We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Luang Prabang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Bel Air Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Luang Prabang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed 4 nights January 2013. Located just across the old bridge and a 15 minute walk in to town. Quiet location on the Nam Khan river, pleasant helpful staff who could speak English, nice buffet breakfast included, free push bikes included, nice rooms with balcony and separate showers, plasma tv, air conditioning and free use of internet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear jashmawa,

Thank you for your kind review of Le Bel Air. Yes we have many amanities and services to offer our guests. Among those you mention are our front desk tour arrangements where we can set up any possible tour quickly and at the best rate for the most reputable tour companies in LP. Also we have new brand new bicycles, hardwood floors and flat screen TV's in every room, and a lush and peaceful garden that is unmatched by any other hotel in LP. Thank you again for your review and if ever you happen to be in Luang Prabang again it will be our pleasure to serve you.

Kind regards,

Jean Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    168
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
293
71
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Skien Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed three nights in this nice boutique resort in the new year holiday 2012-2013. We were 4 persons and had one room in the older building with garden veranda and one room up in 1st floor in new building with balcony. Both rooms were very well maintained and sufficient for our wishes. The brakfast was substansible and tasteful. The staff was attending and helpful.The garden is lovely with its riverside location.
The place is a little out of town, but if you walk the old bridge right outside for about 400 meters you are one dollar and one tuk-tuk away from central Luang Prabang and the night market.
We will highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear PerUdahl,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very kind review of Le Bel Air. Yes, we are not that far from the night market. It's a very colorful and energetic place to get acquainted with Lao food and to meet people from other countries. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. From everyone at Le Bel Air we wish you the best of health and happiness.

Best regards,

Jean Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in Le Bel Air from 8 - 13 January and find it hard to think of any negatives. The rooms are lovely and the garden setting is delightful. Yes it's a little way out of town but we came to realise that this is a good thing. As for the infamous foot bridge, as someone with a fear of heights I managed to cross this bridge several times, even at night without a torch. The shuttle service that is offered is on demand. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff are great and made every effort to know us and make sure we felt part of the place. The breakfast buffet was very good and we also ate dinner a few times at the restaurant. The meals were fresh and just as authentic as any you might find in the town. It deserves more patronage but I guess people aren't going to come out of their way to eat here if they are not guests. Congratulations to the General Manager Jean Paul for his attention to the needs of guests and his obvious desire to ensure his staff are happy and educated in the business of meeting the demands of the tourist industry that is so important to this special town.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Lorraine T,

Thank you so much for your kind words and very generous review of Le Bel Air. Yes we are proud of our garden and our location. More and more guests report how busy the center of town is and how much they like returning to our serene setting after a tour or a jaunt around LP. And thank you for complimenting me by name. I smiled and was a bit bashful when someone told me I was mentioned here. Thank you. I enjoy taking care of guests and helping to orient and make their visits to Luang Prabang as trouble free, cuturally authentic, and as fun as possible. Thank you again Lorrain T and if ever you are in Luang Prabang again you will find yourself most welcome by myself and everyone at Le Bel Air. Safe and happy travels!

Warm regards,

Jean Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in two different rooms due to a booking error. The bungalow room was very nice, but the de luxe room was gloomy though large and well appointed. The service of the staff was exceptional and we e joyed good food. Although not in the centre there is a shuttle bus, and it was cheap and easy to get a tuk-tuk to the town end of the old bridge and walk across

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear NorthShieldsJohn,

Thank you for your email. It's a pleasure to hear from you and an even greater pleasure tohave served you. How are you? I apologize for the delayed reply. Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we are not very far from the center of town and it seems our guests prefer it this way. Guests these days liek to visit town but are quite happy to return to a place that is peaceful and without traffic nipping at their toes. From all of us at Le Bel Air we hope you are happy and well. I had a great time meeting with you, talking with and serving you. If ever you find yourself back in this area it will everyone's sincere pleasure to serve you again. All the best and safe travels.

Warmest regards,

Jean Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Le Bel Air for two nights in November during a 6 week trip through SE Asia and we had a really superb stay. The property is nestled amongst the trees along the river and is beautifully maintained. We enjoyed nice open air breakfasts each morning with real coffee - not easy to find in Laos!

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with comfortable beds and modern bathrooms, and the staff was extremely nice and attentive.

The only downside to this spot is that as people mentioned its a bit outside of town (20 minute walk) and while it allowed a lot of solitude it was a little inconvenient. If you are the type of traveller that likes to absorb a town by being in the middle of it, this wouldn't be a good fit for you, but if you like to get away from it all after a busy day at as a tourist and have some peace and quiet, this is your spot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Tory L,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Le Bel Air. Yes, we are proud of our coffee. It is locally grown and produced. Regarding our rooms, although we receive may compliments on their quality and value, we are excited about up coming renovations this summer season. Please look forward to our updated website with new photos and promotions.

Thank you again Tory L. From everyone at Le Bel Air we wish you the happiest and healthiest of travels.

Best regards,

Jean Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Bel Air is a lovely hotel - pretty gardens and a lovely restaurant and big rooms. Overall the hotel is clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is lovely and the staff there are very friendly and welcoming.

We did have a problem on check-in as we arrived earlier than expected (3 hours earlier!) due to a very fast night bus driver. We didn't expect a room to be available as it was early hours of the morning, but we were told by the night porter that we didn't have a room for the next night. We then spent some time that morning trying to find a room for that evening, only to find when we returned that we did have a room booked. My advice if you're in that position - although the night staff may try to advise you, wait to speak with one of the day managers who are very helpful.

The only other slight negative is that the hotel is a very short walk away from the centre (approx 15-20 mins) which my husband and I don't mind. The only issue was that you have to cross a bridge to get there which is fine if you are fine we heights (we are) and that it is very slippy after rain shower. My husband who is extremely fit and active slipped in the dark on the way back to the hotel and sprained his ankle badly.

That aside it really is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Poopyscoop,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We apologize for the slight confusion the day you arrived. Although it only took a moment to sort out I know how you feel. I also like to have things perfectly in order.

Regarding our distance from the center of town, yes we are about a 15 minute walk from the center, and a 5-10 minute bike ride. People who research before they book with us do so because prefer to be this distance from town. They don't want to wake up each morning and step out on to a road. They much prefer to wake up surrounded by trees and the Namkhan river and general serenity. That is precisely what Le Bel Air is a gurarantee of and what separates us from all other hotels in Luang Prabang.

Thank you again for your generous review. Everyone at Le Bel Air wishes you safe and happy travels.

Warmest regards,
Jean Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel grounds are amazing and so are the rooms and other amenities. HOWEVER, the staff, although nice, is not very helpful as far as providing good suggestions for day tours. I ended up paying a lot more money to do some of the tours by booking through them. Also, if you are in town for a short period of time, just know that the hotel is a 20 plus minute walk to anywhere, including the night market, and that the only connection between the hotel and the town is a bike/motorcycle/pedestrian bridge. Since cars cannot go through this bridge a tuktuk ride back to the hotel will cost you a bit of money, and take about 10-15 minutes. If your intention is to do lots of walking and have access to all restaurants, there are much better places in town, for a lot cheaper. If you are looking to spend a lot of time in the hotel, then Le Bel Air is a great choice.

Room Tip: If you are staying here, pay the extra few dollars and get a room with a view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your warm review of Le Bel Air. Yes, we are located just over the motorbike bridge, about a 20 minute walk from the very center of town. Far from town? Perhaps for maybe some , but I think it would have been more accurate to say 'a little bit far from the city center."

Regarding tours booked through our front desk, we only use the most reputable tour companies in Luang Prabang. Although it is possible to find more competitive prices on your own by seeking other tour companies, their quality of service and guest experience can not be certain. We do our best to ensure our guests experience the safest, best organized, funnest tours available.

And, agreed, although our guests are quite pleased by our Classic and Deluxe rooms, we are quite proud of our private bungalows which offer true tranquility and beauty of the Namkhan riverbank. These rooms receive consistantly strong reviews and are favorites among travelers seeking privacy, beauty, and peace.

Thank you again, Karen M, and if ever you are in Luang Prabang again we would be delighted to try and exceed any and all of your expectations.

Best regards and safe travels,

Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#14 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.