We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“The Top Budget Inn in all of Pakistan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regale Internet Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regale Internet Inn
Save
You added Regale Internet Inn to your Saves list
Surriaya Mansion, | 65 The Mall, Lahore, Pakistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Lahore B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Top Budget Inn in all of Pakistan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am from the USA and have stayed at Regale Internet on two occasions, in 2010 and 2012, off and on while I traveled thru Pakistan. On both occasions, Regale Internet in Lahore acted as my home base as I spent approximately 1 month time total during each of these trips to Pakistan at this inn or two months total. The first trip in 2010 I would give it 4 stars, the second trip in 2012 I would give it 5 stars, based upon comfort level, cleanliness, safety and related issues.
The biggest improvements in 2012 was that the inn offered FREE Wifi as well as several on-sight desktop PCs for those who did not bring their own during travels (in 2010 there was a small charge for both). The second plus I experienced in 2012 is the hiring of Regale Internet's current on-sight manager/host Zakir, who went above the call of duty each time anything was requested or asked for during my stay. As a guest my personal standards are high and thus, I am likely not the easiest guest to please, however any issue big or small, Zakir made sure the issue was resolved both promptly and satisfactorily.
The owner of Regale Internet Inn, Malik, although not on-site everyday, was also a very gracious host and imparted me with much knowledge about the city of Lahore and Pakistani culture. Hats off to him for not raising the prices of single or shared rooms at the Inn, we budget travelers really appreciate this.
As a final mention, I cannot believe that any guest would have the nerve to complain about tidiness of the Inn - which I found to be very good, all in all. Considering the price of what one is paying - there is a rooftop garden, free laundry and kitchen facilities, free wifi, free cultural outings each Thursday night, excellent host(s) and very good security - I was extremely pleased with the quality of Regale Internet Inn during my stay. Hats off to Malik and Zakir, keep up the great job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
4
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sai kung
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were a bit worried it would be too basic and dirty...it wasn't! Everything was clean and tidy and the hosts looked after us so well. There is a roof terrace where travelers meet and exchange tales and a small kitchen to cook your own food. we are a family of 4 and were given a room to ourselves with ensuite bathroom and all for about three US dolars each per night

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This place is far from salubrious but is a good option if your looking for some traveller camaraderie which is rare these days in Pakistan due to the decline in tourism. Malik the owner is extremely knowledgeable and will help with pretty much anything that you want to do while in Lahore. Rooms are basic and cleanliness isn't great however before regal came along Lahore had a horrible reputation for theft and scams in its budget hotels, due to the fact that what you get here is a safe and relaxed environment its well worth supporting this hotels through the tough times that tourism in Pakistan is facing and ensuring its existence for future generations of travellers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Room is Rp450 and dorm bed is Rp200 per bed. 

Bad:
By reading the lonely planet guidebook and previous travelers review made me can't wait to be in Lahore, unfortunately the whole thing turn out to be very disappointed and is the worst place I slept in Pakistan.  Can't believe that is lonelyplanet's "our pick".  Dirty carpet, dirty toilet, dirty kitchen, dirty room, cramped place (occupied 2nd and 3rd floor of a shop) and unchanged bed liner for everyone! Imagine everyone sleep with sweat in summer !! No power backup and power outbreak few times a day, it is hot at night without a fan during the summer. Please DO NOT leave your wallet in the room.

Good:
Cheap bed, free freezing filter water, small kitchen to use,free  washing machine (half automatic), good location (KFC and Subway is on the left and a supermarket and some street food on the right) and Internet service (Rp40 per hr and Rp200 for 24 hrs wifi unlimited excess).

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

This is not a hotel - it's a place for travellers to sleep and meet. Malik was very interesting to talk to and a very welcoming host and there were many interesting people to chat too. The double bed afforded a good night's sleep and the place was buzzing with people travelling through Pakistan, India and around the world. There were a couple of shared bathrooms on the top floor and a kitchen for the use of guests. Food Street was a ten minute walk away and the Holiday Inn for takeaway beer (and gin for the host) was a fifteen minute walk away (but the beer's awful!).

Regrettably we only had two nights here before returning to India - more time in Pakistan and more time at the Regale Internet Inn would have been excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

If you look at the scores I gave this hostel, you wouldn't think I'd recommend it. But in fact I do! Everyone who's been to Pakistan (and that aren't that many at the moment) have told us about this hostel. So if you like to share stories about how you managed to receive your visa for Pakistan, this is the place to be.Or if you want to make plans for your ongoing travel (including Iran or India), this is also the place to be.
We came here during our 1,5 year world trip by car and ended up staying 3x longer than we had planned. And it seemed that almost everybody had the same experience. The travellers we met at Regale Internet Inn were very interesting people and we felt like a little family at once. After Lahore we didn't meet other travellers at all. So it was really a nice part of our Pakistan trip.
And oh yeah, Malik is great fun. Especially on Sufi nights on his roof top.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I visited Lahore, Pakistan in August 2007 after travelling by public bus from Peshawar. It was an amazing place but not for everyone. The most notable places in my mind were the "Food Street" mall which had an amazing variety of shops and restaurants, the RED MOSQUE and LAHORE FORT. Also NOT TO BE MISSED is a trip to the India-Pakistan Border Crossing at Wagha where you can watch the famous "SUNSET GATE CLOSING CEREMONY". Admittedly I stayed in the dirt cheapest "hostel" called the "Regale Internet Inn" that I could find for 120 Pak Rupees (US$2) per night which amounted to nothing more than a bunch of cots in a stuffy third floor room but at least they had low-speed internet access. I really enjoyed exploring the run-down neighbourhoods and seeing how the people lived and talking to them about their political views. I am Asian (Chinese) so the locals had no pre-conceptions about me. At the hostel I did meet some daring white caucasian travellers, some of whom claimed to be "Canadian" but were really Americans incognito. HOWEVER I DID WITNESS A WHITE MALE AMERICAN TOURIST GET surrounded in a public place by a curious but somewhat irate crowd of locals although he was allowed to leave unharmed. I distinctly heard them tell him "You tell your President Bush we are not terrorists!" as if he was some kind of ambasaddor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regale Internet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regale Internet Inn

Address: Surriaya Mansion, | 65 The Mall, Lahore, Pakistan
Location: Pakistan > Punjab Province > Lahore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Lahore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regale Internet Inn is located 10 meters from Regale Chowk the centre of Modern Lahore. All of the main sights of Lahore can be found within walking distance of the Inn; The magnificent Badshahi Mosque and Old fort complex and the intriguing old walled city of Lahore as well as the Lahore museum with its historic Kims Gun. A 15 minute walk will bring you to either of the famous food street of Lahore Anarkali or Gawal Mandi, where you can enjoy Pakistani and Afghani dishes. The Inn is owned and run by Malik and his sons. Malik a friendly enthusiastic host can provide many insights into Lahore. As a former journalist he has many contacts with the local community; which he uses to ensure that the guests have an interesting stay at Regale. One particular highlight is the Thursday evening trip to see Sufi drummers in a local shrine. On a Saturday night Pakistani culture comes to the regale inn as regular music events are held with Sufi and Qawali musicians ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regale Internet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.