We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Greenland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Roklubben

Restaurant Roklubben
P.O. Box 49, Kangerlussuaq 3910, Greenland
+299 84 19 96
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $52
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Greenland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Roklubben also known as the Row club is a true dining experience. Most people that come to Kangerlussuaq are here for science or adventure or both but this restaurant is a little slice of heaven. The menu features all Greenlandic cuisine prepared both in quality and presentation of a 5 star restaurant. The secluded location over looking the lake is picturesque and the fact you have to take a shuttle there with all the guests for the night makes it feel like an experience. The restaurant seats maybe 50 people and is pretty much reservation only. They really only do one dinner service. The menu consists of starters, entrees, desserts, and drinks. Starters range in price from 18-25 USD and are sizable. My group had the shrimp cocktail and the smoked halibut. The shrimp cocktail was standard but the portion was large and the shrimp were fresh wild caught Greenlandic. The smoked halibut was a treat. I have always been a big halibut fan but this was amazing. The halibut was sliced thin and smoked served with some vegetables. For the main course I had the wild plate which includes a medallion of both reindeer and musk ox. Neither of which I had before. The reindeer was probably some of the best meat I have ever had. It tastes sort of like lamb but better. The musk ox is very gamey, lean and has a dense texture that reminds me vaguely of duck. It was served with oven roasted potatoes but I was too full to eat them. Every dish has its own sauce and the sauces were perfect compliments to the dish. The owner also makes a fruit beer, local Greenlandic beer infused with crowberries which are small black tart berries. The beer was excellent and I had two pints ignoring the nearly $24 USD price. They also flavor their own snapps. The service is slow and not always the most friendly but the food and the views can not be best. If for any reason you are in Kangerlussuaq you should make a reservation. If you enjoyed this review and would like to read more about my trip to Greenland check out my blog mrsgoofington.blogspot.com

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food - rude owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to Roklubben, owned by World of Greenland, with a reservation (if you don't have one, you might be turned away) for dinner. The food was very high standard featuring regional cuisine. Very cute location overlooking the lake. The two female chefs did a great job with the food and speed of preparation, including a request for our vegan guest. The downside was the absolute rude and crumpy 'Head Chef' who constantly yelled at the staff and was unfriendly to the guests. When 3 people walked in without reservation, the 'Head Chef' tearsely turned them away and then loudly complained about them. In summery, this guy's attitude left a bad taste to the dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is an amazing.y good little restaurant given where it is. The restaurant sits by a lake (well and truly frozen when we were there) around four km from the airport terminal. Make a booking at World of Greenland and the bus will pick you up and bring you back. The menu features Musk Ox, Reindeer and Ptarmigan. Having tried all I would very highly recommend the Musk Ox above the others. Indeed, of I was in a steak house in New York or whatever, I would go for Musk Ox over beef. Restauranter Kim is an interesting guy to chat to, letting his time between Greenland and Thailand.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Kim, the chef, is a great guy and the food he prepared was wonderful. His Thai wife made some nice veggie food. Lovely place

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

In Kangerlussuaq there is not much choice. The place is built around the international airport. The restaurant in the airport hotel is like a canteen. So we made reservations at Roklubben restaurant. We were picked up at and brought back to the hotel in a big bus at no charge.
The restaurant is near a lake in beautiful surroundings. It has a cosy atmosphere.
On the menu are local specialties like reindeer, musk ox, whale, ptarmigan (fowl). I had the ptarmigan which was nothing special, but this restaurant is without doubt the best in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Roklubben also viewed

Kangerlussuaq, Qeqqata Municipality
Kangerlussuaq, Qeqqata Municipality
 
Ilulissat, Qaasuitsup Municipality
Nuuk, Sermersooq Municipality
 

Been to Restaurant Roklubben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Roklubben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.