We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not be put off by bad reviews.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LTI Thalassa Sousse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added LTI Thalassa Sousse to your Saves list
LTI Thalassa Sousse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not be put off by bad reviews.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my girlfriend had a good,relaxing summer holiday in Thalassa Sousse.
Hotel is located just a stones throw away from the beach with wide range of water sports available.We arrived late at night and were greeted by a lovely receptionist who gave us a bungalow located by the relaxing pool. The room has been daily cleaned and the bedding was changed. TV broke on second day but was fixed and its not a flat screen so quality's not HD, only 2 English BBC world news and a great movie channel which was great for evening/night times. Room was basic but spacious but needs refurbishment.

Food quality is good but can get very repetitive after a week, but there are 3 other restaurants serve same food everyday but try the fish on the beach. Snack bar was a waste of time we sat down and didn't get served for 15 mins and when food arrived it was a joke burgers are a poor excuse for meat a tiny circle of something in a bun.
Just a small tip.Please book the a la Carte restaurants in advance and more then one at the time cos the lady that takes the bookings quite often dissapers and is hard to find her. If you go to main restaurants try to get there before the closing time for the changeover cos they stop people getting in .

Drinks were fine, beer not exactly Budweiser but does the job, sometimes served in a plastic cup with chips all over it but they give you a small glass when they have them available. guy that works at the poolside bar Youssef (looks like Carol Tevez) was fantastic, very friendly said hello every morning on way to breakfast. Some bar staff in the reception bar weren't half as nice for some reason but you get served eventually.
All glasses are very small maybe half pint at the most so will need to keep refilling during all meals but bottles of water are plenty.

Animation team were great didn't do a lot of activities but if your into dancing, water aerobics/polo etc its perfect. They do shows on a night but didn't watch many of them due to movie channel in room.

We did the Sahara trek, tried to find a private excursion agent but we only found one in Sousse same price as Thomson so we went with them. Worth doing took about 100 photos but your on the coach for about 14 hours in total. Went to the water park Aqua Palace only have 6-7 slides not really worth the 20 dinar entrance fee but killed 3 hours.

Reception not very friendly or helpful either good for changing money, that's about it.

The beach is great can get crowded at peak times, but no problem getting sunbeds. Water is clean and warm makes a great change to the pools. Lots of water sports and very cheap.

Overall we had a good time ,not perfect but came back relaxed.

Rep Dan helpful, approachable, friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow before you check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    309
    209
    140
    144
See reviews for
590
259
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pula , Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 20.03.2011 to 27.03.2011. I can say for the service that we got maybe a little too expensive. But clean rooms, good food and friendly staff left a good impression on us. There was not Animation at this hotel in this period . But spacious terrace and peace was enough for a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here from 12 Aug til 22 Aug.(2 adults & 12 yr old daughter). The hotel Reception is clean & spacious & fairly welcoming. Our 'bungalow' was a reasonable size & fairly comfortable. Had a few problems with the shower but reported it & was fixed within 1-2 days. No problems with the cleaning of our room. Waiters were very friendly - a money tip at the beginning of the holiday ensures they will look after you, we never had to queue at the bar for a drink as the bar waiters would see us coming & serve us our 'usual' drinks at the table. Same in the restaurant. Food was reasonable - All Inclusive food tends to get a bit 'samey' after a while & this was no different to other A/I hotels I have stayed at. Not a lot outside the hotel within walking distance. All in all, I would recommend the hotel because I had a lovely relaxing break, thanks mainly to the hotel & the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We travelled from the 12 - 22 August to the Thalassa Sousse and after reading some of the reviews were quite frankly petrified at what we would find. The hotel is spacious, lobby was spotless and reception very helpful and efficient. We asked for a quiet room as we had our 7 year old with us and were given a bungalow by the quiet pool. Fantastic views of the sea, 10m to the pool and 25m on to the beach - fantastic. The room itself was clean, working air conditioning and quite spacious. The main double bed is large, although only comes with 2 pillows and extra ones never appeared despite asking 3 times! The shower would not stay on the wall but this didn't really matter as the bath was fine. The linens could do with upgrading but were clean, although frayed round the edges.

The site itself is a decent size, not too large, but never fety crowded. There is a shortage of loungers but one of us was always up early to go and pop a few towels down and the staff are very good at removing towels put out the night before. The entertainment staff try their best but it is aimed at the mainly German and Russian guests, and there is little to do in the evening. The cabaret is dated, but there are plenty of comfortable chairs around to just relax and play cards. There is little entertainment for younger children and our 7 year old son did get a bit restless in the evenings.

Wifi is not free in the hotel but a handy tip - The one day Wifi access pass for 15 dinar (about £8.00) actually lasts for 24 complete hours - enough to happily watch plenty of cartoons or play games on an Ipad or phone.

we spent most of the days by the quiet relax pool which did not have the blasting music the main poo did. Its also very close to the beach bar and the beach - the sea is fantastic and completely safe for younger kids being gently shelving and clear water.

The food - no it is not Michelin starred quality. If you go expecting burger and chips you will be disappointed. We eat a lot of couscous, roasted veg, moussaka etc and therefore found the food fine. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice and the fresh pancakes made on the terrace are great. Lunch and dinner, the fresh pizza and pasta was aways reliable, huge choice of salads, and some lovely desserts. No bad tummies between any of us. the waiting staff are very friendly and we tipped on the first day, which meant a table kept for us each mealtime, with drinks waiting ready. Find Mr Happys section and you will be treated like royalty!

The staff are okay, although deferential to the Russians - who are rude and push in all the time! We found if you were polite to the staff, smiled at them and attempted (badly in my case) to speak French, they could not do enough for you and would bring drinks over without being asked.

Recommended is the trip to sousse through the giftshop. You get 2 hours including a trip to the Mosque and the carpet shop but there is no hard sell and you have the reassurance of a guide. Port El Kantoui is also recommended, especially one of the glass bottom boat rides - haggle and you'll get the price right down - we paid 40dinar for 3 of us.

The hotel is trying its best to improve, management were issuing questionnaires each week and everyone was friendly, the hotel was spotless.

Don't be put off by the negative reviews and give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room/bungalow - these are close to the beach and the less busy pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After arriving to the hotel at 1am we ( Parents with three teenagers) were told to make our own way to the rooms - rather difficult when no lighting along paths. Came across a porter that directed us into a block behind the snack bar! After taking us to two different floors - still in pitch black we eventually reach the correct floor. Once the porter decided on reaching for a torch we are lcoated our rooms.

Rooms in the block - basic i expect, being able to charge my phone would be nice, but one plug socket in the entire room with the TV plug that was unable to be removed. Three beds next to each other with the only way to get into the bed was by the foot of the bed!

After the welcome meeting the next day, with help from the Rep Dan we were then transferred to two bungalow rooms - still basic but slightly larger. Shower was broken, eventually got fixed after a few days. Influx of ants in room 220, had to take a photo before Reception actually believed how many! Cleaning very inconsistent, eventually had our bed sheets changed and floor swept on day 8 after complaining to Dan. Air con worked 7 out of 14 days - not good. Talking to Reception didnt get us very far, if they dont want to talk to you they just ignore you.

Restaurant - be careful of the chairs, when you go to move back the back legs collapse and you end up on the floor! Dangerous to say the least, but still put out the next meal time. Birds mess on the back of chairs - no excuse, this can be cleaned up at prior to each meal!

Food ok, but nothing to write home about. Service ok if you tip, however i tip for good service not to have a table saved for each meal! First sitting plenty of crockery, although you are lucky to get a table due to staff reserving them for guests that dont actually turn up till the second sitting. 2nd sitting a complete nightmare! The staff are not geared up for the influx, the buffet stations are not situated correctly, a queue leads into another queue. Restaurant doors are opened before the tables have been reset, cutlery and crockery set out.

Pool and surrounding area could do with a good clean and safety checks on the grids around the pool would be wise. Pool bar filthy and not well manned. Snack bar, food not good, staff were happy to argue and shout at each other rather than serve!

Beach - the water sports guys were fantastic, polite and couldnt do enough for you. Ask about a package deal if you want to try more than one sport.

Animation Team, Ricco, Coco, Dico, Andreas, Bruno, Mikey, Lucca, Michael the DJ, Marmadue, Waggee, to name a few were fantastic. On the go from morning till night, not in your face, happy and buzzing all the time. They did a fantastic job with the little props and equipment they have. Beach and pool party worked well, and so did the water volley at 11pm at night, my kids loved it. Well done Guys!

On the whole, would we stay here again, not a chance. Would we recommend the hotel, no way!
A lot of improvements are needed, we wouldnt give the hotel a 2 star!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel tries hard to be something special.. but it falls short of some basic requirements. Some areas are lovely such as the reception and lobby bar.... but elsewhere the place needs attention. If you are used to proper 4/5 star hotels then do not go to this hotel. We had quite a good time but the stay was marred by various failings.. the rooms are very basic and our shower did not work properly and you had to hold it away from the wall to get water on you. I asked for it to be repaired and they just dismantled it from the wall and left it laying in the bath! Cleaning was inconsistent. I had to ring reception 3 times to ask for my room to be cleaned and 2 times to have the towels changed. The swimming pool is very nice but the surround is poor. Broken sunbeds were just left to be part of the scenery, and most were very old and used and not very comfortable. The pool bar was also very poor. The selection of drinks did not include any diet drinks and you could not get hold of tonic water - ever! The plastic cups they were served in were worn and frequently damaged, cracked and leaking and really unpleasant to drink from. None of the drinks served anywhere were ever cold enough. Quality of drinks was not good, and I had my most tee total holiday ever - drinking water mostly. Also around the structure of the pool bar there were electrics, plugs and cables hanging everywhere. One or two exposed wires.. not only looked shabby but posed a health and safety concern. The floor tiles always looked grimy, and I never saw anyone clean them. The pool snack bar was another huge disappointment. The food served was of such poor quality, that having eaten there 3 times we avoided it for the rest of the holiday. The main restaurant was clean and there seemed to be plenty of choice, though not always to taste. But they constantly ran out of plates and cups, and in general it was bedlam. The choice of 'a al carte' restaurants was good, and you could go as many times as you liked. The Tunusian was the best, followed by the beach bar lunchtime session.
The beach was a very well managed area. A really helpful head of security always made sure you were found a bed, always said hello and smiled. Lovely. The restaurant manager here was lovely too, and the beach hand was helpful and friendly too. Here too though, there were damaged beds, the padding on them had worn very thin, and really they need replacing too.
The beach bar only served wine/beer or soft drinks which was a bit of a pain, but the main barman was really lovely and helpful.
What really made the holiday for us though was the staff who in general were really lovely and welcoming and made you feel really looked after. Ali in the lobby bar became a friend, polite and distinguished he is a real amabassador for the hotel. Rafik in the pool bar was the only waiter who knew what he was doing here, and again very friendly.
But what really made the holiday for us was the entertainment team headed up by Dico. A lovely lovely group of lads... always full of smiles, exuberance, energy and excellence. Lots of day time activities to do and really made the atmosphere around the pool area amazing. These guys work so so hard to make your hoilday fun and they never stop.... the best entertainment team I have ever shared a holiday with.
You will have fun at this hotle, but the extras that make a holiday comfortable and special are missing. The staff are amazing, but the fixtures, fittings and standards need to improve.

Room Tip: There are a selection of rooms available on a beach location - ask for those. Only take a poolside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

well i was not looking forward to this holiday with all its bad reviews, well here goes , we arrived early hrs of the morning , a famly of 7 two of which our kids , was told to fill in forms and go get a drink and come in half hour , we all said no just needed our rooms all tired , the man behind the desk was very rude , so after just standing our ground we got our wrist bands put on and then told only 2 of our rooms were ready other being cleaned .. with this another couple who arrived at same time as us came storming in wanting there room changed as not cot for there baby and cockcroer fell out there wardrobe but all the man said was sleep in it .. about another half hour or so a man came to get our bags still no key for our room , so we all went to the bungolows 360 . 361.363. when we got there man just coming out of ours , rooms ok not the best seeing it should be 4 star , .. half painted and and dusty ,,
we got up and had a walk round all seems very nice lots of people out cleaning , went to breakfast u could find something but seeing there our only 100 britts there they do cater more for the russains and germans , .. luuch time and evening meal poor fatty bits of meat , cold chips , thou pasta and pizza everyday but after 5 days it gets boring so we had to eat out a few times , the best bar was the pool bar all the guys on day shift and evening shift were great never had a empty glass always happy to see us thou i think the tips helpped with that . the pools our great and the slides , the beach lovely and shallow like a warm bath , the food at the beach bar was the best place to eat in the day the manager really looked after us ... the evening were boring they need to get outside shows in ,a nd the thearter is so not comfy need to do it round the pool bar etc ...
ROOMS ... cleaned everyday well beds made and swept thats it ,,
FOOD... fatty bits of meat . cold , cater for everyone bar the english ,
POOLS... very big cleaned once in two wks , need to buy new beds as all ripped or broken ,
STAFF.. all dinning room and bar staff lovely thou it helps if you tip , staff at the desk rude and need to smile , on site shop lovely friendly but over priced ,
in all this is not a 4 star hotel more like a 3 star , would never go back here or book with thompson again .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to LTI Thalassa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LTI Thalassa Sousse

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — LTI Thalassa Sousse 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an unbeatable situation on a golden sandy beach along the Mediterranean Sea, just a few steps from the vibrant city of Sousse, this luxurious hotel offers the perfect choice for holidaymakers eager to explore something out of the ordinary and spice up their sun holidays with a range of outstanding services. Close to El Kantaoui Marina and just a 30-minute drive from the Monastir International Aiport, the comfortable rooms are spread over 3 floors. Those travellers wishing to enjoy full privacy may prefer the comfortable bungalows overlooking the pools or the beach and providing its own terrace. Guests staying at this establishment may find a wide range of dining options including international cuisine, Tunisian specialities and different bars offering the best place to share moments with the family or friends. The magnificent water park offers the young ones the best place to have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and HotelTravel.com so you can book your LTI Thalassa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Thalassa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Lti Thalassa Hotel Sousse
Sousse Lti Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LTI Thalassa Sousse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.