We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Queen Mandalay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Queen Mandalay to your Saves list
Hotel Queen Mandalay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.456, 81st Street | Between 32nd x 33rd Street, Chan Aye Thar Zan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Mandalay
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Queen Hotel in January 2012. Since the hotel was part of a package deal, I do not know how much we paid per night (though overall and from what I understood, hotel prices in general were absurdly high this Christmas season – so I’m guessing this hotel was over-priced as well).
Overall impression: Hotel is a disappointment
Good points:
• Free (and quite good) wifi in lobby (not in rooms)
• Close to a main commercial street with night market and some super markets
• 2 complimentary water bottles
• Safe to walk at night (though only eateries frequented by locals close by)
Some negatives:
• Extremely small and basic room (only room for one night stand)
• Dirty blankets
• Torn curtains
• Bathroom appears not clean
• Water pressure extremely low
• Insufficient towels (but they bring you more if you ask)
• No safe in room; only a few individual safes in lobby – and when we asked for one, all were taken
• Breakfast is nothing special (and do not expect yoghurt or cheese) – the omelet you are served is in a mini-format, unless you ask for it to be ‘large’

So, overall: would not stay there again if I could help it (and would most definitely not pay anything above 30 Euro).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    52
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
59
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We retreated here after the disappointment of Peacock Lodge. The room I had booked turned out to be quite roomy, although over-filled with that heavy wooden furniture you see in the shops. The bathroom wasn't too bad by Burmese standards. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was horrible, so we went to a teahouse on the corner (cost next to nothing) . We hired push bikes next door and rode all over the place. There are Burmese restaurants and lots of beer halls close by.Overall, a pretty good place.

Room Tip: Worth spending a few dollars more for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had wanted another hotel but couldn’t get it, so our agency found Hotel Queen for us.
The staff at the hotel is very helpful but otherwise the hotel is rather basic. It is located downtown and there is quite a lot of noising traffic in the area and we found no restaurants nearby.
Our room was a little dreary but fairly clean. But it it isn't an expensive hotel so the coherence between price and quality is okay.
We had dinner at the hotel 3 times and found that the quality varied a lot. One meal was average, one was bad and one was excellent.
If you go for a a non expensive hotel I Mandalay Queen is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

No frills at this spot. We had a very cramped but clean room with a hard bed, tv and wifi. Bathrooms are fine, a bit stuffy. Outside is loud at night. Location is downtown with lots of hole in the wall restaurants and tea houses that we really enjoyed within three blocks. Buffet breakfast is absurdly oily, but generous. Staff are very friendly, but not very helpful with advice about the area, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel seemed impressive from the foyer, but that's where it ended. Staff were efficient and friendly. Room was quite large, but we had a large neon light outside our window, so even with the curtains shut it was still bright during the night. Breakfast was minimal with not a great selection. It was located within easy walking distance of cafes, shops, etc. Overall it met our minimal needs, but didn't leave us wanting to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, but only because we could not get anywhere else in the city.

Whilst the front desk staff were friendly, and the breakfast passable, the rooms and corridors are absolutely awful. The carpets are incredibly dirty and stained, the fixtures (bath taps, toilet seats) are falling to pieces. Do not stay here if you can possibly avoid to do so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Michigan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

An inexpensive choice for a good location in Mandalay. The hotel is modern, as are the rooms. They are however, compact. Breakfast is included; mostly Asian fare; I liked it. The Queen is about a 5 minute walk to the train station. It is also convenient to a great selection of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Queen Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Queen Mandalay

Address: No.456, 81st Street | Between 32nd x 33rd Street, Chan Aye Thar Zan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Queen Mandalay 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Queen is your second home . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Queen Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Queen Mandalay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.