We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property -- even better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Bel Air Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
nm556
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great property -- even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

We spent four wonderful days in Luang Prabang and cannot recommend Le Bel Air enough. The property is beautifully set on the Nam Khan river -- on the other side side of the river from the main touristy part of town. This was a plus for us as we enjoyed coming back to the quiet and peace of the hotel and were not interested in the backpacker party scene (which admittedly is pretty tame compared with other backpacker scenes). We enjoyed the five minute bike ride into town across the old bridge (although it was a little frightening at first . It was EXTREMELY frightening to walk across the bridge however as while walking the less than pristine state of the bridge becomes evident. If you don't want to cross the old bridge, the hotel is happy to take you into town using their car which crosses the new bridge).

Appart from the setting and location, the service was excellent. I was involved in a small motorbike accident in town, which the hotel somehow heard about. One of the managers came as soon as he heard, and ferried myself and the other person involved in the accident to the hosiptal (which was modest). He waited for us to be seen by a doctor and drove us back. When I tried to reimburse them for the hospital bill, my offer was refused. The manager repeatedly said that when I was a guest, I was family. They checked in with me for the rest of my stay to make sure I was ok.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    189
    38
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
319
77
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I just returned from a trip to Asia, and I have to say that our stay at le bel air was one of the best hotels we stayed at. We spent 5 nights there and were constantly impressed by the level of service from the drivers, front desk, restaurant staff, and management. They were all very friendly and gracious. They provided us with complimentary breakfast (try the soup noodles), bicycles and shuttle service to anywhere in the city, laundry, and wireless laptops. This was a great deal for what we paid. I almost have to wonder how they can stay afloat when they give out so much.
The only slight negative is that it is not in the middle of the city but it is only a 5minute bike ride over a bridge or if you prefer, they will take you wherever you want to go. We even had them take us to give alms to the monks at 5:45am!
Much of Luang Prabang hotels were empty as we went during the low season, but le bel stayed pretty full. I I think it's a great deal and we had a great time there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kepong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I fall in love with Luang Prabang, the people there, Le Bel Air Resort and all the staff there. I enjoyed staying there and enjoyed talking to all the staff. They are friendly, always with a smile. They are kind, nice, helpful and with a good heart. Even though some of them can't really speak English but that doesn't stop you from enjoying communicate with them. I remember all their faces (I even took pictures on almost all of them), their smiles and the conversation we had.
The design of the hotel is simple and "authentic". The room is clean and spotless and with balcony. I just love the bathroom with bold color, stylish with quite contemporary decor . The food is heavenly------2 thumbs up to the lady chef. The view is beautiful. What else can I complain about??
I paid midrange room rate and I got top end hospitality and service.
Thing I brought back from the hotel is beautiful memory

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I cannot say enough positive things about this resort. We stayed at Le Bel Air Resort for 6 nights at the beginning of February and it was one of the most extraordinary experiences of 5 months in Asia.
From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the amazing staff and manager, we knew we would have a fabulous stay. And we knew that Le Bel Air was the right place for us to have an impromptu wedding!
The main building is a beautiful wooden house in traditional Lao style. It has just 6 rooms on two floors. We stayed in the upper floor Classic room when we first arrived. It was beautifully decorated and large enough for the two of us. Although it's the smallest room at the resort, we were very happy with it. (The lower floor Classic room is significantly bigger, but I think that you might hear some noise from the room above.) The larger rooms have either two or three beds, and would be great for friends or families. For our wedding, we upgraded to a private bungalow on the edge of the property. It was very elegant and beautiful, with lots of windows (and drapes!) a big tub. It had a private balcony and lots of privacy -- very romantic and worth the upgrade if it's in your budget.
We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and were thrilled with the selection and the service. Both a la carte and buffet options are available, and the staff are happy to accommodate you as best they can. We ate lunch at the hotel several times, because we just couldn't tear ourselves away, and were always happy with the food.
The resort is a beautiful oasis in Luang Prabang. We used the complimentary bicycles to ride into town sometimes, or just walked (not far at all, IMHO), and saw all the sights and ate at some amazing restaurants, but were always happy to retreat to the peace and tranquility of Le Bel Air. The grounds are perfect -- not too manicured but well tended -- and there are lots of chairs and chaise lounges in which to relax and contemplate life. I really enjoyed the location by the river, and watching people go about their day.
The hotel also put together an incredible traditional Lao wedding for us in just a few days. They took care of all the details, which was what we wanted, and practically all we had to do was show up. The ceremony was so special and the owners and all the staff were so wonderful ... it was beyond words. Afterwards, we had an incredible dinner for 2 by candlelight in the garden. The staff and management of the hotel really went out of their way to make our wedding extraordinary.
I have positive things to say about every aspect of the resort, but the people there are really what makes it an experience and not just a place to sleep. Their smiles, their warmth, and their friendship earned a place in my heart forever.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Located on a tribuatary to the Mekong and a 10 minute walk from town, we loved this hotel. Free bikes meant an easy cruise to the 'city'. Our 9 year old son usually enjoys a pool but an absence of this did not detract from the property. We had a bungalow closest to the bridge which was very comfortable and easily accomodated the three of us. With less than 12 rooms and bungalows, the hotel is peaceful and relaxing. Having opened in late 2008, the staff are still learnng the ropes but are a delight. The GM is always ready to chat, offer assistance and genuinely pleased that we are their guests. Already planning the next trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in late March. Le Bel Air is a great place with great staff - from picking us up at the airport, to the welcome lemongrass juice, to breakfast (with made-to-order eggs), and suggestions for activities, Somneuk and his staff bent over backwards to accommodate us.

We had a deluxe room upstairs - it was extra-large, with a nice big tub. The decor was exquisite, with reds and dark wood furnishings. The setting is amazing - wonderful lawns and lounge seating, next to the river (you'll see kids and monks swimming in the river on a hot day)...

The only 'problem' with Le Bel Air is location - it is a 10-15 minute walk to town, but if you don't mind walking / biking in, this is the place to stay...

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - the only bummer was that they were booked when we decided to extend our stay!
We looked at many of the 'upper level' accommodations in Luang Prabang - Le Bel Air Resort is by the far the best. A wonderful place in a great town!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We stayed at one of the bungalows, B2, and also in the building, in A6, when we wanted to extend our stay and the bungalows were fully booked. Even though the bungalow was very close to the bridge, it did not bother us, since the motorbikes drive so slowly on the bridge. The views from the balcony are wonderful, and the balcony of this bungalow is partly in shade during the hottest hours so it’s really nice to be on the balcony. We also enjoyed sunbathing in the garden, very peaceful, and nice that they have thick mattresses on the sunbeds. The room in the building was quite large, but doesn’t have glasses on the windows, so if you want to keep the aircon on and enjoy the views, the bungalow would be a better choice. The bungalows have a lot of windows, and in both, the aircon works properly. The rooms have hot water kettles and minibars, and the bungalow had a safe. The safe was a bit hard to reset, needs instructions. We kept our passports&euros etc in the big safe at the reception, that worked well and everything was intact.
The bungalows are not very big, the deluxe room in the building was much larger. In both rooms the bedding is really nice, good quality linen and a nice thick duvet. Beds are slightly hard but comfortable. In many places it’s hard to sleep past 6a.m. due to noise from roosters and temples and traffic. In LBA there were no problems with the noise. The rooms in the buildings second floor have wall to wall carpeting, which I usually dislike, but this was very clean and probably is a good idea since it affects the noise levels downstairs.
The bathroom is painted all red. An interesting choise. The bathtub doesn’t look inviting, but is not slippery when showering and works well. Plenty of hotwater, not too much pressure but enough.
The breakfast is served from 7am to 1030am, and is improving. Staff is really sweet.
The main drawback in LBA is the distance to central LP. The bridge is a little scary to walk, especially at night. Remember to take a flashlight! The hotel is happy to drive you to town, and pick you as well, but since it’s hard to say when we want to return, we usually took a tuktuk to the bridge, and it cost 1-2e. The great thing about walking is LP is that the sidewalks are in great shape, not full of holes like in so many places. The hotel bikes were in good shape, and since cars and motorbikes drive slowly in LP, biking is really pleasant. Own lock would be a good idea, since with the hotel locks it is not possible to fasten your bike in a pole. Bike theft is reported to have taken place in LP.
We checked out most of the hotels in LP in this price level, and I think LBA is an excellent choice. Apsaras rooms are nothing special, Sala Prabang doesn’t have storage space, Calao doesn’t have minibars or televisions.

Hospitality businesses in Laos face a lot of challenges, and travelers cannot expect things to be exactly as in their home countries. What is so particularly great about Le Bel Air resort, is that the place has a hands on manager, who keeps things running smoothly, and when problems do arise, handles them efficiently. Many of us have experienced hotels where complaints are handled with a couldn’t care less –attitude. This is essentially not the attitude in Le Bel Air Resort. They still have place for improvement, but they put a lot of effort into improving. Manager Bounsa is a true professional, and a very pleasant person. He is the kind of manager that I thought only exists in hospitality management text books.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#14 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.