We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but no thrills” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Smart Hotel to your Saves list
Smart Hotel
167, 28th Street. Between 76 th & 77th. Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Mandalay
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Clean but no thrills”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It's definitely clean and rather centrally located (just a couple of blocs from the Mandalay Palace), but otherwise it's a very basic hotel with small rooms, mediocre service and rather odd breakfast to European taste. I would look for sth else next time I go to Mandalay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Igrrrr,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very please to hear from you that ( hotel is definitely clean and good location).

To address the points you had highlighted, I can see that room type, service and Breakfast is just a basic for your opinion. I would like to suggest you to try our Superior Room, as rooms are bigger than standard one. We also have Executive room which are much bigger with balcony, large window and top views. These two room types may match your needs.

Clearly, Excellent Service is our main focus on every guest, but you had an experience with basic service at Hotel. We all are truly sorry for this and our team is ready to welcome you back to our hotel and provide with best service if we have a second chance from you. For Breakfast, guest can also request to Restaurant if you are not happy with Breakfast we offer. Chef will arrange for you another reasonable one with no additional charges.

Your feedback was a good learning experience for us. We will make every effort to satisfy your requirements on your next visit to Mandalay. Please feel free to let me know of your future travel plans at my mail address which is myo@stayatsmart.com or contact me directly there may be something I can do to assist your next trip.


Best Regards,

Myo

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    146
    41
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
163
68
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
mandalay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked two nights via Agoda taking advantage of an offer so it was half price. The hotel is very good compared to what I paid in other places, here you really get value. beds are comfortable and clean, AC works all the time, pressure in shower, toiletries, room cleaned every day and towels changed. good size room, new feel. Breakfast was included in the offer, it was not very bad but just very average, I guess. better than nothing I would say. the hotel was half empty and the service was very good, sometimes even too much, there is a lot of staff around constantly there for you opening doors with big miles and anticipating your every need. I ate at the restaurant one time at lunch and when asking f the had fruit for desert, I was presented the fruit as a gift, I don't know why but its very nice gesture. The staff at the counter speak enough English and they helped be book my train ticket by calling the station to confirm there was indeed a train. On arrival to hotel, they hand you a juice and they sit with you with a free map explaining the main sights (even if you 'ask). the staff introduced me to another woman who was there solo so we could share a taxi to Mandalay hill instead of paying separately two taxis, which I really appreciated being on a budget trip in a country that is ignoring the low budget sector so far. So I would definitely recommend this place. I booked here because of the offer and because value seems to be so bad in Myanmar that I prefer to pay a bit more but get a decent place to really rest for a night or two. I really recommend this hotel and Agoda booking (as no hidden charges and perfect service in this website)

Room Tip: I had the room on the offer it was twin beds very big window towards next building wall bbut that al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a good stay at the smart hotel. The rooms are good and very clean, the breakfast is OK and the location is quite central. It's within walking distance to the diamond plaza (the largest shopping mall in Mandalay). For a visit to the palace, monasteries, market, temples of Mandalay Hill you can take one of the buses.

The rooms are a bit small. With a queen size bed there is not very much space left in the rooms to do anything. The bathroom is OK and clean and the airconditioning is functioning well. There is also Wifi available, free of charge, in your room.

Staff is very nice and really polite, opening doors, and carrying your suitcases. In contrary to some other places, they don't ask for tips (but of course they are very grateful to receive something).

As in the rest of Burma, also this hotel is expensive compared with other places in Asia. At $75 a night you've got a room that would cost 50% or less in for example Thailand, Indonesia or China.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I highly recommend the Smart Hotel. Staff was incredibly attentive. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Breakfast is just so so with your choice of eggs, some typical asian noodle dishes, and some fruit. The owner is very kind. Great value for money.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife, teenaged son and I spent 3 nights here August 21-24 and we were extremely pleased with our experience. Upon arrival, the staff was very helpful, volunteering to help us plan our visit to Mandalay and assist us with transportation or other advice. We were able to leave our valuables in the hotel safe and proceeded to our accommodations. Our room was very clean and comfortable. A cot was set up for our son, next to our king sized bed, which made things a little tighter than normal, but not any real problem. Our room had a semi-private balcony area! Air conditioner and flat screen TV worked great, fantastic views with great light (6th floor) and very clean bathroom with good hot water shower. Best of all, our room had the best lighting of any hotel we stayed at in Myanmar -- soft lights for the evening and very effective reading lights on the headboard, so one can read in bed and not disturb your partner - highly unusual for Myanmar hotels at this price. WiFi was good as we were close to the router source... possibly spotty in other rooms as some reviews mentioned... but inconsistent internet has been our experience all over Myanmar. However, after 5 pm, the hotel allows guests to use their computers and internet connection there is fast and sufficient. Breakfast is very good with western and local choices. Although we didn't make use of it, a restaurant is available and my guess is that the food there is good. They also have quick room service. On the top floor is a Sky Bar which is an AMAZING place to sit and watch the sunsets from a very beautiful, air conditioned space. They even have a telescope for free use! [drinks could be a little stronger, but great prices, so just order doubles!] Over all, this is a great value... especially as we found many Myanmar hotels to be over priced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall the hotel is decent and clean. Location is pretty centralised too. However, the aircon is not working well during the hot summer. Not sure if this is related to the irregular power supply in the city.

There is one staff that also show displeasure when we cancel a car booking for a trip to Pyin Oo Lwin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Gohjunlin,

Thank you for taking the time to write and we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with us overall.

We pride ourselves to look after all our guests and assure that they are having a great time staying with us,but we are sincerely apologise that we did not get 100% satisfaction from you.

All our Air con are brand new and only few month old, also we do regular deep cleaning all of them monthly. We have never received a negative word on Air con. I also agree that it could be irregular electricity in the city since you was with us in April and electricity was cutting off many times. However, we do have generator and 24hrs electricity.

We provide complementary service to all transportation tickets to achieve excellent customer service for your guests, but we need to sort out many issue with Taxi Company if we have to cancel the booking. We even have to pay sometime from hotel side if guest cancel the booking after Taxi is booked. However, I would advise all my team to avoid happening this issue in the future.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Smart Hotel.

Myo Oo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Smart Hotel is in a very convenient location. The rooms are relatively clean and well equipped. Staffs are very nice and helpful, they can help arrange a day tour also help booking for boat, bus, and flight. Wifi were only work in reception area when we were there due to a major fixing...issue. breakfast and food in general has a good standard and fair price. Near by the hotel is a restaurant "too too" where serve simple but tasty Myanmar food...an alternate to hotel food. We enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Address: 167, 28th Street. Between 76 th & 77th. Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay Train Station, Local restaurants, Shopping Mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience.With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms were designed along very clean but beautiful wall paper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.