We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice guesthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ammata Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ammata Guest House to your Saves list
Ammata Guest House
37 Khunsua Rd., Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Coventry
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very nice guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

A very nice guesthouse. The rooms are well appointed with real wood flooring and wood paneling throughout. Rooms are very clean and comfortable with good air conditioning. The bathroom is open plan with a good power shower. We paid $25 per night which was a little steep but it was a very nice place to stay. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. A highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
39
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

we stumbled upon this place because we didn't want to shell out $75 US at the place next door.
so we walked 20 steps and were greeted with a welcome smile at this lovely family run guest house. the room was immaculate dark wood design. clean comfy bed and linens. decent bathroom and a good quiet AC.
You can step out the door in the mornings and watch the monks do their rounds right outside the front door or watch from the upstairs balcony.
I highly highly recommend this place. and its only a few minutes walk into town.


on a side note I was unfortunate to witness thieves on a scooter snatching a bag off the back of a traveler at 6am while the monks do their rounds. I never felt unsafe in that town once. but that proved to me that thieves are everywhere in the world and even at 6am in the presence on monk you still need to be mindful of you stuff

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

What a wonderful guesthouse. The owners are super friendly, the rooms was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the guesthouse is in a fantastic location. I would highly recommend the Ammata.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Both the Rough Guide & The Lonely Planet refer to the Ammarta as a good value-for-money option but I think this is to damn it faint praise. Having arrived on spec, I stayed for 5 nights in a beautiful, teak-lined room which was wonderfully quiet & kept scrupulously clean.
I found the propietor to be affable & helpful.
As other reviewers have noted, the Ammarta convenient for most of the best bits of Luang Prabang.
I paid US$40/night, or about £25 - £26, which I thought was probably a good deal in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

we planned for 3 nights and stayed for 8
clean room , excellent shower
friendly staff
very good location
highly recommended

Room Tip: stayed in the smaller of the two guest houses on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

Scouting for hostels on the day of our arrival, we were really pleased to trip on Ammata guesthouse. Nice spacious and clean rooms, with a very decent bathroom and located a block away from both the Mekong River and the main street it is located in a nice quiet area just 3 mins away walking distance from the centre of town. The lady in the reception is wonderful, always in a good mood and very helpful, she is always here, it seems its a family run guesthouse, would recommend and definetely will come back to this spot my next time in Luang Prabang. Rates are very accessible. Only downfall is the internet, connection is a little slow, but in the end I didn't mind.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here during a 4 week trip around Thailand, Laos and Cambodia and it was by far the best place we stayed, including more expensive places. We paid around USD30 per night I recall.

The rooms are lovely dark polished wood with crisp white bedspread and towels, very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful, finding us a reliable tuktuk driver to take us to the Kuang Si waterfalls and also hiring good quality bikes for around USD2. Free wifi, tea and coffee. Great location close to night markets and riverside, and on a street that us good for watching the monks in the morning - avoiding the throngs of tourists inapproriately taking intrusive closeup photos of the monks as they collect alms at dawn. (please don't be one of those people if you go!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ammata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammata Guest House

Address: 37 Khunsua Rd., Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ammata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammata Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ammata Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.