We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay beautiful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khoun & Khone Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Khoun & Khone Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khoun & Khone Bungalows
Ban Na Dad, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
perth australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay beautiful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We also stayed with Khoune and Khone after reading about them in trip advisor. As usual trip advisor didnt let us down. We had been in Laos for 2 weeks and had booked to stay for 3 night. Due to a few hic ups we could only stay for the 2 nights. These were 2 of the most enjoyable and informative 2 days of out trip.We could not have asked for a more relaxing stay or better hosts.
The bungalows are not the ritz but charming bungalows on the hill side just out of town.
I agree with the sentiments expressed about Khones cooking. We had some of the best food there for the whole trip.(ask Khone to make her sticky rice and mango dessert) The laos b-b-q is also a treat.
Khoune and Bow (spelling?)took us to the big waterfall and the hill village.
To see and hear what Khoune and Khone are about with their extended family and their interaction with the hill village is quite humbling.
All I can say really is stay here with these wonderful people for a real Laos experience.
We wish them all the best for the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed in Khoun & Khone Bungalows for 4 nights in February 2012. The location is a bit far from the town, but we wanted to spend some time in the quiet nature. The bungalows are nice and clean. The bathroom is big made with stones, which also gives a nature atmosphere. Since only few cars are passing by during the day, we could really relax and enjoy the scenery around. In our bungalow there was a giant gecko which we could see and hear often. Also other small insects came to visit us (amantis, big spider, many ants...) it was pure nature! But the Mosquitos net was good to protect us :-) The owners are very kind and also offer the transport to the city every day. Unfortunately, they are not allowed anymore to do the trekking tours with the guests, so we had to organize it by ourselves. During dinner time we had the chance to talk to Khoun and Khone and learn about the Lao culture and people - that was a nice experience-. The food is good - the pancakes are recommended-.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Certainly one of our highlights of our trip to Laos. Khoune and his wife Khone and family are wonderful and warm people. There food was simply some of the very best we eat in all of Laos. It's a good 15min jeep ride out of Luang Prabang but that's very welcome and it's good fun being ferried around in one of their jeeps (included in the price). Try to do one of Khounes trips - we did a trip to a local village with him and were most struck by his care for the village people. He will recommend you buy a box of apples for the children of the village (he will organise the buying for you) rather than the usual sweets and pens. Khone checks on the villagers saving apples for the more old or those struggling and enquires after people as you go round. The rooms are nice and it's a peaceful surrounding. Highly recommended for those who want peace and quiet, a local feel and great food!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I just got back from 3 nights here. It is as all the others say, a wonderful stay. Khoun and his lovely family make you feel so welcome and at home. The food is delicious and there are animals everywhere - cute kittens, dogs, fish. The bungalows are well maintained, clean, and the bathrooms are nice too with hot water. However, if you go in the winter, at nights it does get very cold, so be sure to take extra layers! Although it is a bit of out of town, it never was an issue for us. If you come back from town after 6pm, please do take a tuk tuk back to the guesthouses as Khoun will not say no, to a pick up, but i think it is preferred. The service is the best you'll find in Laos. The staff is Khoun's family, and they are always on time, and always responsive, and always so friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Khoune and Khone really know how to make their guests feel at home - Khoune ferried us around in his ex-army American jeep whenever we needed to get to town and Khone made amazing home-cooked food (try the fresh spring rolls!)

We were part of thier family for three days and when we left for Muang Ngoi, they bartered with the boatmen to ensure we didn't get overcharged.

They went above and beyond the normal service. A few more places like this in Laos would be very welcome.

NB: the most amazing setting and a beautiful view to boot!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

As you bounce up the dirt track 10 mins from town in one of their cool old jeeps you ponder on whether you've made a mistake. If you want a sterile novotel with minibar and trouser press, you have. If you want to stay in a beautiful teak floored, thatched bungalow with fresh air shower room, a wonderful warm family, a host who has a million stories and a hostess whose attention to service is surpassed only by her amazing cooking- then you haven't. Our kids played with the kittens until all were exhausted and K&Ks kids took my 9 year old fishing on the Meekong with home fashioned bamboo poles specially created for the trip. Priceless.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I can't say enough abouy my time at Khoun & Khone's place in Laos. It really was a fantastic experience. From riding down a dirt road to their beautiful property, to going on day trips with the family, to eating home cooked (and delicious meals) at night, this stay really made our SE Asia trip. The beautiful bungalows and a peaceful property were also highlights. For someone looking for an authentic experience, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khoun & Khone Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khoun & Khone Bungalows

Address: Ban Na Dad, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 Specialty lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Khoun & Khone Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khoun & Khone Bungalows Hotel Luang Prabang
Khoun And Khone Bungalows

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khoun & Khone Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.