We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed this holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tej Marhaba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tej Marhaba Hotel to your Saves list
Tej Marhaba Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4001, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel for 10 nights , ok we didnt know what to expect as never been before , but we loved it , At the end of the day , the holiday is what you make of it . All the staff were very helpful and friendly , the food is not to everyone's taste , but we found it alright , and ( ALI ) couldnt do enough for us , Met some great people , guests and staff , We went for a relaxing holiday and thats exactly what we got , The afternoon tea club was a lovely place to catch -up and get to know each other , especially the naughty corner , you know who you are ...... Jean and company , :-) we are looking forward to going back again next year at the same time , also thanks Ema for the loan of the kettle, .......... A lovely hotel , dont knock it till you try it x Doreen & Andy

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    479
    310
    191
    186
See reviews for
261
629
99
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 31st October -14th November. I loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Ok there could have been a little more choice of food but the food that was available was very nice and something different most nights. The room was clean the sheets and towels were changed and the lady who cleaned the room was lovely. After reading the reviews on here I was a bit apprehensive but I could not fault it. If something is not right speak to the staff with the respect and curtesy how you would want to be spoken to. They all try so hard. Thank you for a lovely fortnight. I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forwarding to welcoming you back another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our 2nd visit this year and we were very disappointed this time, entertainment was worse than last time same music every night and nothing else, food was not so good and there was no variety, rooms are looking tired and need a facelift, staff still the same, they are very friendly and make you feel welcome. As a winter resort they still need to entertain the guests and arrange more activities as the weather is not so good now, wont be returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and you will get a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and sorry that you didnt enjoy this holiday as much as the first. We do have a large variety of food in the restaurant and you will be pleased to know that the rooms are getting a face lift
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was slightly worried after reading all the bad reviews and was thinking of changing hotels but went with an open mind.

Stayed for 7 nights, 07/11/12-14/11/12, arrived at Enfidah Airport, my mrs was pushing the trolley and she was approached by a porter who took the trolley from even after I insisted we were ok, then demanded a tip! which I wasn't going to give but to shoo him away i gave him a quid!
Remember Tunisia is a developing country and whether your helped with directions or at the airport then they will ask for tips, there were a few cleaners chatting at the toilets, she was making noises with the coins she collected, she expected a tip which I did not give!! no soap in toilets! obviously too much time on they hands if they waiting for tips!

Travelled on Aircon coach to hotel which took around an hour, (our hotel was last drop off) looking out of coach window the scenery didn't look too good, open fields, half finished buildings, once I got to our hotel and the area around it there was lots of new apartments going up, yes the area did look a bit like a building site but it shows the area is on the up with all this investment!

Hotel is in Sousse which I believe is the 3rd largest city? the area is very busy with locals and tourists!

Check in was quick, all the lifts were working, well the ones I used were!

Room had sea view, I requested a double bed which was provided.

The Room: As mentioned by others, very dated, wardrobes backing was about to go, the bed was very hard, carpet in the room, would expect laminate/would floor. The room did look like it was painted but this isnt enough,require complete modernisation. The bathroom ceiling had cracks, lighting very poor, tiles were cracked in places.
Balcony door didnt seem to lock properly, latch was a bit loose.
Blankets were provided instead of duvets, didn't use the blanket much as the temp was quite hot was would recommend the hotel to use duvets as covers can be washed easily, as I don't think the blankets are washed every time a new guest enters.

Fridge froze my coke bottle,seems like mini fridge/freezer, these never work as I had one before myself which I threw away as it froze everything!

Positives: Nice colour TV which had 2 English Channels, watched a film every night!!!

Maid service was very good, room cleaned daily with new sheets & towels.

Hair dryer in bathroom.

The hotel lobby is very large with nice comfortable chairs and sofas, Marble floors and plants look nice. 2 bars in the lobby.

Outside seating equally good, nice well maintained gardens and pool area. People always moan about the negatives but this hotel is on the up, the new indoor pool/jacuzzi area is nearly finished, its a shame we missed it as it looks impressive.

Smokers everywhere, the lobby does gets busy in the evening and quite a lot of smokers puffing away, we tried to escape outside and then a guy lit up a pipe!!

it seems smoking is excepted there unlike the strict UK rules, went to a cafe and that was the same.

Free Wifi in lobby area only which was hit n miss at times, 10 dinar/£4 for an hour in your room which is very expensive!! Should be free in rooms rooms too!!

Hotel has cash deposit/small safes, basicly a room behind the cashiers desk where you can put your cash and passports.

I would recommend this as it only costs 7 dinar, 1 dinar =approx £0.40

Tunisia operates a close currency which means you cant buy the currency before you travel or take any remaining currency with you, only cash small amounts at a time, hotel has its own currency converter which is good.

Never used the pool but it seemed cleaned, weather was good for 2 days,rest warm with hazy sunshine.

The path leading to the Beach area as a small dumping ground off it, the beach bar is more like a wooden hut!

The area to the beach could be a bit more clean, fag ends etc.

The restaurant had a lot of variety, the service at breakfast was a bit lacking, cutlery missing etc.

We were half board, so had breakfast and evening meal, food was plentiful at both times, i enjoyed breakfast but evening meal i wasnt too keen on,but there should be something for everyone, excellent deserts!! loads of salads, there a few flies in the restaurant and near the food area.

Only tip if you want to, dont seem obliged, the first day we tipped 1 dinar around 40 pence after that it was just couple pence change remaining from the drinks we ordered.

We went on a camel trip & quad biking, both booked from the pool man, we heard some bad reviews but both were good.
I also went on a jet ski on the beach, which was good.

You need to be physically fit to go on quad biking/jet skiing, even the camel ride required some effort getting on/off the camel as you had to jump off but was helped getting on/off.

Taxis are reasonable, agree a price for the full party before you get in, they normally run on a meter.

You do get a whiff of sewage he and then whilst traveling in tunisia, it could be because they sewage system isnt as developed as ours?

Went to Aqua Palace but was disappointed as it was closed! only opened in summer times?


The medina which is like the town center has a variety of shops, train station & police station.
The Medina is a market place, yes you will get hassled by shop keepers but a firm NO should normally leave you alone. If your looking for bargains or a variety of items on offer the Medina is a good place to go!
Remember you need to haggle and don't except the first price, be prepared to walk away and see the price drop by sometimes 80 percent!!!

Overall a good holiday with good weather, Don't write the hotel off!

Depends how much you paid, I think we got a good deal.

if you want something a bit more trendy you could book the Movenpick if you can afford it lol?

I know the review is a bit long but tried to be informative.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your holiday. You'll be pleased to know that our indoor pool is now open. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a very nice holiday from 27 Oct to 7 Nov 2012. We were wary having read some negative reviews.
Our feeling was that the public areas were very nice but the bedroom - ours was 3rd floor sea facing - were very tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. Carpet was ridiculous in such a hot climate, hotel have clearly not invested in paint in many years. Four star quality? You're joking! Three stars all the way
The staff on the hotel were very good and desperate to please although a couple were more fond of the dinar than the client. We met some truly unforgettable long-stay characters who just made our holiday; take a bow Robert, Richard ( The Major), Shirley and Mansell.
Beach and pool staff were also great.
The food was good with an excellent variety most nights and all in all a very good value for money holiday.
And should you go the do not miss the experience of a lifetime which was the Sahara Explorer two day trip. Absolutely wonderful and amazing value for money at approx £100 per head.
A big disappointment for us was that the indoor swimming pool and gym were advertised but have not been available for over a year and do not look likely to open any time soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 6th or 7th floors which seem much brighter than the third
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. Indoor pool and fitness due to open this week after a few dalays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went the first week in october ( 2012 ) when we got to the hotel about dinner time, it looked lovely then we went up to our room on the 5th floor. There was paint & fag burns on the carpet, we did have clean sheets & a lovely sea view.
Rooms wasnt cleaned that well even though the cleaner was a lovely lady, the lift on our side it was one or the other that was broke, in the end we use to go to the end & catch the other lifts that seemed to be ok!
The pool was clean & yes always lovely weather, sunbeds not that good & most of them broke.
The staff were rude so arrogant & the reception desk need to learn how to do they job, eg smile & be pleasant to people, we went all inclusive anywhere else you get treated lovely, not in this hotel your better being half board....
We knew they were working on the indoor pool so knew we couldnt use that, we went on our honeymoon we was told we would have some flowers/bottle of somethink? lol that never happened.
As for the meals not that good yes plenty of selection but didnt like the look of some of the food, & couldnt believe carrotts for breakfast......Wont be going back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Sorry you didnt enjoy your holiday but thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were nervous about going to the Tej Marhaba having read reviews but decided we would go with a positive attitude. We we were there 28th October - 4th November 2012. We had been told that it was a family hotel with plenty of facilities, which is untrue. The only kids entertainment was a mini disco at 8.30 every evening, where they played the same 20 minute long, multilingual CD and got the kids doing the same dance routine/actions! when we asked if we could play archery, boules etc the animation team told us they were 'too tired!' The rooms are basic and in need of renovation, beds uncomfortable, and to top it off they painted our room on our last day there, splashing paint on our wash bag and some items of clothing and leaving it smelling of paint! On a positive note, the food was good, plenty of variety, fresh ingredients and something for everyone. The salads were great, there was pizza every night, and usually chips. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice - cereal, toast, pastries, freshly cooked pancakes (yum) and salads and meats and cheese, as well as sausages (like frankfurters), eggs and tomatoes. The waiters were great, you always sit at the same table and they really get to know what you like.
As for other aspects, the pool was freezing (not that our kids cared!) and the hotel was more occupied by Tunisian businessmen than tourists. There were very few English people there and we were not so much made to feel welcome in the the main lobby area, as a nuisance. If you are after a quiet holiday with no activities and don't mind basic facilities, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea and pool is quieter, noisy at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are not a hotel with plenty of child facilities so you were misinformed before you even arrived. Mini disco is the same every night for the express reason that the children can get to know all the actions and participate better. We do not have archery etc at our hotel but people were playing boules during your stay. Hotel can be a bit quiet in october, but the day you left we did have a big arrival of english guests;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tej Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tej Marhaba Hotel

Address: Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4001, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tej Marhaba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tej Marhaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tej Marhaba
Tej Marhaba Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tej Marhaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.