We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Marhaba Salem to your Saves list
Marhaba Salem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP No 120, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday here and really enjoyed it, the food was very good with plenty of choice although the soup would be luke warm. The hotel was very clean and all the staff very friendly, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them, there were only about 120 guestes staying while i was there so there was never any trouble getting a sunbed although i would imagine that would be a problem if it were full. There were a couple of downsides one was the outdoor pools were freezing so not a lot of swimming was done, the other was the male entertainment team seemed to spend more time trying to chat up the girls rather than arrange daily entertainment for the other guests, sometimes they could be realy annoying and wouldn't take no for an answer. Other than that i would be quite happy to return to this hotel again although i wouldn't pick peak season.

Room Tip: If you go on the Zulu experience i would avoid the "swim with the dolphins" it is not actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    249
    95
    36
    34
See reviews for
299
200
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic job the animation team do ... Especially Mido, he's always smiling and happy, he's the best entertainer!! Mido is also good entertainer for contact. Ziko is also a very good boss and the shows the team put on are always well presented.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 8 days with my boyfriend. all staff were helpful & professional, with the exception of the animation team who struggled to smile most of the time. we didn't watch the shows but the inside area was poor making it difficult for people to see what was going on.

food was good, always gets bit samey on all inclusive but good quality. only grumble was breakfast in main restaurant finishing at 930 which we felt was too early as we like a hot breakfast and didn't just want croissants in the snack bar. no poorly tummies and plenty of choice.

no queue at bar and table service good. alcoholic drinks weak as usual in Tunisian AI hotels so take duty free with you! night club was nice and bottle of beer cost us 5tnd.

rooms were small and bit cramped but clean. our maid was fantastic. tv didn't work. bit disappointed we had to hire a fridge, but it was effective!

best thing for us was use of spa at sister hotel, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym. tip-ask reception to turn jacuzzi on or it will stay off. this proves great facility for winter months.

overall great value for money, kept being told by guests wifi was broken but not sure if you had To pay for it. any questions please ask.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks from the 4th of nov 2012. This time of year was brilliant, No problem ever getting a sunbed but if your a sun worshipper like me then get out early because the sun goes behind the hotel and the pool area is shaded by 4 o clock. The food really is gorgeous and so much to choose from. Everyone in the hotel is really friendly and always smiling they really do go the extra mile. The animation team work very hard and have to sell you bingo tickets and tombola tickets i did find they spent more time talking to you before you bought the tickets and once you'd got them they moved on.The prizes are not worth winning You pay 10 dinars for a sheet and you win a bannana boat ride which is only 7 dinars and the tombola prize is a henna tattoo which is only to the value of 20 dinars you have to put the rest to yourself.. We loved sunbathing on the beach and the sellers on there were not a problem we spent a lot of money with them but that was our choice they too were very friendly.. I would definately return to this hotel it was really good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My first praise must go to the Director of this Hotel. We had big problems with rooms in the Royal Salem and Marhaba Hotel - but the Director of this hotel let us swap to his hotel - he showed compassion and very good management skills. So just know that if you approach situations diplomatically - people will move mountains to accommodate you !!!

Besides that - top of the review would be the cleanliness of this hotel - the sweet lemon smell on the ground floor is divine !! Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied.

The food is out of this world - such a selection of hot dishes and then the salad bar is full of beautiful salad !! The hot dishes are almost al a carte, was always going up for more !!! The deserts were heavenly.

The staff in the hotel are fabulous - anything we had to ask for was 'No Problem' !! Not that I had any problems once I had finally settled into this hotel. They could not do enough for us.

The entertainment one evening was a fabulous singer but he finished at 9.30 because guests had complained that it was too noisy !!! I was flabbergasted !! Had to hold my tougue.

There is a lovely little gift shop on site. The gardens are amazing !! The pools very clean !! Facilities amazing - massage, hairdressers, indoor pool. Because you are on a complex you are allowed to use the facilities of the other two hotels.

So big love goes out to all the staff at the Hotel Marhaba Salem - and I will see you in April xxxx

Room Tip: Be Nice !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Paid a very low price to visit this part of the world and it was completly worth it, food was great staff was great and the sights are amazing. Definately worth a trip! Went with family, aged between 3 and 45.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Marhaba Salem. This is a hotel working hard to provded excellent service. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bright. Pool and area are good. The Animators are friendly and at times madcap. They work so hard. Food was varied and good quality. There are some long corridors that could do with prints on he walls. One difficulty is that smoking is prevalent throught the lounge and bar areas and there needs to be a specific smoking area. Not a problem outdoors. Would I return? Yes. We did all inclusive and feel we got excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Address: BP No 120, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.