We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful decor in a serene setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Bel Air Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasteful decor in a serene setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a stunning resort just across the old bridge from town. The setting along the river is lush, spacious and peaceful. The rooms (we had one upstairs) are absolutely beautiful with gorgeous wood, great bathrooms and comfortable beds. We only ate breakfast here, and were more than satisfied with the abundant selection. Staff was kind and always helpful. We frequently used the plentiful bikes and rented a moto to visit nearby falls and towns. We (30 yr old couple traveling for several months) would highly recommend for other couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear npj11,

Thank you for you staying with us and thank you for your very kind comments about Le Bel Air. Yes, it is true, our location offers the best of tranquility, privacy, ammenities, value, and service. It is especially our private bungalows that famously receive such reviews but we are very pleased to hear you had a similar experience in one of our Deluxe rooms.

And yes, people speak highly of our buffet breakfast, both regarding the selection and service. Our kitchen staff really do excellent work.

Thank you for your recommendation to other couples. Although our guests span all ages and types of traveler, it is true we more often draw young couples, families and groups who desire a relaxed setting and plenty of conveniences.

Again, thank you npj11, for your warm comments and recommendations. Your feedback is very important to us. If you ever happen to return to Luang Prabang it would be our great pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerest regards,

Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    189
    38
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
319
77
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Initially we wanted to stay our 5 nights in My Dream resort but we could stay only 3 nights there and so we booked the first 2 nights in Le Bel Air, next door to My Dream.
The room (3A) was in the old building, ground floor. It was dark and smelling horribly. A mix of cold cigarette ashes and urine (yes, urine). The toilettes were not properly cleaned. Then we heard the neighbours speaking next door. We could hear them like the wall was just a piece of paper. The ones above wake us up at 5h45 every morning, we could hear them walking on the wooden floor that was obviously not sound proof either.
We complained several times to the front desk about the smell and asked for a spray or perfumed candle but they did nothing.

We were so glad to leave, especially to arrive to My Dream resort which is a heaven of peace, beautiful and clean.

The only good things about Le Bel Air were its breakfast, free bicycles and location. Without that I would definitely have rated it as "terrible".

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 'NFLB'

Thank you very much for your reviewed.

We are very very apologize for the room was happened, we are going yo block this room for a few days in this week. for our Manager to stay as a guest and solve this problem.

If we had known you were having these problems we would have fixed them. We encourage all guests, wherever they are staying, to will management immediately if they have any problems. A good hotel want to hear from you !

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and have a good trip back home.

With best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sits on a beautiful site. The units are quaint. The bathtub/showers are deep steps and not for anyone who is unsure of footing. The dining area is covered but open with good food and good choices. It is located on the other side of the river from downtown. You must either walk or scooter across the high bridge that spans the river just at the end of the property. There were loose boards on the pedestrian walk ways. However, there are taxis to take you around to the vehicular bridge and drop you off in town.
We got up early one morning and attended the giving of alms to the local monks. This is a daily 6 a.m. Parade of the monks draped in their orange robes. They walk with a strap over their shoulder which is attached to a covered food bucket. They life the cover as they pass you. This allows you to put some type of food in their bucket. Our group had sticky rice ready for us when we arrived to the sidewalk. You make a small ball of sticky rice and drop it in. They depend on the townspeople for their food.
We also went to an elephant refuge while here. We rode them and learned about their plights.
The hotel is a bit out of e mainstream but that isn't always so bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear 'Jmcdawg'

Thank you so much for your taking your time to post. which were shared with the team. We delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

In the meantime wishing you all the best and welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We loved the location next to the river. Food was good and the restaurant was placed next to the river. The room was of high standards compared to other rooms in Laos, while of course it it not a 5-star hotel it is amongst the best you will ever find in Laos.
Staff were friendly and you can “rent” bikes for free.
An added bonus is the it is nice and quite at night.

Room Tip: choose a room as far away from the bridge and the main road as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 'AirportWB'

Thank so much for your very wonderful comments, which were shared with the team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous resort ,,, I spent my holidays with my beatfriend there for 2 nights,,, it was wonderful .... We could have wine and see the sunset very relaxing. Not too far from town....it's about 10minutes riding bicycle .... I wish I had a chance to go back there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello 'Nouanenipha P'

Thank you so much !!! We really appreciate your taking the time to post.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

With Best Regards


Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a classic room but were upgraded free of charge to a superior - beautiful room, spacious, lovely balcony, just perfect - right down to the rose petals on the bed and the bowl of fresh fruit in the room.
The breakfast was always lovely and the staff super friendly and very sweet.
Be aware though there is a man in reception who's english isn't good but he just says Yes, so you might think you've booked a trip/bus/meal and you haven't - always good to double check!

Room Tip: you do have to walk over a wooden bridge to get to town - it really is OK but if heights are your th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi 'feeanddee'

Thank you so much! We really do appreciate your taking the time to post.

Thank you very much again for your comment about the breakfast & restaurant staff i will print your comment to our staff, i thing they will happy with this one.

For the some of receptionist the communication is not so good especialy English not well. we are going to solve it as soon as possible.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (DOS)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I very much enjoyed this hotel and stayed here twice, once of the way to go trekking and once when back after trekking. I stayed in both the regular rooms and also in a bungalow. There are lots of new places going up in Luang Prabang and many are quite nice but I think that Le Bel Air has a great sense of comfort and old Laotian style in the room. The people are very nice, the breakfast great and it's reallly nice to be able to just grab a bike, head over the old wooden bridge and then be in the middle of town in just a minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi 'jcb0540'

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (DOS)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#14 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.