We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special hotel with genuine Laotian atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ramayana Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Ramayana Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   128 Toutane Avenue, Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 071, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A very special hotel with genuine Laotian atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is a good choice for everyone who is seeking for a clean and affordable accomodation in the proximity of the famous night market. The walls of the rooms are very thin and despite the genuine Laotian atmosphere the beautiful furniture is creating it is disturbing to hear your neighbours' voices al the time. The breakfest is served in a beautiful tropical garden, but the choice is poor, the food itself not really tasty. Be prepared to hear twice a day (4 o' clock in the morning and 12 hours later!) the heay drums of the Vat next to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with fru.pl

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    90
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
40
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This boutique hotel is fantastic. It is on the main street of LP, but a little away from the restaurants / tourist hubs. This area is only a short walk down the street.
The hotel is opposite a monastery, so you will hear gongs in the morning - I enjoyed this. The furnishings were great, and the hotel offers massages etc.
Nice place to stay in LP.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 13. We arrived at around 7pm and it was already dark. We were a little concerned when the taxi driver pulled up at the end of a dark street and told us we'd have to walk the rest of the way. When we arrived though we were blown away! The reason the taxi driver couldn't drive to the hotel was because the night markets were set up in the street. We could litearally step out of the hotel and walk into the night markets (and after Cambodia it was a welcome relief to not be hassled by people trying to sell things!). The hotel itself if an old building which has been restored and looks amazing! We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was beautiful. Breakfast was nothing great... but when you're so close to everything you can duck out and get breakfast at the amazing Scandenavian bakery instead (for under $5 for 2 people!). We found it difficult to communicate with the night staff as they didnt speak much English so if you have any questions about locations, events, etc make sure you ask during the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel had character and the design was pleasant and was really close to the night market and town - but WOW was it noisy!! Our room was above the restaurant and I was woken up at 5.30 AM by the sound of dishes and chairs banging next to each other. THEN at 6.30 AM the DAILY OUTDOOR MARKET starts RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the hotel and ALL AROUND the entire hotel! So, if you want to sleep in later than 6.30 AM, I absolutely do NOT recommend this hotel. LIGHT SLEEPERS BEWARE.

Pros:

1. Nice design
2. Friendly and accommodating manager
3. Decent selection of news channels on TV
4. Good selection of toiletries in the bathroom
5. Very close to night market and town

Cons

1. VERY Noisy for the light sleeper starting from 6.30AM
2. Breakfast was a 5/10 & coffee was terrible - GO OUT TO EAT! There are so many great places to eat nearby
3. The bed we had was SUPER hard. They only had one room, I was told by the staff, that had a soft bed topper. The rest of the rooms had hard beds. Not so nice for more than one nights stay.
4. The hotel actually allowed an entire family of about 10-15 people check into the hotel, and I think they were housed in about 3 rooms or so... and they were very noisy - in the morning and at night. I felt like I was at a low cost housing area or a shipping yard or something with the loud yelling back and forth in between rooms by the family. This definitely took away from the whole 'boutique hotel' feel of the place.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room above the kitchen if you're a light sleeper!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel was located just off a side street from the night market. It was a bit dark on some of the nights and I was a female traveling alone, but I either asked someone to walk with me or just walked quickly down. I didn't eat the breakfast as there were so many lovely options around town, but it looked pretty basic. The room I had was really cute and very spacious. The price overall was great and the wi-fi worked perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It is located between the morning and night markets and a short walk to nearly all places of interest. The room was atmospheric and we could enjoy the muffled drums from the nearby Wat each day at 4pm. The resort had great Wifi coverage even in the corner room. Lovely breakfast and the server had a smile for us each morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed there a total of 3 nights since we used LPQ as a base to do overnight trips. I have been to LPQ more than 20 times and never stayed in the Ramayana before. The location is very good and this is a small but cosy little hotel. I shared a room with my parents and this was not a problem at all. We had a big room with one double bed and two large single beds. The bathroom is not up to standard and would need some upgrading. The breakfast is the usual egg and toast stuff but does the trick in the morning. I would opt for a hotel with a pool if you stay longer in LPQ but for one night, this is a good place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramayana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Boutique Hotel

Address: 128 Toutane Avenue, Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 071, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramayana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted old mansion, the Ramayana Boutique Hotel provides 15 nicely decorated rooms, surrounded by nice garden and trees. Our location is one of the best in town. We are situated right next to the national museum, the morning market and Wat Mai temple. Literally a few minutes walking away are the main street, mekong river and night market. We provide breakfast and selected Asian and western dishes for lunch in our small restaurant and bar. We offer in-room massage services to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ramayana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang
Ramayana Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.