The guesthouse's building is nice, with beautiful wooden floors. Yet, rooms are small(ish) and bathrooms basic (and we found a roach once...), and a/c is right above the bed which makes it hard to sleep comfortably at night as it is either too hot or too cold.

Breakfast is served in the outdoor patio, and while it is filling is nothing special in terms of quality. Also, the staff invited us every night to give alms to the monks the morning. We finally accepted, but we were requested to pay 50,000 kip (!) for buying some sticky rice to present the monks with: we did it, but 50,000 kips for sticky rice (when even the nicest restaurants charge 6,000 kip for it) seemed a bit of a rip off.

Also, the price paid - around 30 usd per night - seems a bit steep for the overall quality of the accommodation.

While we cannot complain overall about the place, I do not think we would stay again in here if back in town as LP offers plenty of guesthouses to try!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Coming back to Villa Laodeum feels like coming home. The owner and staff remember me, though seem as helpful and friendly to new comers as they are towards me. True the second floor rooms have more space and I always request one of these. The place is just a block from Mekong River and near the night market, ideally located to explore Luang Prabang on foot. Rooms are on the small side, but cozy, clean and nicely decorated, with very comfortable beds. Nice terrace for hanging out during the day, good breakfast and free wifi and airport pick up and drop off. Nice touch is 2 free bottles of water a day that come in refillable glass bottles, so they don't contribute to plastic bottle waste.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms in general better than downstairs rooms, though in some cases no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Staff is first rate, location superb, a block from Mekong bluffs. One block to Night Market, perfect location. Family run with attentive and kind staff who aimed to please. In the early morning, the monks file right by the guesthouse with their alms bowls. Great breakfast on the veranda, wonderful budget wise room rates, A/C, television (BBC, CNN, etc.) endless hotwater, giant shower. The owner speaks excellent English, will make local arrangements for bike rentals, day touring, river boating, etc.
I've stayed here several times and certainly will again! Sok Dee, Sayvanh!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is the first time trip advisor reviews let me down. I don't understand the rave reviews for this place. The rooms are miniscule - barely enough room to move around the bed. The bathroom is equally tiny. Most rooms have only one window - and it looks onto ugly tin roofs. I tried to get some light into my room, but the shade would not stay up. The walls are paper thin. I heard every word of the phone conversation of the person in the room next to mine. I also received incorrect travel information from one of the employees - this was simple information - I asked about boat travel to Nong Khiaw. I was told the river was too low. In fact, the boat was leaving daily to get there. Breakfast is adequate - nothing notable. For the same price, you can do much better in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: There is one upstairs room that has a street view. That is probably the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at Villa Laodeum three separate times - first for three nights, then for one night after returning from a three day side trip, then for two more nights before we left for home. Every visit was very enjoyable. It's difficult to imagine a better location, but it's the friendly and helpful staff that make this place a wonderful place to stay. Example - we'd originally walked to the guest house in the hot afternoon sun with our packs from the boat station, and were greeted with cool orange juice and a time to rest before checking in - this was very welcome. Breakfast has many selections, giving you variety over your stay. We received many helpful suggestions for things to do and how to best accomplish them - good value for a traveler. They can provide sticky rice for the monks if you want to participate in the morning alms ceremony, but are not pushy on this (but do watch out for street vendors around their corner who sometimes try to push their food on you while the monks are coming by.) While the rooms are small, we all agreed we didn't come to Laos for large hotel rooms, so we really didn't consider this a detriment. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are nice in that you don't have to climb the somewhat steep stairs, but can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have stayed at Villa Laodeum for total of 7 nights, 6 in a row and then one more after a trip top Nong Khiaw. From the beginning the host was extra friendly and we had a very nice welcome to the villa. The location can not be better, one block away from the night market, 15 meters from the wall of the Royal Palace and within 5 minute walk to many restaurants, bars and cafes. The key is that it super close yet on a very quiet street. It is worth mentioning its at the end of the Monk walk, so it's very easy to arrange for alms and the host keeps a spot for you. The room itself is small but big enough for for two of us, our backpacks. The bed is comfortable, shower and bathroom very clean. The one complaint would be lack of a shower curtain but that seems to happen in quite a few places in Lao. The ham sandwich for breakfast is to die for!! One episode has made us love the place even more - our host and his wife+sun (who live at the villa as well so are super accessible) one day took us to hang out with their friends and other locals to the other side of the Mekong river, where we had beers, played cards and bocce. Super fun trip! I would highly recommend asking about it. I think for the price its a great value due to location, comfort and friendliness of the host!

Room Tip: Second floor probably better to have a bit less noise from generator next door, but not a major issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Laodeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laodeum

Address: Ban Choumkhong, Ounheuan Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Laodeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Laodeum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.