We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tej Marhaba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tej Marhaba Hotel to your Saves list
Tej Marhaba Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4001, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The hotel from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went on holiday to this hotel from hell on the 13/11/2013 to 27/11/2013 and the entire trip from start to end was to say the least the worst holiday, we have ever had the room was cold at night and so was the main reception. The bath was to small and when you wanted a bath or a shower it was very hard to get into. And the toilet leaked the t/v was rubbish the reception was unhelpful all they could say was later and later never arrived, there was no pool bar or snack bar if you wanted a cover on sun loungers you had to pay for them the tea and coffee by the time it you got it was nearly cold the hotel indoor pool was down steep steps. The entertainment was the same thing day and night the same, the food was same thing for breakfast there was sausages that didn't taste like them hard boiled eggs still in the shell something that looked like baked beans tomatoes that had never been cooked or if they had they had just seen a pan for a few seconds and salads. there was hot pans of water carried across the room to fill up tea urns, the evening meal was even worse there was salad, chips, chicken, and a lot of food was uneatable owing to the fact it was cooked just for the Tunisiains and all cooked in spice. if you wanted to watch sky sports there was two bars that had it but if you wanted to watch any English matches you was forced to go to the English bar which was outside in the shopping area the other bar was over run with non residents who got better service then the one's who had paid for their holiday every where you went you got bothered by taxi drivers who ripped you off as did every one in Tunisia we will never go there again to both hotel or the country again in all i would never recommend anyone this hotel or even to visit a country that was so nasty to visitors. in my opinion this hotels four stars need to be taken away from it and called the hotel from hell as the should the country

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool area never get any sun and are always in the shade from the minute the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
So sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your holiday. Our heating is now up and running. Our baths are normally standard size, but if you had mentioned that you had trouble getting in to them we could have helped you out with a little step. English TV channels are limited over here, being North Africa. You do not have to pay for your mattress for your sun bed and there are notices to that effect by the pool. We do have a large selection of food for breakfast, including croissants, different types of bread, pancakes, cereals, cheese, salami, eggs, yoghourt, sausages, tomatoes and beans. In the evening we have a fish, meat, and chicken dish, pasta, vegetables, pizza and a selection of salads. We also have one tunisian dish for people who like spicy food. We cater for many nationalities. Sorry you didnt like Tunisia, but hopefully you will return and give it a second chance. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    461
    299
    187
    181
See reviews for
255
606
91
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Mature experienced staff attentive to every need.

I go to this hotel several tiems a year and recognize many guests. Whenever I see a negative review I cringe as to what peoples expectations must be for the token amounts they actually pay. A meal in a North American buffet runs $30 before drinks and nobody would dream of not leaving at least a 15% tip for decent service yet I ratrely even see guests leave a dinar, some fraction of a dollar.

Same as the rooms. They are spacious, clean, comfortable and the maid service excellent.

Lacking? Information desk. Lacking? Some English TV other than BBC and CNN headlines news which are both pretty lame.

I will use this hotel for my base in January throughout and stay in several other of the highly rated hotels for nights here and there when the mood hits just to see how they compare and report back.

Room Tip: I never had a bad room ......... I generally face the ocean, this time perhaps I may try the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoy our hotel. Thank you for your comments, they all help us to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed @ Taj Maharba twice in October 13, Return is therapuetic. On our 30th Wedding Anniversary whilst relaxing on the balcony overlooking the pool, the porter knocked @ our door presenting us with a delicious cellophane wrapped display of fruit, Perrier type water & a 5 Dinar note, Shezahd a sweet Londoner guest gave us chocolates; (as there is sweet camerarderie between guests.) Makram our waiter gave us roses. Honestly if we are unable to holiday @ Taj in winter, English climate is too daunting.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Discoteque
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My friend and I were a bit apprehensive about going to Tunisia as lone women. We didn't need to worry. To begin with the overwhelming hustle and bustle of Sousse was a bit scary and some men do comment as you pass. The thing to do is not make eye contact and totally ignore all contact. Don't fall for the 'Hello I work in your hotel line' That's a real common one and they are trying to get you to talk and therefore get at your money somehow...If you look like a victim you will be treated like one!!! It is no different then it is in London's market areas. Keep your head up and firmly say NO THANKS!! or nothing at all. Shopping in the Medina was wonderful but again you need to be strong and confident. Stick to your planned shopping and NEVER have your purse/wallet in sight. It is best to fold notes individually and place in a difficult to access bag close to your body at all times...
Sousse and surrounding areas are not the cleanest place... It is obviously dusty from sand... obviously sand can not be avoided in a desert country!!! it also has a lot of rubbish strewn around and there are many derelict half built buildings . You need to remember that this is Africa!!! and Tunisia is a developing country which recently experienced political and cultural turmoil... The priorities there are not like they are in Britain or the western world... I doubt they get weekly refuse collections or street cleaners and they strive to scrape a living rather than care about the environment. Saying that parts of the beach are truly filthy and I would not have sunbathed on it, however if you stay at the Tej than you don't need the beach as the pools and bathing areas are superb.
We went on two trips out into the country of Sousse including a trip to the villages in the mountains.. This was amazing and really made us see how starkly beautiful the countryside is. I was blown away with the magical feel of the place. The total lack of health and safety was also incredibly amusing and eye opening.
The Tej Marhaba hotel is wonderful...It is right in the middle of the city and therefore the hub of all that is going on... Ideal if you want the vibrancy of the town.. not so good if you were hoping for a quiet area!! Yes some of the reviews on here are correct in saying it is a little scruffy in places and while we were there in November 2013 much of it was being refurbished [obviously that needs to be done at some point] The reception bar is very attractive and we spent most of our time meeting people here. Our room was fine and we looked out to the side of the hotel so not the best view but it was sunny on the balcony so that was fine. The lovely maid changed sheets and towels every day and she was incredibly friendly. Toilets were clean and the shower was better than mine at home!
The food was plentiful. A lot of choice but a little stodgy for my tastes. Saying that however there was salad choices at every meal. Our waiter Makram was absolutely wonderful... Nothing was too much trouble for him. If you are lucky enough to get him as your waiter then don't be afraid to ask for anything you might like such as ice cream. He will do his best to get it for you. He seemed to really care and when we didn't turn up for breakfast one day he was truly worried about us.
The staff who arrange the entertainment [called the animation team] were fantastic and Sofien the gorgeous young animation man really made our holiday complete. His friendly manner and amazing sense of humour was fantastic. We had many an interesting conversation in the bar and I learnt so much about how tunisians live from this wonderful young man. Please don't be afraid to have honest conversations with the locals if the opportunity arises. Obviously risk assess the situation and circumstance first, but if you do chat you will find them the most friendly and interesting people. We had a very interesting chat about the current political situation [or lack of it] with a young man in a cafe who wanted nothing from us but some honest company. It is also useful to remember that these people earn an absolute pittance... and it is not easy living in this country at the moment. It taught me a lot about Islam and the view of women in this country too. Learning the difference in cultures is fascinating and if you remain tolerant and accepting you can build true respect.
The hotel was full of older British tourists staying there to avoid the cold British winter and they too made the holiday complete for us. If you really want to make the most of your holiday then speak to fellow tourists. They will advise you of their experience and support where they can. We met the wonderful polish Yorkshire man Victor, who was the best dancer ever, the crazy dutch lady Nicole, the internet farmer Sarah and the wonderful couple from North Devon Wendy and Jim, all who will stay ion our memories for a long time. Thanks to all!!!
All in all it was a wonderful holiday. Our next plan is to visit Morrocco and this visit to Tunisia has been a good trial run for the madness of that country. If I come back to Sousse I will definately stay at the Tej again... It felt like home after just one week. I would strongly recommend a visit... Heather and Trish from Plymouth xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Heather and Trish, wonderful to hear from you and to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again another time to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks from 3rd November. Was really unsure about it prior to going after reading some of the awful reviews! Well i can honestly say, I think some of these people must be impossible to please! On arrival in Enfidha we were through customs in 10 minutes and maybe a further 15 mins for the luggage to come through. We were not approached by anyone to take our cases and i certainly did not see any signs advising how much to tip! Have been to Tunisia too many times to mention and have NEVER seen a sign like this as claimed by another reviewer! Oh and would just like to remind him that to him a couple of dinars " is nothing " but to some there it is the difference between the family eating that day or not!

On arrival at the Hotel we were greeted by some lovely ladies on reception. We filled in our forms and were given Room 424. Porter took our luggage up - he did not wait for a tip! - a lovely man. Room faced swimming pool. Nice sized room, very clean. Flat screen TV with a couple of movie channels and some English news. Plenty wardrobe space and a fridge behind one of the cupboard doors. Bathroom a fine size with bath, shower and sink unit and a separate toilet - which never failed to flush and was spotless! The chamber maid was just a delight, kept our room spotless with clean towels every day - fresh smelling too! She deserves a pay rise!

We were half board and ate in the dining room a few nights. Very clean and bright. Waiters were fine and did not hover around for tips either! The food was lovely. Plenty of choice for even the fussiest of eaters! Pizza, Soups, pasta, salads galore, meat, fish, all kinds of potato versions and some nice veg. Lots of lovely puddings, cakes and fresh fruit. I really do not understand how folk can knock the food?! Oh and we always managed to get a spoon when needed!

The main foyer had entertainment in the evenings but as we have family and friends over there we were out a lot, think there was a band some nights, karaoke and bingo? Folk sitting there seemed happy enough! Pool area was kept immaculate as was the terrace. Weather a bit iffy the second week but fine enough. Indoor pool and spa looked fab too though never had time to use it!

Security has been stepped up in and around Sousse and stop and searches are customary. We are glad of this after recent events! Police checks all the way along to Port el Kantoui. We had our coffee at La Nafoura every morning by the fountain, lovely place and staff and later had a nice cold beer at the Brasserie. Prices have risen in Tunisia but the exchange rate was really good while we were there. Tips are even more welcome as even the basics like bread, potatoes and pasta have at least trippled in price - while their wages have stood still.

To sum up this was a lovely holiday in a super Hotel in a nice country with nice people and we will be back there for sure in the next few months. People who knock this hotel should perhaps save up a bit more and go stay at Movenpick - mind you after reading some of the trivial complaints on here i am sure they would find something to moan about there too!

Room Tip: Room 424 was lovely - only thing at this time of year no sun on balcony! C'est la vie! x
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your refreshing positive review. Gald you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 24 august - 3rd September 2013.
My first holiday abroad with my parents and I can't say I enjoyed it.
Our flight was delayed (I know this is not to hotels fault but still mad the experience bad) we ended up getting to the hotel at half past 5 in the morning. Reception staff okay.
Was a few rooms away from my parents which was fine only their air conditioning blew out hot hair and there electrics blew.
Complained for them to re-wire the lights into the tv so when you turned the lights off tv also turned off.
My room bathroom leaked every time had a shower there would be water everywhere.
Parents had to move rooms as dad was ill (from the food) and air conditioning making him sick
Even that room was awful.
Spoke to other guests and they felt the same as us the spa hasn't been there for 5 years and if you head down there it's a danger hazard. Wires bricks and a leaky roof.. Yet no signs of no entry.
The best thing about the holiday was the entertainer guy he works hard and only has one day off he needs another worker for him aqua gym at 11 everyday is most fun.
.i turned 18 half way through my holiday and hotel prepared a cake and banners for my arrival and breakfast and dinner
Apart from a few good points the remaider was bad it rained very heavily 2 days before we was due to leave my bathroom is flooded from all the rain went to complain they said nothing we can do it's raining we argued for a good 10 minutes in end I told them to get a cleaner up to clean the mess.
Clearer was not impressed by how much it was damaged and phoned reception and got us moved. She like all the other cleaners were extremely nice!!
The day we was due to leave we had to be out of out rooms by 12 flight was not till 9 for me this wasn't a great deal but considering my dad was very ill with sickness and diorreah we asked to extend one room till later they said no we are fully booked. (Yet in reviews the hotel have replied too they will move people even if fully booked or sick!!)
Kept our room for a further 6 hours but had to pay 24 dinar which was ridiculous.
Over fall they take more pride in cutting the grass them looking after the hotel.
This place needs a total revamp and quickly. Wasn't impressed by this holiday and I will not return to this part of Tunisia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review; The electric in the rooms is controlled by the card slot system, but if you turn off the lights manually then the TV will stay on. Our spa has been closed now for 2 years but you should have been informed of this by your tour operator. We do now have a no ' entry sign' at the entrance to the stairs leading to the new spa. Sorry to hear your dad was ill but luckily it didnt interfere with your birthday celebrations and you managed to have a good time. It was very unfortunate that you got so much rain during your stay and your bathroom was flooded and we do apologise for that but some things are beyond our control. I'm glad you managed to keep your room on, sometimes it is very difficult for us especially when the hotel is fully booked but we try to do our best for all our guests. Hopefully you will change your mind and come back to see us again another day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a great holiday hotel. We stayed with our family for a week.

Rooms: good size, plenty of space to move around, clean and adequate facilities for the money. We had a balcony out to the front of the hotel over looking the main street, which was quite lively at night time.

Food: we were staying on a half board basis and the selection was tremendous! The restaurant itself is huge and all the food was tasty. The juices at breakfast were the only let down.

Service: the staff at the check in desk weren't as attentive as they could have been. It's always annoying when they're having a conversation amongst themselves when they know there's a customer waiting. The porter's however were hard working - a small tip goes a long way.

Location: great location in the middle of a bustling and busy street, with a great night scene. A few minutes walk from the beach. The beach is actually quite nice, cleaner than I thought it would be. Saw a couple of ladies sun bathing nude though, which was not welcome when you have your children with you. There are loads of shops and restaurants about and the city centre is just a few minutes away in a taxi with even more to see and do.

Facilities: a large out door pool and a relaxing in door one too. There's a gym on site but I think you had to pay extra to use it (I could be wrong, I didn't enquire). The lobby area is relaxing and spacious and there is entertainment on on most nights.

Our First Choice rep was extremely helpful, and even drove me to an opticians when I couldn't find my contact lenses.

Overall: excellent value for money, good food and location, let down only by some occasional poor service by the check in desk staff. Highly recommended for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very detailed review. Glad you always enjoy your holidays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tej Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tej Marhaba Hotel

Address: Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4001, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tej Marhaba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tej Marhaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tej Marhaba
Tej Marhaba Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tej Marhaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.