We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defo not 4*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Ksar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Ksar to your Saves list
Hotel El Ksar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier | Khezama, Sousse 4051, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Defo not 4*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not much to do in Sousse, people arrogant and some rude. Cats in hotel and resteraunt. Staring at you whilst your eating! Not very hygienic! Even near the pool outside, youl be sat having a bite to eat and next thing cats will come staring wanting food! That really spoilt it for me! Overall ok food average, always same. Dont think il be going back to Tunisia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    306
    158
    104
    99
See reviews for
312
304
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me my girlfriend and our son went here and from the day we arrived till the day we left we were treat like a king and queen the staff from here are the best staff I've ever met in my whole life unreal is the word so helpful the hotel was out of this world not one bit of dust to be found and even tho the hotel was going threw a modnisation we were very well looked after and it was kept clean food was lovely great mixture of food and drinks there was a shock that a night club was also in the hotel in the basement great entertainment from the team there would happily return to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Let me start this review by stating that this hotel is a good 3 star hotel but not 4 star.
They do seem to be refurbishing this hotel which ,in my opinion, is needed as the place seems to be a bit tired.
The food was not the best and for vegetarians quite poor.
Rooms were of a standard size but perfectly adequate
However did not expect to have to rent a fridge.
That is all the negative stuff.
Now to the positives.
The staff were all very friendly but special mention must be made to Mongi who my grandson thought was the bees knees ( so did granma & granda ) and Leila at the bar.
Whilst there tried the Jungle Park which is in the hotel grounds.
The park is a kind of obstacle course between trees with zip lines etc.
Here yet again all the staff were great and paid close attention to safety.
Ahmed deserves special praise for the patience shown to my slightly nervous grandson.
I found the location of the hotel to be just fine.
10-15 minute stroll to the Tej Marhaba shopping centre.
Taxis cost 5 dinars ,about 2 pounds,to the Medina in Sousse
7 Dinars to Port El Kantoui.
Overall this hotel is OK but with a few tweeks could justify its 4 star rating.
Sorry nearly forgot.
Our maid Monia was fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax,Yorkshire,UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived at the end of October 2012 and whilst the customer service was average, we were blown away when we found out the hotel had been taken over by a German company on 1st November 2012 and immediately the standard of customer service was superb.
The staff now put in that extra effort to be extra friendly and say "hello" to you at every opportunity.
The hotel has some superb facilities but is a little run down, but in the first few days of November, improvements were being made: interior stair railings being painted, new paving flags being laid to the beach, fresh flower arrangement on the bar.
Whilst the hotel hosts a lot of German guests, the Brits tend to stick together and there is a great British friendly atmosphere. Met some extremely lovely people of all ages.
We found the food great - at the end of the day you don't go abroad to eat the same stuff you have at home. Breakfast croissants are the best we've EVER tasted. All freshly baked in front of your eyes. My only advice would be STEER CLEAR OF THE SALADS which are absolutely lovely, tempting and tasty, but I got 3 day bug/diorrhea from eating salad, as they wash it in normal tap water which we can't stomach. If the hotel management read this, perhaps you could start to wash salad in bottled water, and promote and market that to guests.
Rooms are kept extremely clean by the diligent and friendly housekeeping staff.
Entertainment team are great - you can either join in, or not bother, and they are so friendly as they love to speak and learn English by talking to you.
We didn't go out of the hotel complex (only to the private beach) as I wasn't confident enough to take on the usual hassle you get in North Africa.
Sufficient sun beds by pools for all, however I did find them a little bony and recommend the hotel get them re-strung. I found the beach beds were more comfortable, being of the older plastic type, and more supportive, especially with the free yellow mattress on top!
Didn't use the spa facilities.
I would love to return to this hotel in the future, if only to see how the new company turn the place around.

Room Tip: You don't spend much time in the room, so don't get hung up about it. If you don't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

this hotel makes for a pleasant stay,i found it to be a little too quite on a night time but was very clean and food was very nice lots of fish, meat and salads ect sweets were to die for and fruit every day to.rooms were tidy and clean.lots of sunbeds so no fighting on a morning so was a refreshing change.tip were given but not expected which was a change to other hotels in tunisia.my only disappointment was it was advertised as a lively hotel which led me to believe that there would be alot going on later on a night the staff did try and get you involved but my idea of a good night isnt salsa.ideal place for couples or thous wanting a quite holiday,there was a kids club but didnt seem alot going on but there wasnt many kids there to be fair.plenty sporting activitys all day but if thats not your bag then you may be stuck.i went with my elderly mother so all suited me down to the ground..

Room Tip: all rooms much the same and i found to be quite for sleeping as the rooms have a inner door to block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just had a great week at this hotel but that was mainly because of great friends as the hotel, location and food is very average.
Port el kantoui much nicer or better still hammamet.
Weather was changeable although warm.
A couple of days were rainy an cloudy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went here on a family holiday with my mother and father from Wales!! The entertainment team were absolutely amazing the funniest had to be gogo they were amazing and so so so funny I miss them evryday! I will come back to see if they still work there! The hotel was clean and tidy some staff were lovely others at the night reception not the best leila was lovely! The food wasn't the best but there's always chips burgers and kebabs so we were fine! Staff were friendly!! But all credit has to go to the entertainment!! Awesome holiday It was well lush!!!!!

Room Tip: If you're in the bungalows you might hear slight noise from the night club but we were close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Ksar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ksar

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier | Khezama, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Ksar 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the magic and mystery of the Mediterranean Sea El Ksar Resort & Thalasso is located on a private sandy beach surrounded by generous gardens. The hotel offers plenty of activities such as mini golf, bridge, table tennis, Volleyball, tennis, shooting centre, jungle park, four outdoor pools, one indoor pool and many more. The beautiful yacht port “Port El Kantaoui” is only a few kilometers away.Featuring 552 comfortable and elegant rooms, junior suites and 1 presidential suite, inlcuding family rooms which interconnect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel El Ksar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthago El Ksar Sousse
Karthago El Ksar Hotel Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Ksar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.