We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, but clean and friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abou Nawas Nejma

Save Saved
You added Abou Nawas Nejma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity AMOMA.com
and 1 more site!
Abou Nawas Nejma
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 37 hotels in Sousse
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tired, but clean and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you are looking for a luxury holiday, this is not the place for you.

If you are looking for a quiet hotel, close to Sousse Medinah and the beach, and are not looking for thrills, then this might suit. The staff are friendly, you get a fridge and a stove in the room, you get a pool and are spitting distance from the beach. The hotel has a tired appearance, the hall carpets and the bathrooms look worn but they are clean(ish)

Breakfast is not worth bothering about - bread, cake, some sort of reformed meat, harissa, some sort of set yoghurt and that's about it. TV in the room doesn't have any channels tuned, but why go on holiday to watch tv? If you want internet, you have to sit in reception (practically on the check in desk)

I did find a very good restaurant just up the road (L'escargot?) away from the town centre

Room Tip: Ask for a room ovelooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Panker, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

In my experience this is a nice and rather quiet place, clean even though it could use some refurbishment. We had a room with kitchen annex which was very useful as you can buy food in the local variation of market just some 50 meters down the street, or from street vendors. The assortment of kitchen utensils was a bit lacking, but we managed.
The hotel is separated from the beach (rather narrow) with a 3-lane one-way road, and the beach is public.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Abou Nawas Nejma is a little way outside the main tourist centre of Sousse, which meant we walked around for a little while before we found it. When we did however, we were surprised by the high standard of the hotel, as we had paid a very good price for it.
We were shown to our room on the second floor quickly and the room itself was large and pleasant, with a small kitchenette and a sofa/living area, as well as the standard double bed and balcony. The bathroom was also more than adequate, with hot running water in abundance. We also had a sea view - the hotel is right on the beach - which was really nice.
In the evenings we made use of the bar/terrace and also the shisha bar which was relatively inexpensive in comparison to those in Sousse centre, as well as less busy. In the mornings, breakfast was tasty and varied, with a range of hot and cold savoury foods, cereals and pastries. This started very early, which was good as made a lot of visits to sites around the Sousse area early in the day. There were also a variety of lovely hotel cats who were very friendly.
The fact that the hotel was just outside Sousse centre (no more than 10 minutes' walk) meant that we were away from all of the noise and the dirtier areas of what is a highly touristic, tacky place. We got plenty of sleep, but were still close enough to get to town to eat and to the train station for our many excursions.
If I were to stay in Sousse again, I would certainly try to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Good hotel, very happy with the stay.

Breakfast (6.30-10.00) & Food (18.30-x):
Fine selection of baguettes (light, medium light), though not that much to have on them. I recommend to buy something at the supermarket and bring to the buffet. OK selection of salads, cereals (light and dark cornflakes), and some cakes and hot dishes. Juice, coffee, tea, milk. Large dining room.

Location:
Very central. Beach, supermarket, ATM, bank, all 1 min. from the hotel. Medina is not far away (about 10-15 min.). Magasin General (larger supermarket) to the left from the main hotel entrance.

Rooms:
OK room, worn (flaky paint Terrace). Big plus with sea view. A bit amateurish (Leaning sockets, etc.). Bathroom OK, not the best, but keeping the default. Small kitchen with two plates, pans. Cutlery, cups and a large refrigerator. Poorly cleaned. Not shampoo.

Area:
Something worn hotel buildings. Good hotel pool and showers at the pool. Sun beds and a small restaurant by the pool. Otherwise, a lot of cats in the area.

Miscellaneous:
Mini Safes to each room down at the front desk, not in your room.

No minibar in the room (maybe you have if you do not choose small kitchen?)

Much noise, especially when the evening is approaching. Cars crying, loud music, lots of excitement. Much noise from air conditioning (otherwise very good air conditioning).

Not all employees on site know English well, but it is not an additional problem. Friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed here in 2006 with my mum, grandmother and my sister. The hotel was centrally located from beach and medina. The beach is just 5minutes away and we could see it from our room. The room we had was spacious and had a nice veranda. a veranda is a must! We mostly stayed by the pool which was very nice. Breakfast was complementary and good. For such a varied group of travellers this hotel and its location still made all of us satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pruszkow, Poland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed in Abou Nawas Nejma during our honeymoon and enjoyed it very much.

The room was pretty well insulated from the outdoor heat, and the air-conditioning unit wasn't as noisy as many others in different hotels in Tunisia. There was a large bed, a kitchen annex with table, chairs, fridge and stuff (only one saucepan though). Minor leak in the tube, but in general the room was really OK.

There is a three-lane one-way road between the hotel and the beach, so sometimes you have to wait a couple of minutes before being able to get there. The swimming pool is in pretty good shape, and looks only slightly used-up - much less than in some of the hotels in the neighborhood (in general all the rotels in Sousse coud use a little revamp). It's 10 minutes walk to the Medina (Old Town), 10 minutes to the city's only Catholic/Protestant church, and about 9-10 km to Port El Cantaoui - you can also drive there by a mini road train.

The personnel was friendly (maybe the "bellboy" guy too eager to earn his "one dinar" tip), and the food really OK (half-boarding is really enough!). Would go there again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

It was my first visit to Tunisia. I went with two friends that have been there before. It's an apartotel at only 20 yards from the beach but within walking distance to Sousse center and shops.
The room was big, with two beds, sat TV, kichenette, fridge, aircon, nice bathroom, an extra sofa-bed and a beautiful glassed balcony overlooking the pool, gardens, promenade and beach.
Mine was room 118, but 120 and 122 also share these privileged views.
Service was very friendly, the buffet was very basic and timetable for dinner very limited (1800-2100) as at 20:30 there were already cleaning up.
At this time of the year there were only some 30 guests, most of them German and British people over 60's.
The place was clean (although you may find some cockroaches),
the building must be of 1970.
It cost me €115 for a week (breakfast & dinner included), wich I think it's very good value.
I definetly recommend this place.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — You cannot bring anyone who is not registered, even to the bar.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abou Nawas Nejma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abou Nawas Nejma

Also Known As:
Abou Nawas Nejma Sousse
Address: Route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abou Nawas Nejma 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Abou Nawas Nejma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abou Nawas Nejma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.