We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down the road to Mandalay city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mandalay City Hotel to your Saves list
Mandalay City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26th Street, Between 82nd and 83rd Street, Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Mandalay
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Down the road to Mandalay city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Mandalay City Hotel is hidden away down a covered road way close to all the action. The hotel has very welcoming staff and the rooms are more than adequate and kept clean. The Wi Fi from the rooms can be difficult to access and works better in the foyer. The pool is surrounded by greenery and the dining room is spacious and the breakfast was more than adequate. Everything that happens in Mandalay is a short distance from the hotel but walking requires some attention given to the footpaths which can be difficult to negotiate. Because of the location traffic noise is not a problem. Some of the more interesting restaurants are difficult to reach on foot but taxis are not expensive.
Warning: Credit cards are not accepted in most of Myanma s yet and ATM can be unreliable for tourists. Cash is king

Room Tip: No lift so if you have difficulties with luggage ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    183
    122
    27
    2
See reviews for
45
174
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

You never know there is a quiet resort like hotel in the busy down town centre. until you drive through a narrow opening along a row of shop houses fronting a main road.There is a spacious car parking area. You alight at the main entrance and walk through a covered corridor with water features on both sides before entering into the reception area. The reception hall is also spacious with enough sitting area. I find the transition from outside busy city to the main reception gives an experience of relaxing transient.. There is no lift to the 3 storey hotel. You may need assistance from the hotel staff to carry up your luggage to your room. The double bed guest room is spacious. Toilet is clean but hot water may only available in the morning. Don't expect any view through the windows as it faces the back yard or roof of neighbouring houses. The staff and services are excellent and prompt. Dinner meals are excellent. Wifi is a bit erratic. There is a small swimming pool but don't swim in it as it looks dirty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Entering through an archway, there appeared an oasis of tranquility and cleanliness. Although there was not a lift, it was an easy walk up the steps to the bedrooms. I had a bit of trouble with the locked safe-deposit box in the room, but that was soon resolved. Whilst a kettle had been provided, the socket was so close to the work surface that the plug could not go in!
The breakfast was extensive, and generally there was a luxurious air about the place.
Laundry was expensive, so gave it a miss.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
520 reviews 520 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I don't know what the general standard is in Mandalay but I was expecting more for this price. The room was nice and spacious (although I was given a twin room with single beds). The bathroom was nice but there were consistent problems getting hot water. TV and internet were unreliable. Also, the wifi is only supposed to be in the lobby, but I got it OK (when it was working) from one floor up. The pool is very nice. Breakfast buffet is limited but OK, but it finishes at 9am. There does not appear to be an elevator. The location is central - quiet but the chaos of central Mandalay is right outside. However, there do not appear to be many restaurants or useful shops close by (taxis are plentiful though). Staff are good. Don't really know whether to recommend it but I think it needs to improve or it will be left behind as Myanmar develops.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is an excellent small (3 floors) hotel right in the centre of Mandalay.
The staff were outstanding and so helpful. Nothing was too much of a problem to them.
The rooms are large and well set up.
For US$85 the hotel is outstanding value.
The breakfast that was included, was great with fresh omelets or eggs cooked to your liking.
The restaurant was excellent value with Asian cuisine starting from $6. I ordered an entree of spring rolls for $3 thinking I would get 3 or 6 and a large bowl of more than 20 was served up.
Two minor minuses...
There is no elevator, only stairs. Staff carry all cases, etc to and from your room.
Secondly, as of September 2013, there was no credit card availability in the whole of Mandalay. In fact banks would only exchange euros, US dollars and Singapore dollars.
By taxi, the hotel is 40 to 60 minutes from the airport and cost between 6000kyats (US$6) and 8000kyats (US$8)

Room Tip: Take heaps of US dollars. Use taxis as so cheap. Price is given first by the driver which is usuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veldhoven
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

To be honest we'd only chosen this hotel for its swimmingpool. Being here 4 nights in july we felt that we were in a need of that. Also because we were travelling with our 15 year old son, and we thought a pool would be great for him too. We made a booking trough 7diamonds travel-agency for 83$ a night for a superior room plus an extra bed. This is quite a lot of money for what you get. Later on we discovered that if we would have made the booking with another travelagency (mailadres; makaythuswe@gmail.com ) we would have paid 67$ which is much better. Booking directly to this hotel is no worth while, we would have paid 107$ for that same room at least. Mandalay city hotel is a hotel that is runned through the government, and they want to press the highest amount of US $ out of the visitors. Everything has to be paid in US$, and that is the reason that we took the included, -only average- breakfast, but never spend even one extra us$ in this hotel. Staff is friendly but no extra service without paying. The rooms are rather small, there is only wifi in the lobby (free wifi). Tv connection in the room is very bad, there is a lot of "snow"on the tv even in high summer, haha!
The entrance is very nice, with a fishpond. The reception area is very spacy and there are comfortable seats available. The pool was poison-green when we arrived, it looked rather strange. But the next day they made it look bright light blue again. The daybeds near the pool and the free towels are great, and the inviting pool is the one and only reason to book this hotel. Rooms are overpriced, and if you start a discussion about that with the manager, he is willing to listen to you and smile but that is it. Only average hotel, no elevator. Food is overpriced, just walk outside and seek you own nicely priced restaurant nearby. Lots of tourgroups stay here. Next time that I'll come to Mandalay I won't go here again. The price is too high, just for a pool it is not OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

As part of Peregrine trip we had 3 nights at this hotel, no double bed first night - this often seems to be a problem with hotels, and the room had a horrid smell of mothballs, found later to be a "deodoriser" used in some of the hotels. Asked to be moved to double bed room the following night - staff weren't that obliging and ended up in another room with 2 single beds pushed together but this room didn't have the same smell. Beds were hard. No internet in bedrooms, have to use slowish internet in foyer. Hotel is set back from mainstreet up between two buildings so no noise from street, however there is a mosque next door and the call to prayer comes at 4.30am. I loved hearing the sounds as not something I hear at home. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of fresh fruits, breads, rolls, eggs and asian food. The dinners were very nice and we ate here on all 3 nights as the variety of local foods served up were very good and reasonably priced without having to face the crowds on the streets and the heat. Never actually got to leave the hotel to walk up the main streets due to the over action packed days we had in Mandalay. There is no lift in the hotel so if you have large heavy cases be prepared to carry them up the stairs or have a porter do so for you. All rooms have good air conditioning. There is a nice swimming pool at the hotel but we didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay City Hotel

Address: 26th Street, Between 82nd and 83rd Street, Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay City Hotel is an urban resort hotel that addresses the needs of value-orientated business and leisure travelers. We have undertaken to renovate the interior of all rooms and works have started from May to August. This renovation works include installation of new air conditioners, closet and luggage rack, double layer curtains, furniture. All bedding amenities have been replaced with new ones. The toilet designs are new with new tile walls and floors fitted with up to date showers, basins and commodes. For security and safety of guest's rooms, we have installed a new "Card Lock System". The interior walls have been repainted to give a more friendly touch with some artistic figures and photos. A new lift has been installed for the comfort of guests staying at the upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.