We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“veery void” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Elephant Restaurant

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ban Vat Nong | P.O. Box 812, Luang Prabang, Laos
856 71 252 482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 140 restaurants in Luang Prabang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“veery void”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a set lunch here which was happily included in a couple of day tours we had arranged, so can't tell you about the evening menu though others have said it is very good. Like the Blue Lagoon expect to pay a bit more for this quality of food but you will.not regret it. Thoroughly recommended

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    218
    133
    62
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Indeed this IS worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

So ok. You visit a new place. The owner of the hotel you're at tells you about the best / better restaurants around and you think... Ok... It's his mate etc.
Sometimes, yes, and in this case the hotel owner is a regular but I definitely know why. For traditional fare in a restaurant with a fabulous ambience - touch of French but not faux - and excellent local cuisine, this is a MUST visit. Great varied menu both for food and wine which I'm not going to highlight individually as I'm quite confident that all the meals there are as more-ish as the ones we chose, judging by the full reservations and second round turnover tables during the evening.

L'Elephant has a vegetarian version sister that seemed less popular but I've no doubt would not disappoint. I may visit during my upcoming return to delightful LP in a couple of days.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had dinner with friends from Lunag Prabang at L'Elephant and was pleasantly surprised by their menu and wine list. Food is of high quality and prepared by a French chef, staff is very good and in abundance. It isn't the cheapest place to have dinner but if you'd like to go for a splurge then visit this restaurant and enjoy a great dinner.
Wise to make reservations for a table as it can be busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ate here one evening and liked the atmosphere - very colonial with a lovely verandah. The Lao food was great - fish in the banana leaf is highly recommended as are the various vegetarian dishes we had including the local river weed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This restaurant is amazing. Great menu, great ambiance, great wine selections.
The food was out of this world. The chef prepared special vegetarian menu off the menu.
We went there twice in 3 days. Also great courteous staff !!
Still craving for this food ! A must try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Elephant Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.