We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i was there twice and would come back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Beach Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotelsclick.com
Royal Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd 7 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 37 hotels in Sousse
Bantry, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“i was there twice and would come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

i like this hotel and i would come back cuz its very good value for money,beautiful sea view from the window and very relaxing and friendly.the food was fantastic,never got food poisoning despite huge gigantic size cockroaches walking on the food on the buffet,in front of my own eyes and the cook and a waiter chasing them away,a huge cockroach was also in the bathroom but im not afraid of them,many people saw them and are still coming back to this hotel because other aspects of this hotel are very good,i dont even mind the maid who was cleaning my windows with oil(making them more greasy every week),i still could see the beatiful sea view

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    60
    29
    34
    42
See reviews for
34
67
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

To anyone who is being put off by the terrible reviews on this site, think again!
I stayed at the royal beach from 9th-16th august with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed it. I think when people see that its a 3 star, they expect luxury. but no, its not but instead it is a perfectly nice clean hotel. we had a room with a view of the pool and the beach, which was lovely.

All of the staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful, and I was especially impressed to find that the bartender spoke a range of different languages besides french and arabic, so anyone would feel at home.

as for the "stealing maids" we had absolutely no problems, they purely did their job (cleaning) and they did a very good job of it too!

Didn't ever try the food as it didn't look great, but there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, in the medina or port el kantaoui.

Private beach was beautiful & clean, sun bed man was really friendly.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel for a budget holiday for young people!

Room Tip: as for a sea view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I went to this hotel twice and would have gone back a third time except there was building going on next door. It was right on the beach and was so homely and felt safe there. i travelled there the first time with my 3 daughters and felt so safe even though we were 4 females in a Muslim country, it had the best mix of culture and package holiday with sun and sea It was also great value.I really must go back again.

Room Tip: roooms to the front are definitely best looking straight out into the Mediterranean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hotel not up to much, it is just ok! food disgusting disgusting disgusting i got food poisoning on our third day there, need i say more! I got clothes even pants stollen, they must have been desperate to steal underwear, just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M/c
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed here a while back but wasnt on trip advisor then. All in all a dump with dangerous balconies and cots, terrible food, thieving maids who even sh** in our toilet and left foot prints on the toilet seat. We were a party of three, two adults and our baby son but we grouped with everyone else who arrived on the same transfer. Thanks to one persistent older lady we all got moved in a group to golf residence in Port El Kantaoui. What a total contrast. Had the move never have taken place we wouldn't have returned to Tunisia. Last year we went to the El Mouradi port hotel but that was dated and I got sick for six days plus we were robbed of Crocs and things. This has never happened at the golf res' and we have been there six times. Booked in for this year too. Only went to the El Mouradi because the Golf res' was fully booked. Royal beach was a total let down and would have put us off Tunisia for good. Its not even in a nice or handy spot. Try the golf if you liked the royal beach and you wont be disappointed. I'm not on about five star luxury of course but for a cheap break you get your moneys worth at the Golf in my opinion and definately dont at the Royal beach. pajoby

Room Tip: Go to the golf res' instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have stayed here 2 times in total.

its clean and basic! food is lovely but the resturant is abit small and cramped.
We have always stayed in decembers so havent used the pool/bath tub..

The resturant in the bar offers a British menu which was lovely!!

i think we paid 50 pound to upgrade to half board from bed and breakfast.

entertainemnt was nothing but you can expect that from a hotel of its size. the rep was friendly and done everything to our standards good.

The second stay last year well the balcony was as big as my house at home lol! we had a front balcony and a side balcony. room was fine door didnt open properly though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

we have stayed here 5 times i have written a review but ccant find it . it may not be the best hotel but its the one were they know and remember you the second and third time you got driinks brrought to you and so on. we have stayed in hamment and i must say the men there are so rude and nasty were here they have known of it we have also stayed in the tej . we would love to come and visit you next year lauren

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Beach
Royal Beach Sousse
Address: Blvd 7 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Beach Hotel to your Saves list