We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely long weekend break in Cesar's Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cesar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cesar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bvd 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Hammam Sousse, Tunisia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely long weekend break in Cesar's Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent 2 nights in this hotel meeting up with friends staying there for one week. The accommodation is first class. Rooms spacious, very comfortable and extremely well fitted and furnished with the best quality items I've seen here. I asked for tea/coffee making facilities and was given them ( they are available on request because previous guests stole them!!) Staff were really helpful and courteous and overall it was kept really clean. The food was varied and plentiful and I had breakfast and dinner there in the Zanzibar restaurant. Great hotel, centrally located at a reasonable price. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the Casino side on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    3
    7
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sousse, Tunisia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I'm at the hotel, bored in bed writing a rewiev. Ok positive first. Furniture, rooms and bathroom are very nice. The cleaning lady is not very active.. She just sweeps around. The whole area has a bad air and water. The water is full of chlorine - which gives a disgusting feeling and smell (not the fault of the hotel) But the fault of the hotel is to serve tea and coffee made of this disgusting tap water. Sounds ridiculously but I highly recommend to take a water boiling electric jar to make your own tea and instant coffee or just drink water from bottles bought outside. The staff doesn't speak German and their English is very poor. They try to be nice, all the time try to help you carry your luggage and stuff - only with one goal - begging for tips all the time. All of them just keep begging everywhere outside also. I learned to ask "what you want" once some tunnesian comes to me right away. Room card doesn't work every day so I walk from the not opening door to the reception, breakfast is all tasteless. No fruits just bread and tasteless wannabe mozzarella every day. The biggest problem is a disco or bar which is directly under the hotel. I'm not someone who goes to bed at 9.. But it's so loud the whole hotel is shaking till 4 am EVERY DAY. now I lie in bed watching Arabic tv - forgot to mention - no single English channel and hope that the unable wannabe Beyonce from the reception who doesn't understand English or german manages to order our already paid airport transport for tomorrow..
Wish everybody coming here good luck and lot of patience.. Cheers
Jenny

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is modern, well kept, the rooms are very large and comfortable. I was really impressed with the professionalism of one of the receptonists, a young gentleman whose name I think is Ahmed (forgive my spelling if it's wrong), not just because his English was excellent (which is a rarity in Tunisia!) but he was really helpful and knowledgeable, again something not to be taken for granted, in Tunisia.. I found the rest of the staff polite and pleasant too, even if they didn't overdo. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel (3 nights), the room is newly furnished and a more than decent size. You can rent a safety box (in the bedroom) for 3 TND per day (just above a pound). The only bad part of my stay was the food in the restaurant ... I had dinner included and I only went once but really it was bad!!!! I am not going to say much more about it, but to give you a clue, I wasn't feeling very well the next day, and I had to visit the toilet quite often for all the wrong reasons - I have eaten everywhere in Tunisia, even in streetside eateries where they only speak Arabic and it's always been good or at least I was not sick afterwards. The rest ... the hotel mainly caters for Arab families, there were lots of (I believe) Lybians and other Arabs, so I felt a little out of place being the only person whose first language wasn't Arabic, but OK I can speak fluent French (or sort of), so I got by easily. I would stay again, definitely, but eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in Cesar for a night only but that was enough to see how poorly this hotel is managed. It all began with the registration at the reception desk: Two hotel employees that seemed to be more of an obstacle to each other than help. It took them ages to find out which room we should get and give us the key cards although we had booked well in advance. The said key cards did not work so we had to go back and forth several times between the room and the reception. The staff did not seem to know what they were doing and they were not very friendly. Once in the room, we found out that there is no WiFi in the room, the street side room was very noisy (the back side was not better as there was a wedding going on in the house next door), the bed was so hard it resembled more a wooden plank than a mattress. The TV is so far away from the bed that you can hardly use it. We asked a tour operator who lives and works in Sousse later and he told us that you should not pay more than 60 TND for this kind of standard. All in all I strongly advise anybody to avoid this hotel unless you cant find anything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monastir, Tunisia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel,real 4 star.Rooms are very nice and clean. Staff is polite and great. Very nice restaurant on top of hotel with beautiful view. Only complain that I have is noise from ventilation and very hard mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

disaster holiday amir palace double booked so we were sent here wonderful staff could not do enough for us meals where excellant and varied you could also request different foods staff very attentive and helpful spacious and well decorated rooms rooms cleaned daily to a high standard thank you you saved our holiday

Room Tip: all rooms same high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cesar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Hotel

Address: Bvd 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesar Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cesar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.