We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor hotel in many aspects” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd 7 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor hotel in many aspects”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Although booked a package through a holiday company did not see or have any contact from the rep for the company, so attempted to gain assistance from the hotel reception staff in regard to local information. However, the male hotel receptionists were extremely rude - treated you with comtempt and made you feel that you were a huge inconvenience to be asking such basic requests such as where the breakfast room was etc....Found that got a much more pleasant and helpfull response for local info from staff in nearby shops / restuarants than hotel staff - who also asked "why are you staying at Royal Beach? It's terrible!"
Food items were stolen from the room by the cleaning staff and level of cleanliness in room generally poor.
Would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
hi, thank you for your review. i am the new manager of the hotel royal beach. we are trying to improve our services and the quality of our hotel all the time so to be able to provide the best holidays for our clients and to make them feel like at home. we would be happy to see you back at our hotel, you are very welcome anytime. best regards. michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    31
    34
    42
See reviews for
35
68
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyborg, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Beach for 10 days in November and had wonderful holiday in a lovely hotel, where I can always stay again. The location is perfect, right down to a fine sandy beach and the beautiful Mediterranean. The hotel is not new, but quite charming and the rooms are cleaned daily by a friendly cleaners. On the whole, I met only welcoming and friendly staff at the hotel who did what they could to please your stay ... I was always greeted by smiles and particularly in the restaurant you can be sure that the waiter Adel provide his best service and on his unique and interested way asking how you feel and how your day has gone ... always a pleasure to be served by him.
All in all, I have only good experiences with the hotel - and at a very reasonable price - wish I should go again tomorrow ....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
hi, thank you for your review. i am the new manager of the hotel royal beach. we are trying to improve our services and the quality of our hotel all the time so to be able to provide the best holidays for our clients and to make them feel like at home. we would be happy to see you back at our hotel, you are very welcome anytime. best regards. michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

i like this hotel and i would come back cuz its very good value for money,beautiful sea view from the window and very relaxing and friendly.the food was fantastic,never got food poisoning despite huge gigantic size cockroaches walking on the food on the buffet,in front of my own eyes and the cook and a waiter chasing them away,a huge cockroach was also in the bathroom but im not afraid of them,many people saw them and are still coming back to this hotel because other aspects of this hotel are very good,i dont even mind the maid who was cleaning my windows with oil(making them more greasy every week),i still could see the beatiful sea view

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

To anyone who is being put off by the terrible reviews on this site, think again!
I stayed at the royal beach from 9th-16th august with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed it. I think when people see that its a 3 star, they expect luxury. but no, its not but instead it is a perfectly nice clean hotel. we had a room with a view of the pool and the beach, which was lovely.

All of the staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful, and I was especially impressed to find that the bartender spoke a range of different languages besides french and arabic, so anyone would feel at home.

as for the "stealing maids" we had absolutely no problems, they purely did their job (cleaning) and they did a very good job of it too!

Didn't ever try the food as it didn't look great, but there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, in the medina or port el kantaoui.

Private beach was beautiful & clean, sun bed man was really friendly.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel for a budget holiday for young people!

Room Tip: as for a sea view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I went to this hotel twice and would have gone back a third time except there was building going on next door. It was right on the beach and was so homely and felt safe there. i travelled there the first time with my 3 daughters and felt so safe even though we were 4 females in a Muslim country, it had the best mix of culture and package holiday with sun and sea It was also great value.I really must go back again.

Room Tip: roooms to the front are definitely best looking straight out into the Mediterranean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hotel not up to much, it is just ok! food disgusting disgusting disgusting i got food poisoning on our third day there, need i say more! I got clothes even pants stollen, they must have been desperate to steal underwear, just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M/c
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed here a while back but wasnt on trip advisor then. All in all a dump with dangerous balconies and cots, terrible food, thieving maids who even sh** in our toilet and left foot prints on the toilet seat. We were a party of three, two adults and our baby son but we grouped with everyone else who arrived on the same transfer. Thanks to one persistent older lady we all got moved in a group to golf residence in Port El Kantaoui. What a total contrast. Had the move never have taken place we wouldn't have returned to Tunisia. Last year we went to the El Mouradi port hotel but that was dated and I got sick for six days plus we were robbed of Crocs and things. This has never happened at the golf res' and we have been there six times. Booked in for this year too. Only went to the El Mouradi because the Golf res' was fully booked. Royal beach was a total let down and would have put us off Tunisia for good. Its not even in a nice or handy spot. Try the golf if you liked the royal beach and you wont be disappointed. I'm not on about five star luxury of course but for a cheap break you get your moneys worth at the Golf in my opinion and definately dont at the Royal beach. pajoby

Room Tip: Go to the golf res' instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Blvd 7 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Beach
Royal Beach Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.