We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marhaba Salem to your Saves list
Marhaba Salem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP No 120, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Jindrichuv Hradec, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Little bit crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Came back on Saturday 9/8/14 family of three kids and two adults, stayed there for 12 days. Finaly we found only one main problem - Three hotels shared common pools (one big with slides, one smaller, one really small, one inside and one for kids) and beach. It results in fact, that area around main pool and beach can be crowded and you can have problem to find bed or place.
The other problem for us was the location of our rooms - directly in opposite of stage, where was a "funny" and extremely noisy programme till 11 p.m. We were there with 3 years old boy, so it was not so good for him, wanted to sleep....but after first night and after asking in reception we were without any problem moved to other building with oposite room orientation, so it was perfectly solved (we needed two connected rooms, so it was not so easy for hotel staff).
Everything except these points was OK - excellent food (various, good taste,...) with great logistic in dinning room, no serious queues. Bars and drinks - perfect. Great staff - polite, helpfull and optimistic without any needs of "financial stimulation" (but was not refused, of course:)). Beach was cleaned each morning from sea grass using loader, sometimes in noon again. Sea ...typical Tunisia, sometimes not so clean, but finally OK. Rooms - the "noisy" were nice and new, the "silent" not so new, but clean and for this type of holiday completely OK. Each day we had new towels and good cleaning.
Can not to evaluate animations, we are able to make fun, games, etc. inside the family, so we did not use the organized programme.
So, we were satisfied and can recommed the hotel especially for families with kids.

Room Tip: As we mentioned in main text, rooms with windows to smaller squere pool are noisy till 11p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    271
    100
    37
    37
See reviews for
324
214
32
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Loved the holiday was amazing lovely been 4times still great miss kalou , momo and may n Sophie n 2 main dancer amazing the cleaners did wonderful room always brilliant left money abt n jewellery never touched lovely momo amazing guy my daughter was upset last day of holiday COs of leaving he played pool , air hockey ,,,,, as for Sam the crazy man ,, well he asked for money , shouting asking me to get him alcoholic drinks n shouted at my kid wen i told him no but a lovely time amazing holiday brilliant food waited on left right and centre

Room Tip: Don't go in 201-210 or 235-245 noisy till 1ish but nit so but
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Hotel was clean and our room was a lovely size with a reasonable view. The facilities and activities were good with plenty of variety. The hotel was well situated with a short cab journey into the heart of Sousse or in the opposite direction to Port El Kantoui. However there is very little within walking distance. The beach has lots of activities on it too.The staff were amazing so helpful and friendly, interesting to chat to and genuinely seemed to care about the service they were giving. Big thank you to Zairi in the bar, Yousef at the pool and Sam on the animation team for helping to make our holiday such fun.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the main hotel, there is an annex building behind the pool where the anima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a really good holiday at this hotel. Staff friendly n helpfull. Cleaners kept our room nice n clean all week. Food was ok. Ive booked again for september so it cant of been bad. Hope its as good for my next holiday. Happy tourist

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our 1st visit to Tunisia and we will definately return next year. Brilliant service from the staff especially the bar and restaurant staff. Cleaners kept our rooms spotless and left flowers on beds, the gardener was also a friendly chap proudly showing me his tortoises! Animation team worked extremely hard, special mention must go to Sam who chatted to us regularly and was so friendly. Huge choice of food, fresh pancakes and omelettes were great at breakfast. Always great to try local cuisine, baffles me when I see people piling their plates with chips!!!! Pools, gardens and beach lovely and all well maintained. Please do not be put off by some of the poor reviews, sometimes you only have to look at ones grammar to distinguish the mentality of the writer.

Room Tip: We had 2 ground floor rooms 139/140 which we found spacious and clean and enjoyed sitting out on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Was a great holiday overall beach attached. Staff were always cheerful and chatty. Wouldn't advise anyone who was a fussy eater to go. Bar staff were brilliant great at there job willing to make you adventurous drinks. Zairi was particularly lovely and friendly

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was abit apprehensive at first about everything. The holiday was booked on cheap a last minute, the staff were great and very helpful, especially the animation staff mainly Cali he was always friendly. they were always lots of fun and made our holiday amazing will not forget this booked again for September.
In addition some of the bad reviews the hotel has been given i think people need to consider what they have paid for the holiday. I thought the price great for the service we got, when we arrived there was ants in our room but once reported the problem was solved by the time we returned later that day. Other than that there was no problems in my mind with this hotel and would definitely recommend to others who want a decent holiday on a budget.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Address: BP No 120, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.