We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Aqua Park” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Marabout Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Marabout Hotel to your Saves list
Le Marabout Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulvard du 7 Novembre, Sousse, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Aqua Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted to try a hotel with an Aqua Park attached for a day out. Came to this hotel, paid 30TND for the day, which included nothing! Had to also pay separately for sunbeds and the staff were rude and unfriendly. There were only 3 rides open in the morning and then after an hours lunch break (when all the rides were closed) they opened the remaining three rides. We arrived at 10.00 am and by 3.00pm all the rides were working! Such a disappointment for the children who were so excited to spend the day in an Aqua Park. Would definitely NOT recommend it as an attraction for a day out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    107
    75
    39
    33
See reviews for
107
96
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here 6-13 August 2013. We travelled in a group of 6 (3 adults, 3 children) and had booked a family room for 4-6 persons with no balcony and all inclusive.

Negatives we experienced and witnessed:

* Unwelcoming staff, who offered no explanation about where everything was, times we could eat and drink and what all-inclusive REALLY ENTAILED!

*The room they gave us was tiny for 6 people with no balcony and only a sliding DIRTY window which WE CLEANED upon arrival.

* When we complained about the room, the rip-off manager said we must pay 500 Euros to move room, we declined his ridiculous 'offer' and instead asked our hotel based rep. to help us, we got a bigger 2 bedroom room with a balcony for 35 Euros, overlooking the VERY LOUD evening animation area. Luckily we found a way to sleep through the noise.

* The 2nd room we stayed in was clean-ish but the cleaner did not always clean the floor properly and sometimes 'clean sheets' had small marks on them. The biggest problem in the room was the LEAKING AIR CONDITIONING. It was often dripping and once made half of a bed wet. We complained about this, they sent a repair man but it was never fully fixed.

*Before you use the toilets in the poublic hotel toilets check for toilet paper because it was often missing.

* We felt TRICKED by the all-inclusive concept. Usually all inclusive means that unless it is being sold in a mini (super)market inside the hotel it is INCLUDED in the all-inclusive, but at Hotel Marabout most of the nice food and NORMAL drinks must be paid for (like at the (white) beach bar/restaurant, the swimmingpool restaurant, the pancake and ice cream place and at 1 inside bar area.)

* Be warned, the hotel offers very little food & drink options:

BREAKFAST: They serve coffee and hot chocolate, vile 'juices' BUT NO tea, water, real apple or orange juice and a very limited and repetitive brekfast.
LUNCH: You can eat in the busy and uninspiring inside restaurant or get food from the outside take away restaurant (similair food every day) and you can choose between DISGUSTING tasting cola, lemon, orange, apple, strawberry and pineapple 'juice', 'tapped' water and beer, REAL DIET COKE and TONIC.
DINNER: The same as lunch, but be aware of the scheming waiters. Do not sit down at a table where you see bottled water, cola, fanta or sprite because once they open the bottles you will be expected to pay for it.

TIP: If you want to go to this hotel bring extra money to spend in the hotel because you will might need it to change rooms, to tip 'staff' to bring you beach and pool chair mattresses, buy a decent drink and maybe enjoy the non-all inclusive food and snacks.

*If you have children be careful of the cabinet/doors that are situated in most hallways, they seem to open on their own and when you look inside there is a massive hole/drop where children could fall and really hurt themselves.

Overall impression of the hotel:
The beach is nice, the water slides are fun, especially for children but the reception and beach staff are not very friendly or helpful. At the beach they only want to help you if you tip them. The hotel is over crowded, not enough variety in food and drinks. The animation team seems the most friendly and they do their best, but the evening entertainment echoes throughout the hotel if you face the animation and/or pool area.

Room Tip: They have the old, the middle and the new complex, the old complex looks filthy, dated and dark. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiev
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We came to the hotel by chance: on Monday had to decide to fly on Tuesday. The tour was madeby the Ukrainian company Oasis, they were offer different types of rooms, we chose Sea view.
Stood a long time at passport control (Ramadan, probably) came in at about eight pm - we were immediately given wristbands All inclusive and sent to the restaurant.
The food at the hotel is highly commendable; there was no only an omelette for breakfast.
Later the circus began. It should be noted that I basically do not give bribes, although the from reviews I know what to expect from the Russian-speaking tourists. So I was ready for the procrastination.
First proposed room was facing the street (the cheapest category). I left my wife and luggage in the room and went back to the reception with a request to give a Sea view room. I want to mention that the negotiations with the employees I conducted in English.
I was immediately taken to a neighbor room with Pool view .
I went back, than I was shown two rooms on the first floor (not Sea view), and then I was told that there is no Sea view room, will be tomorrow.
Then I said that I'll spend the night here, an employee agreed to it.
I jumped over the counter and sat down in his place. Picked up a bottle of water and made an offer to pour water into computer.
Room was found after that.
Maybe it was just a ceremony of initiation, while I'm not very young (47 years old).
Perhaps the hotel employees will better relate to Russian-speaking tourists.
Room as simple, electricity works only when key label is inserted. Instead of a key label you can use a credit card (you can bring your worthless).
Sea wonderful, though there were small jellyfish, they were visible in the water and can be bypassed.
Water park with six large slides (at the same time there worked only three of them) is in the hotel courtyard. All inclusive tourists enjoy the water park for free - I was probably the oldest one.
During Ramadan, the locals did attended water park, there was no queue. The hotel staff does not follow the slides, tourists should take care of their safety.
I recommend this hotel for those travelers who prefer to relax on the beach and use the hotel only to sleep and eat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floors with Sea views, rooms with Pool View are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel Marabout is definitely a hotel to consider if you're looking for a good-value, child-friendly place to stay in Tunisia. Apart from the obvious attractions of the aqua park, water slides and various beach activities, the Marabout animation team organizes activities for children and adults round the clock - and when they are not engaged in zumba, salsa, water polo, beach volley, water aerobics, children's mini-disco, night time family entertainment and what have you, they hang around the pool area and goof around with the kids. These people are some of the most energetic and hard-working people I've ever met (these guys are at it from 9 in the morning till midnight - seven days a week!) Charming, amiable, great with kids - and they are all fantastic dancers! Definitely one of this hotel's best features - and guaranteed to make your children's holiday a very special one.

The pool area is large and clean and has several life guards on duty from 9 to 5 - most of whom are there to secure safety on the water slides. The beach is wonderful. Clean, turquoise water, powdery sand, beach chairs and parasols available for a small fee and hotel life guards on duty there as well.

In general staff is very friendly and service-minded. Especially when treated with dignity and respect. Make sure to leave a tip from time to time. Not that it is demanded or even expected. Just as a small token of appreciation for the hard work they do.

Reception staff can be a bit stand-offish though and seem to cater mainly to the vast number of Russian guests.

Room are spacious, air-conditioned and clean and all have nice balconies. Some facing the backyard, but all with a view to the Mediterranean Sea. Don't expect accessories like hairdryers, shampoo or mini-bars. Bring your own.

Wifi is a bit wobbly. Do not expect internet access at your convenience. Best chances are by the pool - and early in the morning.

All inclusive food is so-so and appears to be adapted to Russian taste on most days, Mondays excepted. (Monday is Tunisia night food and entertainment wise and the Tunisian dishes are really enjoyable.) However, there is a nice, inexpensive restaurant by the pool where you can vary the menu form time to time. You might also want to try a meal by the Medina where restaurants are plentiful and most are excellent.

Down sides: The many Russian guests take a bit getting used to. They vastly out-number all other nationalities and some of them behave abhorrently. Rude, loud, inconsiderate and pushy at the buffet, bar and water slides. Try to ignore them...

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool tend to be a bit noisy. If you are traveling with small children you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The beach is really nice and the rooms are airconditioned, spacious and very clean. And there was quiet at night in ourwing. But the breakfast is really bad and disappointing - long lines, bad tasting tea, russians without manners, no omelet guy etc - and the dinner is not much better. The salads are good though.
If you havent bought all inclusive - which the people that have advise against - you must pay for sunbeds, drinks etc and there is no place to sit down. The staff e.g the waiters and the nice hairdresser work hard and are generally friendly, except in the reception.
Avoid this hotel if you dont like people from Russia and eastern Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for one week.
We enjoyed our stay here.the room was clean, the staff friendly(mostly), food is definetly catered toward Continental Europe( think pasteries, cereal & strangely enough hot dogs!).the swimming pool & slide area was great. They have volleyball, aqua aerobics, salsa lessons, yoga & much more and all done poolside. They have an "Animation Team" who try get you to join in, they are pushy to a point but know when to back off!!! They have evening entertainment some of which is questionable( Miss Marabout was probably not family entertainment!) but mostly good fun! The spa was an enjoyable experience. They also have a beach with sun loungers & umbrellas.
The only downfalls were sporadic wifi & the smell of smoke everywhere (they still allow indoor smoking in Tunisia) & the smell of horse urine right outside the main hotel doors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the night-time entertainment stage or your in for a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June, fortunately, I booked only one week. I chose ALL INCLUSIVE, but it didn't mean much to most of the staff in this hotel. They tried to charge me everything what is included in ALL INCLUSIVE. Juice in the restaurant, cotton mattress, which is nonsense, on the beach they have plastic and cotton mattress, and boys tried to convince me that there is a difference and that I have to pay. Room maid didn't clean my room 4 days. She lied that I put "don't disturb" ( 4 days ????). Actually she wants to be payed in advance, every day, to clean our rooms. Most of the guests from my group told me that they did it. I informed the reception, that did not pay attention firstly, but, since I was persistent to report these things after 2 days they reacted and talked to the head room maid. Nevertheless, my room wasn't cleaned after. I decided to inform the manager about this.He was polite and promised that I won't have problems with my room any more. And, that ALL INCLUSIVE guests don't pay for this what I was told to pay. But... Everything repeated next day on the beach. The boys there explained that they know better about the thing on the beach, although I told them that I spoke with the manager. When they face facts, and you show the bill that you really payed something what you don't have to pay they start with " oh, I didn't understand you". Of course , there is no need to understand you for these things because you have the sign ALL INCLUSIVE on your arm.
This happened many times every day, and not to mention that it is the same in the city. Every step you make somebody will try to sell you something and to cheat you. But, in the hotel ????
These people are allowed to do that, because they repeat that and they don't care about the manager and the reception.
I traveled with Kon Tiki, Serbia. Their answer was that it is the folklore of Tunisia. Cheating in the hotel, your hotel, every day and everywhere is the folklore of Tunisia???
And don't take taxi. There is a little touristic train which drives every 30 minutes. Nobody will tell you that. Maybe your guide/representative, receptionists "don't know" about that. Our guide didn't even mention that. It is clearly solidarity with taxi drivers which will charge you 2-3 times more for a drive.

Room Tip: Check which room you will get. There are two or three wings in the hotel. One is terrible, the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Marabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marabout Hotel

Address: Boulvard du 7 Novembre, Sousse, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Marabout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Marabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Marabout Sousse
Hotel Le Marabout

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Marabout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.