We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mekong Estate to your Saves list
Mekong Estate
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ban Saylom | Mekong River Bank, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Wieze
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Had three nits here during our visit to Luong Prabang and said “amazing experience”.

On the bank of quite river of Mekong and just a few minute walk from the downtown, this comfy villa is romatic place to stay. The charming architectures and local surroundings made a fabulous experience. Me and my husband were in the Sunset House (second floor) for 3 nights. It was lavishly designed for separately living area, bancony, and spectacular views overlooking the river, bed comfortable. Our days here start with savoring delicious sunrise breakfast and afternoon tea was relaxing before several sunsets. Also the garden is nice and the swimming pool was lovely. Staff was extremely friendly, efficient and service was excellent.

Getting out to the downtown, let's try a tuktuk! It was cheap and plentiful of, but almost everytime we want, the drivers from hotel kindly took us without charging, alternative using free bicycles. The only thing we dislike is the air that it may get thick from local kitchen over burning wood, but it probably every in Luang Prabang.

We definitely recommend this place for traveler who is keen on tranquility and comfortable stay but still touch the local, an amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MekongEstate, Public Relations Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We do appreciate all your compliments and especially the one about the staff. We’ve already shared it with them. Ban Saylom Riverside is a branch of Mekong Estate Residence located right on Mekong bank few minutes walk or ride from post office and just few meters from the main local market “Phosy” which is very colorful. Sunset House is a 4 bedrooms private villa with a huge panoramic living-room (rosewood floor) overlooking the Mekong River and the lap pool (25m). When the villa isn’t rent by a family or a group of friends we can rent separate rooms. Many guests plan to come 3 days and stay longer or come back one week (average). We hope to welcome you again soon.
Sorry about the burning wood from the neighboring kitchen. The locals keep some traditions in this area like around the country, as you guessed.
For all who plan to stay in Luang Prabang before Sept 30th, don’t miss the “Summer Offer discount 40%”, see details on Trip Advisor announce and on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    26
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
59
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just got back from Mekong Estate and loved it. We were traveling with another family, so booked the Sunset House and housed the children upstairs (in the VIP quarters!) while we parents took the downstairs rooms. The whole house is absolutely gorgeous, beds are very comfortable. Showers take a while to heat up, but no problem. Although there is no restaurant, breakfast is provided (eggs, bakery basket, fruit salad, juice, tea/coffee) and staff will order take out from several restaurants and set up the dining table should you wish to eat dinner at home. There is a sizable market a 5 minute walk down the road - handy for fruit, snacks and sundries. Getting into town was never a problem - tuktuks are plentiful and often the hotel driver took us in at no charge. The pool is NOT heated, so the water is pretty cold and very deep. Although we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for children under the age of 4 (too many potential dangers). Our almost 5 year old was able to handle it, but we had to be very attentive. Lovely spot!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Beautiful villas and grounds in a great position on the Mekong and in a very homely part of town. Only a ten minute walk or short bike ride into the main town, or 1 minute to a large local market.
The most fantastic staff who made us feel that we were home from home.
The only downside is that during the dry season there is a low river in front of the hotel and there are constant lorries collecting sand for the airport extension. Go during or after the rainy season. That means you will miss the slash-and-burn smokey air too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The Mekong Estate has got to be one of the best hotels I've stayed in. A set of 3 bungalows set against the Mekong river, it is perfect from the get go.

My husband and I stayed in the Sunset house where we turned out to be the only residents, so we practically had the whole house to ourselves. The Sunset house directly overlooks the pool and beyond that the river, so it is probably the best of the 3 bungalows. We initially took the room on the ground floor, but then moved to a bigger room upstairs.

The entire hotel is done up by someone with really good taste - from the charming wood flooring, even in the bathroom, to the simple and elegant furniture and the touch of Laos in the indigo blue bathrobes and cushions.

The hotel is located away from the main street of the town, keeping it peaceful. They provide bicycles free of charge if you want to peddle into town. Alternatively you can flag down a tuk-tuk - this is also advisable post sundown since the roads are not very well lit making bicycling a tad dangerous.

The hotel doesn't have any restaurants, but provides a wonderful breakfast and complementary cocktails & local snacks from 4 to 7, as you lounge by the pool. If you want to dine in, you can order food or do a takeaway from one of the restaurants - which we did one night.

Mr. Khamphanh and the staff at the hotel were very gracious and helpful and made our stay that much more memorable. The only hitch is that since its located amidst local houses, occasional loud music and dogs barking can be a little annoying. Off late the local government has also decided to start dredging on the banks of the river and uses the road behind the hotel to get down - making it a little noisy during the day (but thankfully not at night)

I'm looking forward to my next trip to Luang Prabang and my stay at Mekong Estate once again.

Room Tip: Go for the Sunset house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MekongEstate, Directeur général at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for the compliments that we’ve already forward to the staff. Everyone needs encouragements.
In June, from the rise in the water level of the Mekong, the place finds again its serenity until January at least.The presence of machines in the bed of the river is a temporary embarrassment. Most of the residents visit the city and the neighborhood in the working hours, so they aren’t bother to much. They take advantage of the swimming pool and the garden from 5pm, time of the appetizer offered and shared in the cheerfulness by admiring the sunset.
You stayed at Sunset House a villa (340 sqm) at Ban Saylom Riverside nearby the main city market and as you remark easy to get the Heritage area by bicycle or tuk-tuk.
Mekong Estate is not a concept of bungalow but villas and apartments with services in four different areas of the Luang Prabang all with balcony, terrace or garden overlooking the Mekong River.

Many residents order catering or do a takeaway from one of the restaurants to enjoy more the privilege of having a sweet home away from home. However, the city has a large range of excellent restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This review is longish because it covers two different apartment opportunities under the Mekong Estate banner. Their website is not entirely clear to the uninitiated.
We spent three weeks with the Mekong Estate in early 2012. Most of the time we were at the Ban Saylom location in the south end of Luang Prabang, about 8 minutes by bicycle (faster by tuk tuk) to the centre of the Historic Zone. We spent three days as well right in the centre of town at their Vat Nong Downtown triplex.
At Ban Saylom we stayed in Bamboo 3, which is a one bedroom teak wood apartment on the lower floor of a modern two storey house. It was a delight. The apartment was large and featured a wall of floor to ceiling glass doors overlooking the Mekong and affording a splendid view of the sunset every evening. The bedroom was big with lots of closet space, air conditioning/heating, and a room safe.
There was a small kitchenette, enough to cook up something light but you wouldn’t use it to construct Christmas Dinner. We found that restaurant eating was so good and so inexpensive in Luang Prabang that it really didn’t make sense to waste holiday time cooking. Or it’s easy to arrange for prepared food to be brought in, either from a restaurant or from a local cook.
One of the big plusses at Ban Saylom is that the owners live on site. They are on top of every little thing and quick to solve problems. Our housekeeper was a woman called Mit (pronounced MEAT) and she was terrific. She brought us a breakfast every morning (we set the time) and she cleaned the room every day. She was pleasant and enthusiastic. Our breakfast, by the way, was orange juice, eggs, a variety of breads and croissants, jam, fresh fruit and coffee/tea. But they accommodate your tastes.
The whole complex is situated on a sweeping stretch of lawn overlooking the Mekong. At one end there is a long modern infinity-style swimming pool about three lanes wide. So you can swim lengths if you want. It is deep, there is no shallow end.
The complex by the way is located in a working class area of town and you will get an eyeful of how people live as you make your way to and from the Historic Area. Local life revolves around the huge Phosey Market, to which you can walk, and where you can pick up fresh fruit or vegetables for a song.
There are regular fresh flowers in your apartment, free 4:00 p.m. drinks and treats by the pool several times a week, one day laundry service (very inexpensive), and the use of free bicycles.
In summary this location would be ideal for someone seeking peace and quiet, with a pool and luxurious accommodation.
If you want to be closer to the action, then you might prefer the Vat Nong location which is right down in the heart of the Historic Area. As I say, we were there several nights. It is a very different experience. There are three townhouse units, each with a downstairs living room and kitchen and bathroom/shower, and an upstairs bedroom with bathroom and shower. There is a balcony overlooking the street off the bedroom. You can just see the Mekong off to the left.
Being downtown these units are smaller and less luxurious than the Ban Saylom apartments but are still very spiffy. You get the same food and cleaning and bicycle arrangements, but of course there is no pool. The advantage here is that you can walk out your door at 6:00 a.m. and join the alms-giving ceremonies with the monks in a few seconds. Or just troll around town doing whatever you want. People staying here are invited to use the pool at the other location if they want, and I saw several guests doing exactly that. I assume they came by tuk tuk. (don’t pay more than 10,000 Kip per person).
My wife wants to go back to the busier downtown location, I want to return to the quieter spot. A decision must be made.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment that Mit is responsible for. She is a great housekeeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VITORIA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at Mekong State with my girlfriend in August 2011. I have to say it is the best place I could see at Luang Prabang for staying. It is located in a very quiet area just beside the Mekong River. The views are wonderful. Having the delicious breakfast every morning looking at the Mekong was a dream. And the swimming pool is really good for Luang Prabang as It is very hot. There are very few hotels with Swiming Pool at Luang Prabang.You can choose differtent types of rooms depending on the price you can pay. All of them have views to the river. It is located just 10 - 15 minutes walking from the city center, and with a Tuk-Tuk you can get in three minutes for a very cheap price. It has not got restaurant, but they have an agreement with some restaurants who bring the food quickly if you want. I have to say thank you to all the team at Mekong State for their hospitality, mainly to the French Woman who helped us a lot as my girlfriend was two days in bed with flu. Many thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MekongEstate, Public Relations Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you to encourage travelers to stay in Luang Prabang during summer. No monsoons in Laos but you’re right it’s hot (30 C) and some like hot…nobody is perfect. The locals call it the Green Season because it’s raining mostly after sunset and everyone can enjoy deep blue sky at day time. The Mekong Estate infinity-pool is a must in Luang Prabang. Unesco don’t allow swimming-pool in the heritage area. Mekong Estate also provide accommodation in the Heritage area: Duplex Downtown and Reader’s House (the residents can use the pool on request).
Catering is available at all the Mekong Estate Residences and it’s really appreciate to feel the privilege of being served at home.
Also important to point that is better to stay in a kind of family running residence when some day we aren’t feeling well.
We’ll be pleased to welcome you at Mekong Estate again and longer. We wish you nice trips in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The hotel has 2 sites, we stayed near the river. Room big, lovely decor and old wooden floors etc really beautiful. Staff friendly and try their best, We stayed garden room first floor and a friend in jewel second floor. the jewel suite was amazing, really lovely interconnecting rooms. Breakfast served every day by the pool (pool too cold to swim in as unheated and LP is cool in December!) and the hotel is in a little Village about 5 mins tuk tuk from town, The big fancy hotels are out of town and we prefered to be close to the markets etc. We visited the other site they have in town- nice rooms, decor a little dark but again lots of beautiful wood and traditional touches. Both sites child free. lovely river views too.
Improvements- breakfast was lovely but exactly the same every day, more choices would be really nice. Also IPOD docks would be great as we had trouble connecting ours up. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: book both jewel suites or 2 apartments in the town site and you can have interconnecting rooms and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MekongEstate, Public Relations Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Mekong Estate Residence has 4 locations in Luang Prabang city. All the villas and apartments with services have a view on the Mekong River. You stayed in Sunset House at Ban Saylom Riverside by the pool. To leave in the heart of the Heritage City book at Duplex Downtown or the Reader’s House with its tropical private garden, better choice for family with children.
Thank you for your suggestions. Next time, feel free to ask the staff to get different breakfast; we even serve Lao breakfast on request (rice soup). IPOD docks, notebook, mobile phone are provided on request (see the in-room guest book).
Don’t hesitate to ask we’ll do our best to make your dream a reality but don’t forget that we are in Laos a place faraway from the modern world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mekong Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Estate

Address: Ban Saylom | Mekong River Bank, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Estate lives up to its name with five stately Lao-colonial style villas, all with a stunning vista of the majestic Mekong River and mountains. Each of the property's 10 well-appointed rooms and suites has a river view, private terrace and kitchen, and is designed to be your home away from home. Founded in 2005 as the first residence service in Luang Prabang, guests get to discover a local atmosphere and home-style comfort, an experience unparalleled to staying at a hotel in town. The rooms boast ample space, light, character and charm. Spacious living extends to the outdoors with verandas, immaculate tropical gardens, a 25m long swimming pool and of course, the property's namesake river. Quite simply, we have the best view of the Mekong in Luang Prabang; watch the world drift by and let time stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mekong Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mekong Estate Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.