We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern and very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayeyarwaddy River View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandalay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayeyarwaddy River View Hotel
Save
You added Ayeyarwaddy River View Hotel to your Saves list
On the bank of the Ayeyarwaddy River, Mandalay, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice, modern and very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Ayeyarwaddy River View Hotel is a new Hotel, built maybe 3-4 years ago.Ist a 3-4 stars Hotel and the prizes are reasonable, compared to other Hotels in the City.

Ist located right at the banks of the Ayeyarwaddy River - not near to what I would call the city center, but very close to a very pittoresque fish-market. So the area is NOT very quiet.

You need a taxi to go there- but there is anyway nothing to do in Mandalay in the evening hours.

Recommendable: The rooftop-terrace for a nice dinner.!

The temple nearby uses its loudspeakers for the prayer-service- they stopped finally at 9 pm..

In front of the Hotel is one of the very rare ATM-machines of Myanmar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our room initially looked good, but being on the front was very noisy and then it took 20 minutes to get hot water in the bathroom, this happened both nights we were there. On our first night we went up to the roof terrace for a drink but as this doubles as the hotel restaurant and was full we were told that there was nowhere for us to sit and have drink and were not even served. On the second night we went up earlier for a drink and then had the waiters hovering around us to move on so that they could lay the table for dinner, there was no other bar in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at the Ayeyarwaddy River View hotel in October 2013 for two nights. Having stayed at some magnificent hotels around Myanmar this hotel was very average. My room had a good river view but whatever sights one used to see on the river have long gone. There's almost zero river traffic nowadays and so nothing of interest to see. The room was comfortable though very ordinary. Dinner was far better than I expected. The first night it was in the dining room, the second at the roof restaurant where there was a puppet show. The hotel location is out of town in a busy local street market area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's a good hotel, it has good rooms, serves a good breakfast, and the service is also very good. Not cheap but stands out in Mandalay. I would recommend it. Try to get a deal with the price.
Food of room service wasn't great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Try hard to get a high river view room and avoid the all night music / loudspeaker chanting coming from a nearby temple. Not brilliantly located (although easy enough to get around on motorbike taxis etc, even late at night. Friendly helpful service.

Room Tip: Go for high and river side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed in the hotel in Dec 2012. The hotel is modern, the room we had (facing the river, 4th floor) was large and well appointed. The a/c worked well, as was the wifi. You need to tolerate the power outages which are common in Myanmar. The large bathroom was clean and had all the regular amenities. Watch out though when you take a shower - if you don't watch it you'd flood the bathroom! The rooftop terrace and restaurant are the jewel of the hotel. Great to have a drink and watch the sunset. The only exception - the lighting at night which is terrible (but so it was at every other place we've been to in Myanmar.)
The river front is commercial with a shanty town, beached commercial boats, open storage areas, people cooking, trucks loading and unloading and an overall feeling of chaos and purpose. The worst part - the noise from the river front and the road alongside it. It starts at dawn and doesn't stop till late at night. If your room faces the river then be ready for it. The hotel staff is aware of the problem and offered us earplugs!
The hotel itself is located far from town center and getting to and from it is difficult.
I paid $45 per night (inc. breakfast and free wifi) which was an excellent deal for what we got. The bottom line - I'd give it 3 and a half stars.

Room Tip: Do not face the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a really bad experience at this place. The area is not really for tourists which we didn’t mind, nice to have a look at the Mandalay river life. Because of the power outages the lack of street lights and the HUGE holes in the footpath it’s not safe to walk around at night without a flash light.
The power was constantly go out and the amplified signing/chanting all night long coming from the street meant zero sleep for the two nights we stayed there. First night I went down to reception and asked to be moved to the other side of the hotel but was told that the noise was the same everywhere and was assured that it would stop….. it did between 3.55am and 3.59am (I think another hotel guest pulled the power generator plug on them to get some peace) short lived, 4 minutes later the same noise like a trumpet being blown in your ear from 1 foot away. Turn the TV up full but could still only hear the noise from the street.
Second night went up to the roof bar/restaurant to see if a good amount of alcohol would allow any sleep. The roof to was every nice and had a great view of the Ayeyarwaddy River no luck with the sleep though. Two nights of hell at Ayeyarwaddy River View Hotel.
Can’t say much about the cleanliness the power lights weren’t on long enough to see anything!

Room Tip: If you must stay here Take a Flash light at night. Try the roof top bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayeyarwaddy River View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayeyarwaddy River View Hotel

Address: On the bank of the Ayeyarwaddy River, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayeyarwaddy River View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.