We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work and what is with the spoons!?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tej Marhaba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tej Marhaba Hotel to your Saves list
Tej Marhaba Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4001, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Needs some work and what is with the spoons!?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have read mixed reviews for this hotel and I will try to make this as fair as possible. I do however agree this is only a 3 star hotel and not a 4 star as it wants to be. There are some 1 star parts that really need sorting out by the hotel but on the other side there are some 4/5star parts as well. There is also much needed updating in places.

RECEPTION

This was very impressive, always clean and tidy and plenty of places to sit. The staff were friendly but unhelpful. We got in at about 2:30am very tired and thirsty after delays in the airport. There were no bars open and all staff could say was there was a shop open across the road. However you can not get your money changed until 10am and we were told we could not drink the tap water so we went to bed very thirsty. This is utterly disgraceful and poor and needs sorting out. Surely a bottle water in the rooms or waiting for us in reception isn't much to ask as they knew we were getting in early. Also at the end of our stay we could only extend our rooms until 4pm and we didn't leave until 7pm we asked for a couple of towels so that we could have a shower in the indoor pool area but were told we could not have any towels. Again this just shows how the hotel doesn't really show that much care about their customers. Simple things like this really let the hotel down.
The reception bar was a bit odd. If you were all inclusive you got a run down side of the bar but if you were half board you got a luxury looking bar area. I just think the hotel looks on all inclusive customers as second class.

ROOMS

The rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were a good size as well and the rooms were cleaned well everyday. We laughed so much about the toilets in the room as it was like it had a mind of its own. It would only flush about 50% of the time.

FOOD

The food was actually ok. Don't expect luxury food but you wont starve. The food was very similar each day but changed by a couple of different dishes and the dessert was pretty much the same everyday. You can get ice cream but they dont advertise this. To be fair there was a lot of choice and even my vegetarian girlfriend found something to eat, although this was a lot of rice and pasta. We found a really nice waiter who we tipped everyday and he always welcomed us in and always had a table for us, it was a shame he didn't work at breakfast. The one thing we found really odd was they treated spoons like they were gold dust, I am guessing they do this to get tips but in the end we found this to be so annoying we refused to tip at breakfast at all, where we may have tipped if they just had spoons on the table. We also found ourselves eating cereal with the plastic coffee spoons instead.

POOL and BEACH

The pool and beach are nice and the staff with the sun loungers and cushions were quick to help out. However there was quite a bit of rubbish scattered about at both the pool area and beach, something that needs sorting out. However we found, as with most of the hotel, if you were all inclusive you were treated as second class (perfect example was the reception bar) Waiters would try not to serve you if you had a band on your wrist but if you didn't they would ask if you wanted a drink. Food at the pool and beach bar were very basic (pizza, sandwich and chips) but you could get ice cream from the pool bar. The indoor pool was good but none of the jacuzzi parts worked and it was clear that the hotel was in the middle of building work. Changing rooms would be good for when you had to leave your hotel room early but you weren't getting picked up till late.

STAFF

We found a bit of a 50-50 split between nice and very grumpy staff, even if you tipped them. 90% of bar staff were miserable but the odd one were really nice and pleasant. The cleaner on my floor seemed to be the happiest and friendliest person in the whole hotel. You couldn't pass her without a really nice greeting or conversion.

ENTERTAINMENT

The daytime entertainment at the pool was funny to watch and the staff member seemed to really enjoy what he did. I had a conversation with him a few times and he was really friendly. Evening entertainment .....humm what evening entertainment. There was none! Ok we saw some entertainers setting up at 7:30 for a show at 9:30 once. Yep only once and we stayed for two weeks. I have read comments from the hotel on other reviews saying they do have entertainment each evening but if you do where are they. You need to make it clear where they are as we looked every night (gave up looking near the end of the holiday) and we couldn't find any and neither could others who stayed at the hotel.

CONCLUSION

Mostly clean hotel, fairly good rooms, staff were ok, food was ok, some parts need a lot of work and if it made these much need improvements the hotel could become a 4 star but it must have to settle with a generous 3 star.


Just to add we did a few excursions the best was the Sahara explorer a must if you can afford it (it cost us 205d each and and extra 32d each for the camel and horse rides). Please note that you need to take snacks and drinks with you as you spend a lot of time on the bus and the two food stops weren't great. Also hand sanitizer and toilet roll as the toilets can be really bad, I think even fly's were put off some of the toilets. Other than the these bad points the rest of the trip was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    479
    310
    191
    186
See reviews for
261
629
99
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I holidayed here in november 2011. Although the hotel is a little tired in some places (not all) and needs a little revamp, the hotel overall was lovely and clean. The service was 2nd to none and we were well looked after.

This part of sousse isnt exactly party town but there was enough for what my husband and i was looking for: several souvenir shops, a supermarket, and the mini mall attached to the hotel itself.

Our waiter faysal was an absolute gem! The kitchen staff fab! The food was always top notch and we never went hungry as there was something for everyone.

We had a lovely holiday and we plan to return soon for our honeymoon! Especially as the revamp of the inside pool and spa area will be finished :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from one week stay at tej maharba. I wasn't looking forward to it after reading some of the reviews but went with open mind. We arrived early hours of morning and were booked in and in our room within half an hour. At first sight yes the carpets were stained but the rest of the room was spotless, the bathroom was clean and toilet and shower both worked well. We always had hot water and no smells from the toilet. The beds weren't the most comfortable but so what. The air conditioning was noisy but kept the room at a comfortable temperature.
The staff were lovely always pleasant we found that if you were nice to them and smiled and didnt treat them like servants and a please and thank you costs nothing!!!!!
The food was ok yes it is repetitive but we always found something to suit and my friend is a very fussy eater. One complaint we did have was we could never find a spoon when needed they were like gold dust.
We found a little Italian cafe at the back of hotel called cafe gellato that served lovely coffee and gateau for next to nothing. Well worth a visit.
All in all we had an enjoyable holiday so go with an open mind and be pleasant is my advice and im sure you'll enjoy as we did.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

i spent 10 nights ( 14 aug - 24 aug )at the Tej Marhaba hotel with my partner and my 15 year old daughter. after reading all of the terrible reviews we were pleasantly surprised how excellent the hotel facilities were. However, when we arrived to the hotel at 4am in the morning the hotel had unfortunately over booked so we were kindly accommodated on the kaiser hotel which is across the road which wasnt a very nice way to start to the holiday. After a couple of hours sleep we went back over to our hotel, where we was kindly asked if we would like to go into breakfast as our room was being cleaned. by 10am we had checked into our rooms which were spacious, clean and next door to each other which we asked for also we received 100 dinars per person back for the misunderstanding of the rooms the night before and we also received a free trip which was the Pirate boat which was good fun. The staff of the hotel was far from rude, ignorant or just wanted tips, in actual fact they could not help you enough and were friendly, courteous and polite. Great choice of food, all inclusive transferred to the beach, where you could get food, drinks and sun beds bought over to you. The staff on the beach were very friendly to us, and made our stay a very pleasurable one. For just 10 dinar(which was not asked for) we had our sun beds put out in the same place every day of the holiday kindly. The animation team were wonderful, throughout the day they would do activities that accommodates for all ages for example, aqua gym, water polo and dancing they would also do the same of an evening. Me and my family could not understand the bad reviews that have been posted on here as we did not recognise any of these faults. We also met some lovely friends along the way. Any body wanting to go to this hotel but are worried about the reviews take no notice as it was a great holiday destination and we would return another time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

stayed for a week with my partner september 11th - 18th first thoughts on arrival to hotel was very good, we arrived early hours of the morning and the reception staff was lovely aswell was the porter who took our luggage, reception area lovely, the rooms are ok good size beds are comfy but do need revamping and decorating but our room was clean and the maid come daily and was always nice, the food is lovely restaurant staff are very nice helpful and polite always there to help you and get you anything u need or want, bar staff are just as equally as nice, the beach staff on the beach are lovely aswell as the people who sell trips we did alot of water sports which was loads of fun would deffo recommend to those who enjoy water sports, weather was fantastic sometimes cloudy in the morning but always gorgeous and sunny come 11am out and about ound the hotel is good some nice shops to get gifts from very cheap but always excellent quality, overall we really enjoyed it and we will return again nxt year :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was my first time in Tunisia and i was quite looking forward to it,however when we arrived we were messed about with the rooms and were then offered a family apartment which turned out to be a very long way from where we had booked to be,after slogging down many steps to this apartment and walking through the doors the first thing that hits you is the terrible smell of what i can only describe as excrement.After refusing the apartment we slogged back up the many steps to complain and were then given a room on the 3rd floor,at first glance the room looked ok but on further inspection we found the carpets were stained the toilet flushed when it felt like it the air con didn't work and just made a noise,power outlets loose or hanging off.

The bar staff were rude and the beer was vile and i think there was some kind of scam going on because i got 1 beer and on the till paper they give you to sign there was 4 beers and a coke! when the small half pint plastic glasses ran out they were serving beer in klinx cups, also the glasses were just rinsed under the tap (lipstick residue). The entertainment was total rubbish with the two guys playing the same stuff every night,there was 1 night of karaoke which everyone seemed to enjoy and the tunisia night was poor.The pool was good and the staff walking around to bring you drinks were also good.The walk to the beech was like playing human frogger and the ally to the beech stunk of human waste,the beech was littered with fag ends,bottle tops and other rubbish, also you will get hassled with hawkers trying to sell you stuff all the time, and there were drug dealers selling stuff too. All in all i rate this dump a big fat zero! Will not be returning ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've been to Tunisia 8 times now and always stayed in Hotel Marhaba. This time we fancied a change.....
On arrival we was stood waiting for a good hour before we was allocated a room, this was down about 40 steps and nowhere near the facilities ie- bar, pool or restaurant. I straight away said NO!!! We then was left to carry all out luggage back to main reception and demanded another room, this took another 30 mins.
In our room the patio door wouldn't lock, bathroom door wouldn't lock and the air-con was blowing warm air ( outside temp 36*c ) so inside was even hotter.
This was reported 4 times during our stay.
To say it was all inclusive was a joke, there was only 1 bar out of 3 that was all inc and this was manned by 1 person for about 200 guests....
The place was very unclean and if that wasn't enough the bit that topped me off was watching them rinse dirty glasses out under the TAP and reuse them for the next customer not even used a proper glass washer, but when I say glass.. You was lucky to get a glass, most of the time drinks was served in either plastic cups or clinx coffee cups that you get from a canteen vending machine ..
The staff was very abrupt and ignorant towards guests.
Please don't let my comments put you off Sousse Tunisia it's a beautiful place , just DON'T book into this Dump

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tej Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tej Marhaba Hotel

Address: Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4001, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tej Marhaba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tej Marhaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tej Marhaba
Tej Marhaba Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tej Marhaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.