We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went for 10 days on the 1st november and was brilliant. Hotel is only situated 35 mins from airport and is close to local amenities such as shops and cafes. The hotel was clean and the majority of the staff were always ready to help. The food was nice, lots of different things to eat from pizza to roasts and loads of salad and puddings. Drinks selection was so so, beer on tap and locally produced spirits however no matter how much we seemed to drink we never got tipsy and a few other people who we have spoke to at the hotel agreed however for the price it wasn't bad. Our room was nice and cleaned well daily with pretty shapes left on bed like shells. We did a few trips with the rep and another through the locals who work at the hotel and they were great. The ones through the hotel staff are good value for money and good fun too. Entertainment was mediocre. The animation staff were really nice however activities constantly crossed over with each other meaning someone who wanted to play darts might not be able to do archery. The evening entertainment didn't really start happening until about half way through the holiday and wasn't brilliant apart from activities like quizzes and bingo. Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend the hotel however if you want a lot to do like later entertainment and more places to go at night then your best bet would be staying somewhere like port el kantaoui as although we had fun there wasn't a lot to do in the immediate area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and although we didn't have a sea view we weren't disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    277
    104
    64
    43
See reviews for
305
201
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the second time we have visited the Tour Khalef. The friendliness of the staff at all times is second to none. The entertainment team were fantastic not only with the children but with the adults as well. Tito, Shaya, Sam, Alex & Chocho engaged everyone in a variety of activities and they should be applauded for their enthusiasm. The hotel was always clean and the restaurant served a vast variety of good quality food at whatever time you dined. Charlie the waiter was still there and as friendly as ever.

Well done everyone at the Tour Khalef

Room Tip: Sea view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 week stay. We had a brilliant time. The hotel was clean and staff very friendly. The food was nice and always a big selection on. This was my 4 year old daughters first holiday and she loved it. She enjoyed all the activities and dancing and the animation team on site always kept her busy and entertained ( thank you Sam and Alex) so far this has been the best holiday so far and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good food and service...hotel is built on nice area, close to the clean beach..stuff is always smiling and in good mood. Hotel is situated not far from the centre- make a trip to medina, port el kantaoui..there are many restaurants, disco and bars there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from a weeks family holiday. The hotel is very clean, staff can't do enough for you!
When we booked the holiday, we stated we did't want ground level, and that's what was given to us when we arrived! When I saw the room, I knew I couldn't sleep on this level, they changed the room no problems and as if it wasn't a problem for them either.

Found it very strange to be in a inside smoking environment, we have a ban in Scotland. You can smoke anywhere in the hotel except the restaurant.

Our family enjoyed the food, always something eat anytime of the day. Every morning the fresh pancakes and doughnuts are a must, the pizza's were fantastic too!
There were lots of very rude Russians, be warned, they are very selfish when it comes to eating time (feeding time at zoo springs to mind). We were getting pushed around so that they could get to the food, also they were very rude to the staff, I felt sorry for the staff at times!
I will add that the kitchen and restaurant staff always made sure plenty of everything was there when Required. For the size of hotel it was amazing how they coped so well!

Kids club was very good, they always had a great time. It's Thomson run. My kids loved the girls who ran it.
Always something on in the evening, entertainment wise.
The beach is lovely, plenty of sun loungers at the pool and beach.

We did three excursions, quad biking, camel trek and pirate boat. Would recommend the quads and camels. The pirate trip wasn't the Thomson trip and wasn't that good, turned out to be a health & safety hazard. Book through Thomson for pirate trip.

All in all, a fantastic family holiday. We would recommend this hotel.

Don't be afraid to say "no" to the local trades people on the beach, they won't be offended!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, and was very good to avoid noise levels. But the entertainment finished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is clean. Be warned, on the beach we were hassled to buy things so many times. The trick is they say its free and then charge you. Do Not take your wallet on the beach as you will be pick pocketed and you won't even know. There's one older bar staff that starts off funny but soon becomes annoying, calling you Jimmy whilst waiting in the que. Tip the cleaners if you want your room cleaned everyday. The Rusdians are rude, but not as nearly as rude as the locals who seem to have access to the hotel because their friends work there. Women be wary of the Tunisian men, they are sleeze with cheese. Smiley miley as he called himself doesn't smile if you refuse his trips. Theres a nice place to eat just outside the hotel, ask for Suwan or her sister. Do not let the tall bloke serve you as he is a con man. Give a decent tip to the two ladies. Be carful not to tell them when your last night is else they will keep your change, knowing you can't extract Tunisian Dinar out of the country. The food is delicious, but you soon get bored of it. Be polite at all times to staff, even if they get on your last nerve because they'll turn the Air con off.. If the beach is packed be sure to get your evening shower by 4:30pm to ensure hot running water. If you can stomach the rude harrasing behaviour of the locals this will be a good trip. Oh and the Thompson rep zak, he is a gem. Also the pay bar owner don't let hotel customers watch his tv unless you buy in his bar. Timothy Abraham:)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just got back from 2 weeks at the tour khalef.
Weather very hot, hotel just the same, they are very friendly and can,t do enough to help you.
Rooms very good, sheets changed every day.
Food ok could have been better but there was always a choice and plenty off it.
We had no complaints some did, moaning about the russians who are very rude and talk to the staff like they are dirt .But we find that the best thing to do is just laugh at them they dont like that .In all a great relaxing holiday and its our ninth time there and will be back next year god willing

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#5 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso Hotel Sousse
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso And Spa
Marhaba Tour Khalef Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Hotel Sousse
Tour Khalef Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.