We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more from a place with such a reputation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Duck

The Golden Duck
Strand Road, Mandalay, Myanmar
236808
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 104 Restaurants in Mandalay
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Expected more from a place with such a reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went here on a tour and it had a nice view of the palace. The food though, was pretty average. The roast duck looked undercooked and most of us didn't like the taste. The seafood served in a pumpkin was ok but nothing spectacular. We expected more flavour and better quality food based on the type of clientele they seemed to expect to entertain. There are tastier restaurants in Mandalay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    45
    17
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good take on Chinese food in Mandalay. Suitable for vegan and vegetarian followers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Although not particularly the best Chinese restaurant in Mandalay, it was a welcome change from all the regular Burmese cuisine offered to us as we went about our tour of this vast and varied country. Food was just right, vegetables delicious for vegan and vegetarian followers. Staff was courteous and prompt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“excellent Chinese food in an upscale restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Is it authentic Chinese--no. Mostly caters to tourists though there was a local graduate in a cap and gown. We were a group as were many in the restaurant but the food was hot, good quality, and excellent service. Looks like your experience may vary, but our group found it quite good. We had a fixed menu with a lazy susan for serving. Good service and no complaints

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst meal of 2 weeks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The food was tasteless! Our guide tried to give us all different food flavors in Burma but this chinese food was most disappointing. Do not go here! The staff was cold and the food was very mediocre.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Michigan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Clean, fast service.
Seems as if you are there mostly with other tourists.
Considered one of the best places in Mandalay. I prefer smaller places that deal more with locals, less with tour groups.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Duck also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to The Golden Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.