We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Elephant Restaurant

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ban Vat Nong | P.O. Box 812, Luang Prabang, Laos
856 71 252 482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
539 helpful votes 539 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant can make you forget you're in Laos. The ambiance is lovely. The staff all speak fluent English. And the menu is full of irresistible choices. All priced pretty close to the norm for high end LP restaurants.
We had pan fried Mekong River perch, duck breast, buffalo steak and veggie lasagna. Service was prompt. Everything was delicious.
This restaurant shouldn't be missed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    216
    88
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I was very reluctant when entering this restaurant as our party of 4 followed a couple of very large parties fresh off a bus. We were however very quickly seated and shown a very extensive menu. We weren't overly hungry so we just ordered mains; buffalo steak and frites, duck, vegetarian lasagna and pan fried fish. All but the lasagna came with a small mixed greens salad. All plates were artfully prepared. We ordered a couple of lovely desserts, again from a rather offering, and devoured them.

The service was very professional in all respects.

I ordered a gin martini and it was as good as I've had.

1 cocktail, 4 mains and 3 desserts.....$95USD.

Lovely setting, attentive service, delicious food and a reasonable price. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The place was very busy and we had not booked but with a little persuasion we were offered a table. We chose the set meal which included the Duck with orange sauce. We chose a nice bottle of red wine to accompany the meal. The whole experience was great, not what I expected in Laos.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Exquisite quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Went for lunch although we did make a dinner reservation. Very good and smooth mixed curry. Definitely the most refined laos food tasted for this trip. Not cheap by local standards. Not crowded at all during lunch, so better to do lunch if you dont want to have to wait. Efficient service too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent quality French and Lao food. A welcome option if one has had many days of Asian food and longs for a bit of good class French. We eat here four nights in a row.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Elephant Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.