We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a good time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Ksar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Ksar to your Saves list
Hotel El Ksar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier | Khezama, Sousse 4051, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“had a good time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is ok we stayed in a bungalow and they are very spacious and comfortable beds very large and peaceful the hotel has nice gardens and pools,we preferred the"dragut" pool and snack bar but the beach is very nice also mostly the staff are pleasant but there was a few members ie three in the main bar very bad attitudes and miserable the animation team were friendly and helpful and did their best with the shows anyway on to the only things that lets the hotel down the food and drinks the red wine was like vinegar and the glasses for the beer too small we have been in other hotels in that area and the wine was much nicer and the food was really for this day and age very poor the authentic Tunisian food was ok and I tried most but beans get a bit tiresome they could do with some more choices for international cuisine maybe theme nights we will possibly try a different hotel next time but i would say try for yourself.

Room Tip: Bungalows quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    268
    140
    96
    90
See reviews for
286
263
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Me, my boyfriend, my 6 year old daughter and 2 friends went to El Ksar in October, speedy check in and was happy with our room which had an adjoining door to our friends which was nice, only downside is that it was right outside the evening entertainment so if we didn't want to watch it we had no choice as it was outside our balcony! Nice view though of the pool and sea, towels and bedding was changed every day and was cleaned regularly.

The food in the hotel was 'ok', I have been to all inclusive before and am certainly not fussy, I tried everything but they didn't really change the menu much day to day & the fruit wasn't very nice. The food at the beach bar I found was the best and the smaller pool serves panini's at lunch which are nice. The pancakes by the main pool that are served in the afternoon are amazing and all bread and pastries were fresh which was really tasty. We found the hotel didn't give us any information about what was on and what was on offer, including activities and entertainment, didn't have a clue what was going on or what time anything was, the only reason I knew about some things was looking online on my phone from reviews!

The beach is amazing, you have to get there early to get a sun lounger though, we got up at 6am one day to put our towels down and they were nearly all gone! The beach was my favourite part of the hotel, the barmen bring your drinks to your lounger if you ask and it has a lovely view, beach is nice and warm, you can see lots of fish and plenty of water sports on offer.

I felt the service at the hotel was very poor, we spent a lot of time waiting for staff to clear tables and serve us which was really annoying and they seemed to have their 'favourite' guests who obviously must tip but I didn't feel I should have to tip to receive a good service.

Drinks were pretty awful, they were always served in small plastic cups which was annoying and always long ques and limited choice.

The shisha lounge was nice but again the service was very poor.

Overall I wouldn't go back to this hotel but the beach was lovely and the surrounding areas.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I went for two nights in March and it was an ok experience. The rooms were small but accommodating, no mini bar but good towels and comfy bed. I had an ocean view and was lovely.
Elevators are fast and their is a nice nightclub in hotel.

I am sure this is a great Holliday destination.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I travelled with my friend to the El Ksar in Feb 2014 - it was our second stay at this hotel.
The room this time was much much better. The beds were large and the room was spacious with a great view of the sea and spa.

The staff at this hotel are overall friendly. Kareem the porter is great! Always greets you with a smile and kind word. Walid on reception is friendly and helpful. We used the spa facilities again at the Queen Didom spa and I have to say all the staff over there were friendly. Sassi who sells the spa packages in the hotel is not pushy and will create you a great package tailored to suit your needs.

We spent most of our time in Cafe Maure - Marwen and his staff offer a great service and they are extremely attentive. Great Shisha's too :-) This is the most authentically Tunisian place in the hotel it is where local people from Sousse come to relax and spend time with their friends.

The only thing that really lets this hotel down is the food. They need to update the menu and cater to a wider range of tastes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was my 20 something visit in less than 5 years , its my second home The staff are amazing the hotel is constantly being upgraded and is a work in progress . I was the only British visitor there in amongst over 180 German guests but the staff made sure I was well looked after and I never felt left out The entertainment was sparse , but hey it was February and the hotel did not have a lot of guests to entertain. The food was varied and the salad bar and pastries are amazing. As I said I have visited the hotel on many occasions I prefer May and June as its not too hot and there is a better mix of nationalties then The rooms are bright and clean .....lovely maids and housekeeping staff and of course air conditioned. If you want to stay somewhere friendly and guest orientated give the El ksar a try I, m sure you wont be disapointed

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are the best views ever ....scenery beautiful ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I went here for 10 days with my brother and father and it was an amazing stay, we made many friends over the stay and the entertainment staff where amazing there were many activities for children and adults throughout the day, the evening food was very nice and there was always a different selection of food each day, I usually slept through breakfast but lunch was amazing, I usually ate on the beach area and it was lovely like dinner each day there were different food choices. On the Thursday of our stay there was a beach party which was fab! Also they served nice afternoon snacks and the wait for drinks wasn't long, the entertainment in the evening was cheesy but the entertainment staff where loveable, I would defiantly recommend it and I think we will be going back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in August.
When we got the the hotel we had to wait about two hours before we were able to check in which was a bit annoying as we were shattered from the flight and roasting.
Once finally checking in, our room was a fair size. A bit basic but perfect for us as we didn't spend much time in the room anyway.
The pool area was lovely, although getting a sun lounger was an absolute mission. Having to set an alarm for 5am on your holiday was not great. The lifeguard was lovely though and always made sure we had a good spot.
The food was really quite rubbish. Breakfast was alright (we were craving bacon or a fry up by the end of the week). All the pastries and breads were baked fresh. Lunch and dinner though was poor, we pretty much stuck to pizza and pasta all week but still managed to get a touch of deli belly.
The staff were pretty awful too. Reception staff were rude and there was never any dinar behind the desk to exchange. Although one day we were told there was no money, my boyfriend went back about 4 minutes later and managed to exchange our money! Restaurant staff look like they want to kill themselves and are so slow at setting the tables.
The animation team were lovely and always managed to get everyone involved. The night time entertainment was pretty rubbish aswell and since there's nothing near by we were pretty bored at night.
The beach is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. We went on a jet ski which was fab and the beach was beaut to walk along at night.
The hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. Locals are really quite dodgy so we were terrified to leave the resort but we enjoyed relaxing and sunbathing for the week.
Everybody expects a tip in tunisia so carry plenty of change.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but I won't be rushing back any time soon!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Ksar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ksar

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier | Khezama, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Ksar 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the magic and mystery of the Mediterranean Sea El Ksar Resort & Thalasso is located on a private sandy beach surrounded by generous gardens. The hotel offers plenty of activities such as mini golf, bridge, table tennis, Volleyball, tennis, shooting centre, jungle park, four outdoor pools, one indoor pool and many more. The beautiful yacht port “Port El Kantaoui” is only a few kilometers away.Featuring 552 comfortable and elegant rooms, junior suites and 1 presidential suite, inlcuding family rooms which interconnect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Ksar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthago El Ksar Sousse
Karthago El Ksar Hotel Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Ksar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.