We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but not four stars!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LTI Thalassa Sousse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added LTI Thalassa Sousse to your Saves list
LTI Thalassa Sousse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but not four stars!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Thalassa Sousse from October 19th to November 2ond and had a very nice holiday. We were given two rooms opposite the reception when we arrived very early in the morning and they were not very nice and had a bad location. The next morning I asked if we could get two bungalows instead and that was no problem, I was shown some different bungalows and choosed two closed to the relax pool. The rooms/bungalows are not in any way 4 stars, more like 2 stars – very simple and should really need upgrading. The bathroom and terrace were the best in the room. We rented a fridge and that was nice to have but the cleaners closed down the main electricity switch when they left the room so the fridge was warm when we returned, after talkning to them I put up a sign over the mainswitch saying NO! and after that they remembered to leave it on. The cleaning was not very good in our room,I talked first with the reception without any improvement but when I talked to our rep and she went with me to our room they started to clean properly, changed sheets and towels all the time. So if you have any problem and the hotel doesn’t act always contact your rep – don’t wait until your back home.
I’m not a bufféperson but even I liked the buffets, there were variation every day and we could always find something to eat, fresh pizza and pasta made to order. Breakfast was OK and they made omeletts and pancakes. I mean what do you expect when you go to an All Inclusive hotel? Fine dining? The same with the drinks, I only tried the white wine and it was simple but all right. We usually had our lunch at the beach and that was very nice, fresh grilled fish, a nice view and nice staff – but don’t forget to book a table in advance.
If you are kind and respecful to the staff you get the same treatment back. From the very first meal we had very good service and I think that they liked that we were from Sweden, when they realised that we were not from Germany (sorry but the germans at the hotel was very unpolite and quite rude to the staff) they were even nicer than before. I even got bottles of wine to take to the room just because I was polite, nice and swedish ;-).
We used the internet several times, it is only possible in the lounge and the poolarea closest to the reception, and found that if you buy 24 hours you can use it several times, we used it for a whole week!
It was the end of the season when we visit Thalassa Sousse so we had no problem with sunbeds or crowds. I also read that some people have had problems outside, we never noticed anything, we could go in the Medina or anyplace, even my 17-year old daughter but again that is maybe how you yourself behave and if you show respect (put some clothes on!) you get it back!
So to conclude; the hotel and especially the rooms need som paint and maintenance but the location, staff and even the food makes it a good place for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow and if you don't like high music and a lot of noice - away from the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    280
    196
    133
    135
See reviews for
527
245
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

After arriving at hotel at 4am,ready for bed,half sleep,was given a beach bunglow and suitcases taken for us within 5mins.Lovely frendly staff,in reception,bars and waiters. food was excellent in all outlets good choice for all meals.Pool areas are huge and the beach is lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach bunglow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Me and my family arrived at thalassa hotel in sousse late on the 16th september when we arrived we was amazed on how beautiful the reception area and lobby was we was looked after by the reception team who gave us keys to two bunglows as there was6 people in our party we was really happy about the location the pools are amazing with the slides had a bunglow located on the beach which was beautiful on our third day things started to go wrong in one of the bunglows the toilet started overflowing we reported this and the plumber came and sorted it no problems then for 9 days it kept happening and we kept reporting and nothing was properly done about it the rooms was always clean and tidy the maid did a great job the alcohol wasnt very good it was watered down and awful and also served in plastic cups and they smelled the food wasnt very good wasnt catering for british as well as children and flys everywhere landing on our food the Animation team was ok there was 3 a la carte restaurants and the international restaurants wasnt very nice but i recemmend the italian that was amazing the best food we ate The entainment team was ok but there was one night where they had the guys that had the spikes and knives and got a little boy to do something to the man with the knives which my wife was upset about because we had a child with us and children shouldnt be doing stuff like that where is the health and safety? And then also british people getting mugged outside the hotel and nobody helping was shocking especially when it was a 65 year old women and the men outside wasnt very nice you have to been on your guard! Especially women.We to sousse market and that was awful as we was geting hassed into buying stuff we didnt want some of the staff was friendly there was one in the dining room and also the pool bar staff was friendly the snack bar food was bad as we had burgers that wasnt cooked 3 times we send it back and still pink 3 of my party work with food so we know it wasnt cooked Dan our rep was brilliant as he was sorting the problems out for us thank you to him i think more women should work there as well in the bar and dining area

Room Tip: Dont go for room 536
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my girlfriend had a good,relaxing summer holiday in Thalassa Sousse.
Hotel is located just a stones throw away from the beach with wide range of water sports available.We arrived late at night and were greeted by a lovely receptionist who gave us a bungalow located by the relaxing pool. The room has been daily cleaned and the bedding was changed. TV broke on second day but was fixed and its not a flat screen so quality's not HD, only 2 English BBC world news and a great movie channel which was great for evening/night times. Room was basic but spacious but needs refurbishment.

Food quality is good but can get very repetitive after a week, but there are 3 other restaurants serve same food everyday but try the fish on the beach. Snack bar was a waste of time we sat down and didn't get served for 15 mins and when food arrived it was a joke burgers are a poor excuse for meat a tiny circle of something in a bun.
Just a small tip.Please book the a la Carte restaurants in advance and more then one at the time cos the lady that takes the bookings quite often dissapers and is hard to find her. If you go to main restaurants try to get there before the closing time for the changeover cos they stop people getting in .

Drinks were fine, beer not exactly Budweiser but does the job, sometimes served in a plastic cup with chips all over it but they give you a small glass when they have them available. guy that works at the poolside bar Youssef (looks like Carol Tevez) was fantastic, very friendly said hello every morning on way to breakfast. Some bar staff in the reception bar weren't half as nice for some reason but you get served eventually.
All glasses are very small maybe half pint at the most so will need to keep refilling during all meals but bottles of water are plenty.

Animation team were great didn't do a lot of activities but if your into dancing, water aerobics/polo etc its perfect. They do shows on a night but didn't watch many of them due to movie channel in room.

We did the Sahara trek, tried to find a private excursion agent but we only found one in Sousse same price as Thomson so we went with them. Worth doing took about 100 photos but your on the coach for about 14 hours in total. Went to the water park Aqua Palace only have 6-7 slides not really worth the 20 dinar entrance fee but killed 3 hours.

Reception not very friendly or helpful either good for changing money, that's about it.

The beach is great can get crowded at peak times, but no problem getting sunbeds. Water is clean and warm makes a great change to the pools. Lots of water sports and very cheap.

Overall we had a good time ,not perfect but came back relaxed.

Rep Dan helpful, approachable, friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow before you check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula , Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 20.03.2011 to 27.03.2011. I can say for the service that we got maybe a little too expensive. But clean rooms, good food and friendly staff left a good impression on us. There was not Animation at this hotel in this period . But spacious terrace and peace was enough for a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here from 12 Aug til 22 Aug.(2 adults & 12 yr old daughter). The hotel Reception is clean & spacious & fairly welcoming. Our 'bungalow' was a reasonable size & fairly comfortable. Had a few problems with the shower but reported it & was fixed within 1-2 days. No problems with the cleaning of our room. Waiters were very friendly - a money tip at the beginning of the holiday ensures they will look after you, we never had to queue at the bar for a drink as the bar waiters would see us coming & serve us our 'usual' drinks at the table. Same in the restaurant. Food was reasonable - All Inclusive food tends to get a bit 'samey' after a while & this was no different to other A/I hotels I have stayed at. Not a lot outside the hotel within walking distance. All in all, I would recommend the hotel because I had a lovely relaxing break, thanks mainly to the hotel & the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We travelled from the 12 - 22 August to the Thalassa Sousse and after reading some of the reviews were quite frankly petrified at what we would find. The hotel is spacious, lobby was spotless and reception very helpful and efficient. We asked for a quiet room as we had our 7 year old with us and were given a bungalow by the quiet pool. Fantastic views of the sea, 10m to the pool and 25m on to the beach - fantastic. The room itself was clean, working air conditioning and quite spacious. The main double bed is large, although only comes with 2 pillows and extra ones never appeared despite asking 3 times! The shower would not stay on the wall but this didn't really matter as the bath was fine. The linens could do with upgrading but were clean, although frayed round the edges.

The site itself is a decent size, not too large, but never fety crowded. There is a shortage of loungers but one of us was always up early to go and pop a few towels down and the staff are very good at removing towels put out the night before. The entertainment staff try their best but it is aimed at the mainly German and Russian guests, and there is little to do in the evening. The cabaret is dated, but there are plenty of comfortable chairs around to just relax and play cards. There is little entertainment for younger children and our 7 year old son did get a bit restless in the evenings.

Wifi is not free in the hotel but a handy tip - The one day Wifi access pass for 15 dinar (about £8.00) actually lasts for 24 complete hours - enough to happily watch plenty of cartoons or play games on an Ipad or phone.

we spent most of the days by the quiet relax pool which did not have the blasting music the main poo did. Its also very close to the beach bar and the beach - the sea is fantastic and completely safe for younger kids being gently shelving and clear water.

The food - no it is not Michelin starred quality. If you go expecting burger and chips you will be disappointed. We eat a lot of couscous, roasted veg, moussaka etc and therefore found the food fine. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice and the fresh pancakes made on the terrace are great. Lunch and dinner, the fresh pizza and pasta was aways reliable, huge choice of salads, and some lovely desserts. No bad tummies between any of us. the waiting staff are very friendly and we tipped on the first day, which meant a table kept for us each mealtime, with drinks waiting ready. Find Mr Happys section and you will be treated like royalty!

The staff are okay, although deferential to the Russians - who are rude and push in all the time! We found if you were polite to the staff, smiled at them and attempted (badly in my case) to speak French, they could not do enough for you and would bring drinks over without being asked.

Recommended is the trip to sousse through the giftshop. You get 2 hours including a trip to the Mosque and the carpet shop but there is no hard sell and you have the reassurance of a guide. Port El Kantoui is also recommended, especially one of the glass bottom boat rides - haggle and you'll get the price right down - we paid 40dinar for 3 of us.

The hotel is trying its best to improve, management were issuing questionnaires each week and everyone was friendly, the hotel was spotless.

Don't be put off by the negative reviews and give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room/bungalow - these are close to the beach and the less busy pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LTI Thalassa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LTI Thalassa Sousse

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — LTI Thalassa Sousse 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your LTI Thalassa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Thalassa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Lti Thalassa Hotel Sousse
Sousse Lti Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LTI Thalassa Sousse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.