We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i was there twice and would come back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd 14 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Bantry, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“i was there twice and would come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

i like this hotel and i would come back cuz its very good value for money,beautiful sea view from the window and very relaxing and friendly.the food was fantastic,never got food poisoning despite huge gigantic size cockroaches walking on the food on the buffet,in front of my own eyes and the cook and a waiter chasing them away,a huge cockroach was also in the bathroom but im not afraid of them,many people saw them and are still coming back to this hotel because other aspects of this hotel are very good,i dont even mind the maid who was cleaning my windows with oil(making them more greasy every week),i still could see the beatiful sea view

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    37
    32
    50
See reviews for
39
78
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

To anyone who is being put off by the terrible reviews on this site, think again!
I stayed at the royal beach from 9th-16th august with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed it. I think when people see that its a 3 star, they expect luxury. but no, its not but instead it is a perfectly nice clean hotel. we had a room with a view of the pool and the beach, which was lovely.

All of the staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful, and I was especially impressed to find that the bartender spoke a range of different languages besides french and arabic, so anyone would feel at home.

as for the "stealing maids" we had absolutely no problems, they purely did their job (cleaning) and they did a very good job of it too!

Didn't ever try the food as it didn't look great, but there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, in the medina or port el kantaoui.

Private beach was beautiful & clean, sun bed man was really friendly.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel for a budget holiday for young people!

Room Tip: as for a sea view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I went to this hotel twice and would have gone back a third time except there was building going on next door. It was right on the beach and was so homely and felt safe there. i travelled there the first time with my 3 daughters and felt so safe even though we were 4 females in a Muslim country, it had the best mix of culture and package holiday with sun and sea It was also great value.I really must go back again.

Room Tip: roooms to the front are definitely best looking straight out into the Mediterranean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hotel not up to much, it is just ok! food disgusting disgusting disgusting i got food poisoning on our third day there, need i say more! I got clothes even pants stollen, they must have been desperate to steal underwear, just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M/c
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed here a while back but wasnt on trip advisor then. All in all a dump with dangerous balconies and cots, terrible food, thieving maids who even sh** in our toilet and left foot prints on the toilet seat. We were a party of three, two adults and our baby son but we grouped with everyone else who arrived on the same transfer. Thanks to one persistent older lady we all got moved in a group to golf residence in Port El Kantaoui. What a total contrast. Had the move never have taken place we wouldn't have returned to Tunisia. Last year we went to the El Mouradi port hotel but that was dated and I got sick for six days plus we were robbed of Crocs and things. This has never happened at the golf res' and we have been there six times. Booked in for this year too. Only went to the El Mouradi because the Golf res' was fully booked. Royal beach was a total let down and would have put us off Tunisia for good. Its not even in a nice or handy spot. Try the golf if you liked the royal beach and you wont be disappointed. I'm not on about five star luxury of course but for a cheap break you get your moneys worth at the Golf in my opinion and definately dont at the Royal beach. pajoby

Room Tip: Go to the golf res' instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have stayed here 2 times in total.

its clean and basic! food is lovely but the resturant is abit small and cramped.
We have always stayed in decembers so havent used the pool/bath tub..

The resturant in the bar offers a British menu which was lovely!!

i think we paid 50 pound to upgrade to half board from bed and breakfast.

entertainemnt was nothing but you can expect that from a hotel of its size. the rep was friendly and done everything to our standards good.

The second stay last year well the balcony was as big as my house at home lol! we had a front balcony and a side balcony. room was fine door didnt open properly though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

we have stayed here 5 times i have written a review but ccant find it . it may not be the best hotel but its the one were they know and remember you the second and third time you got driinks brrought to you and so on. we have stayed in hamment and i must say the men there are so rude and nasty were here they have known of it we have also stayed in the tej . we would love to come and visit you next year lauren

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Blvd 14 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Beach Official category: 3,5 stars The ,,Royal Beach" is a fully airconditioned and well-maintained hotel under international management and with great tradition in Sousse, perfectly located on a white sandy private beach, one of the most beautiful beach sections in the whole area. The hotel is a ,,16+" - hotel (minimum age of the hotel guests is 16 years). 1 Km to the centre of Sousse (unesco world cultural heritage), 4 km to the marina of port el kantaoui, 17 km to the airport Monastir, 45 km to the airport Enfidha,160 km to the capital Tunis. Beautiful and private large white sandy beach in front of the hotel, a lot of restaurants and shops in walking distance. 4 Km to the golf course of port el kantaoui (reduced green-fees for hotel guests and transport service on demand). Hotel facilities & restaurants: Comfortable lobby with sitting-areas, 24 hour-reception (safes to rent), concierge-service & guest relation, currency-exchange, excursion service and car rental. Accepted credit cards: visa, mastercard, american express. Elevator. Mini-market, laundry and jewelery store, dvds and cds for rent. Wifi-internet (complimentary). Main-restaurant ,,Le Royal" (non-smoking) with wonderful panoramic view, italian a-la-carte restaurant ,,Le Medaillon" with panorama-terrace, french gourmet restaurant ,,Le Vintage", snack-restaurant ,,Mario's", pizzeria-barbecue at the pool, beach-club-restaurant ,,Las Vegas" at the beach, english pub ,,Babylone" with live-music, professional Karaoke and football and- sports-coverage on big screen, ,,JET-bar" (open 24 hours), moorish coffee with shisha pipes. Leisure, sports and entertainment: swimming pool with sunbathing terrace and beverage service at the pool, indoor pool (heated in winter), beach-club (complimentary sunbeds, matrasses and parasols at the pool and at the beach), towels for hire. Wellness-facilities including beauty-salon, hairdresser, massage, health-treatments, ,,fish massage" at the beach and hammam (additional charge). Tennis (complimentary, tennis-lessons, equipment and flood-light for additional charge), table tennis, bowls, darts, aerobics, gymnastics, yoga, aquagym, water-polo, beach-soccer, beach-volleyball, billard-table. Watersports-station at the beach, motorbike and- quadrental, horse-riding (local offers). Discrete daytime entertainment & international evening-entertainment-programs with live-music, tunisian folklore, belly-dancing and karaoke. Leisure park and zoo (local offers). Ladies-special: cooking-courses in tunisian cuisine and basic courses in arabic language. Golfer's special: reduced green-fees at the golf courses of port el kantaoui and monastir and organized transport to the golf-courses (on demand). The Rooms: 127 rooms in an architectoral interesting 4 storey-building, all rooms have been recently renovated and refreshed. Doubleroom Standard (1-3 persons): Decorated in traditional arabic style, bathroom with bathtub and toilet, indivdual aircondition/heating, minibar, lcd-sat-tv, dvd-player, telephone, WIFI-internet (complimentary) Doubleroom Superior: Additional bathrobe, hairdryer, lateral or direct seaview Doubleroom Royal Class: Like the superior rooms, but with inroom-safe (complimentary), a balcony with direct seaview and VIP-treatment Royal Executive-Suites: Decorated in traditional arabic style, bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer and bathrobe, separate toilet, comfortable living room with sat-tv and individual aircondition, telephone, in-room-safe (complimentary) sleeping room with lcd-sat-tv, dvd-player, minibar, WIFI-internet (complimentary), VIP-treatment Single rooms are double rooms for single use. Halfboard plus (including dine-around-concept): Breakfast buffet with fresh egg dishes, donuts and fresh fruit and vegetable juices, late-riser-breakfast till 12.00, ,,Champaign-brunch" every sunday. Crepes and ice-cream every day between 15.30 - 16.30 Around the pool (complimentary). Dine-around-concept: dinner in the hotel's main restaurant (buffet for starters, main-course selection (including vegetarian option) and dessert-selection, table-service), dining options at the italian a-la-carte restaurant, at the french gourmet restaurant, at the pizzeria-barbecue, at the english pub and at the beach-club-restaurant (weekly and complimentary, reservation) The hotel is known for its excellent cuisine and the wide range of choices. ,,ROYAL BEACH 9" - bonus especially for YOUR clients: welcome-drink and a refreshing towel on arrival early check-in, late check-out (if available) complimentary upgrade to a higher room-category (if available) 24 hours - roomservice weekly excursion to the historic centre of sousse (unesco world cultural heritage) complimentary hammam (weekly) water and a basket of fruits at the room on arrival weekly ,,jet2cocktail-party" in the hotel garden weekly ,,jet2beach-party" with djs at the beach-club-restaurant The hotel Royal Beach is one of the leading hotels in tunisia and offers everything, that you need for memorable holidays: central but also calm location with a marvellous beach, superior equipment and facilities, excellent cuisine, various options for sports and entertainment and a competent and friendly staff under european management. With its ,,over 16" concept and many other options like ,,dining-around", the ,,royal beach 9" bonuses and the international entertainment programs the hotel Royal Beach is especially the perfect place for couples and for people, that look for classy holidays for a well-affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Beach
Royal Beach Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.