We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tej Marhaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tej Marhaba Hotel to your Saves list
Tej Marhaba Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4001, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just here right now, we took all inc 1 week trip. Enjoying ourselves and recommend it for anyone. Weather is nice, guests and stuff friendly. Hotel rooms are a bit of outtimed but how much time will you spend there anyway!? Really like the indoor pool with really warm (26C*) water. Overall i would come back if i have chance.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
First of all congratulations on your wedding and so happy to hear that you are having a good honeymoon with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we hope you continue to enjoy yourselves and we sincerely hope that you do get the chance to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    485
    311
    191
    187
See reviews for
265
635
102
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have just returned from another relaxing 2 weeks at the Tej Marhaba hotel, the staff as usual were great.
They are upgrading the facilities and the public areas toilets etc., have been improved.
Slight changes to the bar areas and the main bar now appears to be the Piano Bar. I think it was better as it was, especially for the people who do not go 'All inclusive'.

The entertainment staff worked their socks off with a full daily programme and an evening programme that starts with a mini dance / disco for the children.
However I still feel there could be some improvement to the rest of the evening entertainment, there is only so much the entertainment staff can do with an obviously small budget.
The food as ever was very good, however the meals at the ' English pub' the Rose & Crown were again very poor, and the décor is now looking dark & dingy.

The other bars were very bright and the pool side restaurant served very good food at a reasonable price. I did have 1 complaint most of the seats were covered in bird excrement, surely they could be cleaned on a daily basis by using a little water and a small brush.

Room Tip: Facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
So pleased to hear that you had a relaxing holiday with us. Your comments have all been noted and will be dealt with to the best of our abilities. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would like to comment on the review posted by Police Officer Ian Carr. I was a guest in the Tej Marhaba during the same period and what this person forgot to mention was, that he was served fillet steak every night in the restaurant during his stay. The staff bend over backwards to satisfy their guests and do not deserve to be stabbed in the back afterwards. Give credit where it is due please.
There is a wide variety of food to choose from on the buffet and it is all exellent considering how much we pay for our holidays.
I really enjoyed my holiday. Sousse is calm and I was able to go out on my own with no hassle whatsoever. The Port of Kantaoui is a must to visit as well as the museum in Sousse.
All in all, a great holiday, due in part to the lovely staff in the hotel. This was not my last visit and definitely not my last to this hotel. Thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Yes, our staff do go out of their way to please our guests in order to make their holiday more enjoyable. Most of our guests are very appreciative. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from 2 wks all inc.. at this hotel and had a wonderful time, the staff were very helpfull and always happy to help in any way, particularly restaurant staff and our waiter Makram who is lovely could not do any more for us, the chef should be congratulated also, food was always well prepared and presented, head waiters were always available checking to make sure everything ran smoothly.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy and staff pleasant and hard working.
We would recommend this hotel but if you have mobility problems there are steps around the complex, ramps also but these tend to be a bit steep, and all rooms have bath tubs with shower over, no walk in showers.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms overlook pool and seem to have bigger balconies. odd numbers overlook road and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
So nice to hear that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and that the staff met up to your expectations. Although the ramps in our hotel may be a bit steep, they all have handrails so are quite safe.The only walk in showers are in the indoor pool area. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

we have just come back from taj merhaba, i have to say we had a , lovely stay ,the staff food hotel was fantastic, i would go again. only downside was it was hot in our room we could have done with aircon but we do appreciate that it was not peak season, but even if they charge we would have gladly paid for it.we would look into booking next year.

Room Tip: we were on 7th floor road side was lovely but a bit too hot as the sun was there all day but lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Unfortunately, as temperatures were fluctuating quite a lot when you were here, we did not feel the need to turn on the air conditioning. This decision was justified by the lower temperatures this week. Normally the air conditioning is switched on in June. Glad you enjoyed your holiday, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had two weeks at the beginning of May 2015 on a half board basis. Again, we have had a fantastic time at this hotel. We have seen many changes over the last 15 years, constantly upgrading and making improvements. I read the many reviews on trip advisor and cannot understand the negative ones as I have never seen or heard of any of the so called "problems" that people mention.

The staff - these people are professional, considerate and helpful each and every time you come in to contact with them. Restaurant - our waiter Kacem Alilech is a credit to the Tej, He looks after us impeccably and is one of the reasons we keep on returning. Bar Staff - the bar manager Karim Mabrouk and his team work extremely hard to ensure you get what you need when you need it. Pool - Ali will see to your needs in terms of a sunbed with shade and make sure you are situated in the place you want to be.

Tipping - by the time we left, the dinar was nearly 3 dinars to the pound. I believe you should tip for good service, however, you should be tipping more for excellent service - as we received excellent service every time, we tipped 5 dinars as a minimum as a party of four. This is not excessive but is appreciated by all the staff you tip. These people work so hard for a pittance and rely heavily on the tips they make to support their families, so don't be mean and tip generously!

The hotel does offer all inclusive however, this means that these guests rarely tip the waiters which is a shame and this should be considered if you chose all inclusive.

Our rooms were kept immaculate, with regular change of sheets and towels. We asked for extra pillows on arrival - went to lunch and by the time we came back - we had two extra pillows on our bed!

Reception and Change Man - Always happy to help and speak very good English..

If you need anything, you can ask to speak to the Irish lady called Emer, the Customer Relations Manager - she will help you as she speaks the language and seems to be in the hotel most days.

We went with Thomas Cook and their rep Micheal Byrne (spelt the Irish way!) was in the hotel everyday with a smile and always stopped for a chat to see if we were ok and that there were no problems - of course, there were no problems!

Remember, if you smile, they smile, if you are polite, they are polite - isn't that just human nature? All the staff will go out of their way to help you in any way they can.

Despite the recent problems at the Bardo Museum, we still felt very safe and relaxed and that is partly to the fantastic staff at this hotel who make that feeling possible!

We will be returning in 2016!

Room Tip: Even numbers are facing pool and sea view, odd number are road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
So glad you had another brilliant holiday with us and that you found our staff to be professional, considerate and helpful. Our aim is to please and its always nice to know that we have succeeded. We do treasure our repeat guests and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived not knowing what to expect after seeing some not-great reviews, but from the minute we walked into the reception area we were treated with big smiles, courtesy, charm and efficiency. Every member of staff gave the impression of enjoying looking after their guests and not merely 'doing their job'.
Our rooms were on the 6th floor with seaview and balcony overlooking the pool and grass areas, which were immaculately kept. The room itself might be considered more basic than luxury but had everything you needed and was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. Being used to European hotel plumbing, I was pleasantly surprised at the consistent water pressure and temperature of the shower.
We stayed on an all-inclusive basis and the food served at all meals was of good quality and plenty of choices - I can definitely say that I ate very well! The waiters are great at remembering your drink preferences and it is touches like that that make you feel valued as a guest.
We spent almost the whole 7 days poolside and the bar staff were certainly attentive, again remembering our preferences when we needed refills.
The Animación team were always on hand, encouraging people to take part in activites or just chatting - Haykel and Marwan were especially friendly, making sure that people sitting alone did not feel lonely. The evening entertainment was brief, but I assume that when there are more guests this will change - people did not seem to want to join in with very much in general.
The general atmosphere was incredibly friendly - we chatted to a number of UK guests who come to this hotel several times a year and have done for many years, high recommendation in itself! I shall definitely book again for the same time next year and maybe/hopefully an extra stay toward the end of this year :-)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It is always nice to hear back from a satisfied guest so thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tej Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tej Marhaba Hotel

Address: Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4001, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tej Marhaba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tej Marhaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tej Marhaba
Tej Marhaba Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tej Marhaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.