We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious room and clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Saykham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Saykham to your Saves list
Villa Saykham
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   Sisavang Watttana Road, Near Wat Paphay | Xiengmouane Village, Luangprabang, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious room and clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Luang Prabang in this hotel and it coudn't be better. Our entire schedule was thrown off by 1 day due to internal flight cancellation and we had to call to ensure our booking via Agoda was not affected. It was not a problem at all and the person who answered the call had no problems in English.

Location of the hotel was great - just off the main street and one can see the Alms giving procession each morning just outside the hotel. Bathroom was kept clean although we had problems controlling the hot water from the shower. Nice firm beds and very clean sheets. The room we had was a triple room facing Sisavang Watthana street and there was ample space. Only complain was that the TV was a little small for such a big room. We were woken up about 4 - 5am on our first night stay due to the hotel being next to a Wat. There was some special occasion hence the gongs going off early but the hotel did place a sign to apologise for the inconvenience. It's all part & parcel of a unique experience!

Hotel staff were very friendly although limited English. They could recognise us each time we got back to the hotel and didn't have to ask to be given the right room key! We could walk easily to the daily night market, the river and one can simply walk to the pier to get onto daily tour boats to Pak Ou caves (65,000Kip per pax). There are also many tuk tuks you can hire to bring you to the Kuang Si waterfalls (around 200,000Kip for a half day tour). We were astounded by the colours and number of levels of the falls and mind you, we have seen quite a few!

Breakfast was basic - simple western food or Laos noodles. The waiters & waitresses were excellent in their service and very alert to customer needs without being asked - we asked for hot water so that we could have our own instant coffee (not used to Laos coffee!) and they brought it to us without fuss.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Luang Prabang. Good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ideal for the river or the town. Next to a lovely temple. Good standard of most things for Laos. close to the 'Alms collection' by the Monks. Can walk all of the town and river from here. Great resturants close by.

Room Tip: Larger rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good location in Luang Prabang, but at the same time quiet, with a delightful little garden where breakfast is served. The standard rooms are rather small, but on a second stay we had a larger room, probably superior. Prices for accomodation are high in Luang Prabang, but I would consider this good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Picked this hotel after reading reviews and getting reasonable rate off agoda. Excellent location. Room very clean. Couldn'nt ask for more

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Villa Saykham was not my favorite hotel in Southeast Asia. In fact, I'd only mark it down as "okay."

The good:
- Location was great, on a quiet side street in the middle of town and right on the route where the monks walk each morning.
- Breakfast had limited options but the omelet was cooked to perfection, no easy feat!

The bad:
- Room was dark and smelled a bit musty/moldy
- WiFi did not work in the rooms and barely worked in the courtyard. Could perform only the most basic functions, such as check email and glance at a few light-load sites.
- Most of front desk staff did not speak English. Even those who did, could not really help with tour suggestions and travel arrangements.

LOVED Luang Prabang. Just wish my hotel was a bit nicer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Lovely hotel with well appointed rooms which were spotlessly clean...air con, mini fridge, cable TV and a smart bathroom with plenty of hot water...it looks recently put together and well maintained...
Fantastic location...quiet on a side road but a few metres from the main street on the peninsular...the monks pass the front as they collect their alms in the mornings..lots of bars, restaurants, shops and the night market nearby...
Breakfast was served in a courtyard in the open and eggs cooked to order..fairly basic but good enough...
The hotel was near to a temple and our room was located right next to it but we did not hear anything during our stay...
This place is rightly very popular...so much so we would have stayed a week but had to move as they were full...
Highly recommended...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

Booked on Agoda 60usd per night for triple room for 3 nights, arrived at 4pm to find that they are booked out and sent us down to their low-grade hotel down the road for the first night only, which was dirty and small. Receptionist very apologetic, it was not her fault.
Breakfast nice in the courtyard, stay seated as they bring the food to you.
We stayed next two nights above reception as none of the nice villas available at the back. Room was good, great to be so close to the Monks, we could watch from our room and the drums did not bother us.
Excellent location, close to Mekong, town and night market.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Saykham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saykham

Address: Sisavang Watttana Road, Near Wat Paphay | Xiengmouane Village, Luangprabang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Saykham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Villa Saykham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saykham Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Saykham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.