We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to go back to” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Salem

Save Saved
You added Marhaba Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marhaba Salem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP No 120, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Sousse
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A place to go back to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

It was the best holiday I went on and I'd go back in a heartbeat, the entertainment could be better but the animation team were so welcoming and lovely, Sagon, Nino, Bibo, Sam, Fifi, Sophie, Mido and Kimo were extremely amazing and it was so hard to leave them. The room we had at first had no bath so we moved to one with a bath which made the holiday seem better. The food was nice but could of been hotter as when we sat down to eat its was warm. But overall it was brilliant, thank you to Sagon and team for making my holiday truly amazing, I will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    219
    93
    33
    35
See reviews for
275
189
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at the Marhaba Salem over Christmas and had a lovely time. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The animation team was wonderful and the Christmas show was excellent, special mentions for Nino, Fifi, Sophie and Mido. The rooms though basic were clean and functional and the food though limited always had something I liked. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I spent xmas and new year at the Marhaba Salem hotel, and had a wonderful time here. The entire staff were very polite and friendly at all times and the highlight of the holiday would have to be the animation team who worked very hard to please everyone. I would not normally pick out a single one, however, MIDO" the bingo pest" (in a very friendly way) would always greet you every day with a smile and lots of banter. The rooms were very comfy and warm and kept very clean every day. The food, although very similar on a daily basis, was very enjoyable and in our case a very rare occasion to be eating three meals a day. I understand that there will always be moaners about food, but I do wish they would stop to think about the enormous task the kitchen staff face on a daily basis in order to please everyone. (would they want to do it). We both loved it so much we are looking forward to booking it for Xmas this year

Room Tip: If you plan on going at Xmas time, please take some warm clothing for the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

just come back from the best christmas and new year holiday with four of my freinds it was out of this world i just wanna name the animation team they were fantastic they made our holiday..the shows were absolutly fabulous every night especially the xmas evening with all the team(bibo,mido,sam,nino,sagon,fifi,sophie, led by ALEX) i just want to tell evrybody that the hotel deserves an excellent review and the hotel,s credit the is the animation team..
just book now and go to enjoy your holiday and you wont be disapointed..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we booked this as a package with thompsons and was worried as we heard contradicting reports that Tunisia is not a nice place to go. Infact the people were exceptionally friendly the majority of the time and the way they treated our grandchildren was outstanding. We stayed in the marhaba salem. It catered for your every holiday need. The rooms were cleaned daily and comfortable, the food was lovely and I had to try a bit of everything. There was lots of choice and healthy choices too.
The entertainment was providing by a animation team who were professional and friendly and what surprised me was that they remember our grandchildrens names the next day after only one introduction. The hotel had lots of facilities, the spa and gym so if you want to have a healthy holiday, you could. The drinks in the bar were local but they used "genuine" tonic, ie swhepps and coke as mixers. The hot chocolate was lush!
The beach was lovely and clean and the pools were lovely and clean also. The gardens were very tidy and the area was generally very pleasing to the eye.
All the staff in the hotel were outstanding and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. The waiter had the same table ready for our family each meal time and he would fetch us drinks from the bar.
Even when sitting in the bar/lounge, the waiters would keep the tables clean and fetch your drinks and always with a smile or a laugh and joke.
We were there to see the new year in and there was a gala meal and the waiters served us a 6 course meal. The entertainment was set up in the dining room. It was a lovely night with all the party trimmings.

We had a wonderful holiday, I would definately go back and what did it for me was the hotel and the staff. The area itself is a bit rough although, port kantoui was lovely and we did go into souse and do a bit of bartering in the medina. This was also not as bad as we had expected.
If i had to find one critisism, it was that the hotel allowed people to smoke and I did not find a area that was smoke free other than the dining room. This affected us a bit as we are obviously no longer used to this in England.

Room Tip: we had a family adjoining room, it was very useful and we did hire a fridge for one week at approx 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The room was average the bed was very lumpy,cleanliness in the rooms was excellent,however the corridors are dirty.Staff are very polite and always willing too help,the food left something to be desired,very limited choice and we were joined by the hotel cats,although the waiters did remove them.The outside of the hotel was fairly clean but in need of some work doing.The real problem being the walls were paper thin in the rooms in fact you could hear the people next door and above useing the toilet,and talking this did some what spoil sleep.The Evening entertainment was second to none,the animation team worked from early morning to late night to make us feel special.One thing tha may be helpful there is a lift in the building,when we booked we were told the was not one.However for a budget hotel quite acceptable.Four star it is not a few more improvements are needed.

Room Tip: i would try to get a room on the top floor,thus not having trees blocking sunlight and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at this hotel, and would like to thank all the staff there for going the extra mile to make our holiday a comfortable, happy one. Najeh, our maid was always happy and kept our room spotless. The animation team were excellent and although evening entertainment doesn't interest us they were still very attentive, special mention for Sophie, Fifi and Miko. The reception team were friendly and helpful. The food was really good. It would be hard to find fault with this hotel. TV reception not good but we could live without it.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking the pool which was ideal for us in December but might be too n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Address: BP No 120, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#4 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;