We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was very happy there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiser Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kaiser Hotel to your Saves list
Kaiser Hotel
Blvd Taib M'hiri, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I was very happy there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lots of very mixed reviews.
in a nutshell. Rooms a little dated, BUT CLEAN!
Shower and bath..........powerful shower jet and limitless hot water.
Bed (2 singles) but large and pushed together. Bed comfortable, linen clean.
TV had English speaking news and 4 movie channels in English, with Arabic subtitles.
Balcony, small, but comfy.
Aircon.perfect 15 degrees (for me), never had to alter. No noise from it.
Corridors echo...so inconsiderable neighbours banging their doors can wake you, but not much of a problem.
Had B&B only. Coffee ok. boiled eggs, french bread, yogurt, some juices...not very inspiring and dining table-clothes looked like they were not wiped from one month to the next, let alone between servings.
Pizza resturant attached to hotel is good value for money. Pizza aint great, but the lasange is amazing and there's a little something on the menu for even the pickiest of diners, and prices are good! e.g Lasange portion, (decent size) with fries, french bread n butter and a sprite was 8 dinar (around £3.33).
Bar is opened until late. Again, cheap, but not great alcohol variety.
Sauna, Jacuzzi, Gym, Massage..all available, 9.3 til 10pm...reasonable prices, professional service.
Note...guests...who make a new friend and wish to 'have a drink in their room' with that new friend, will be required to book a seperate room for this friend, at a cost of 50 Dinar. (£20)! Please note, there are NO easy alternatives to this arrangement..anywhere in Sousse! This arrangement is applicable, regardless of your gender or the gender of your guest, who must be at least 18 and have ID for check-in.

Staff are nice, I felt safe, lots of opportunities to make new friends with tourists and locals alike.

I will return...............very very cheap via travelrepublic.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have, apparently, been the first rooms to benefit from refurbishment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    52
    39
    20
    19
See reviews for
18
55
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yalta, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Visited in June. In principle, not bad and not expensive BUT (there always)) for people with a good appetite, nothing what to do here! Free pizza from the hotel BUT - its lousy! Beer - is expensive but the taste is the same as the pizza! Strange staff: how in police - a good cop - bad cop. Resepshen changing shifts, and your mood changes with them. The main entertainment, communication with the local contingent)) its fun but dangerous for the girls (do not let you walk around alone by the hotel :)) In Russian nobody do not speak unless you know English, learn Arabic. But in general they are fine fellows: they speak in all languages ​​(this is not our Euro 2012), at all ..... other than Russian. Although there are a couple of people found out where is the word "GOOD -in russian")) and this is GOOD! I advise you not to be nervous) a little more irony and humor! I almost forgot, just take out the prices, money and the local taxi driver (taxi is the most important, a chance to be without money, there is a "miracle" buttons on the counter, :)), :)) I know). In general, Sousse - is a paradise! A wonderful place. Try to taste of Sousse - you will not regret! I promise!

Room Tip: All room in good, spacious and with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Kent
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel was cheap. I preface everything I'm about to say with that. If you're after a very cheap place to stay, this is it. However in hindsight we'd have paid a wee bit more and stayed elsewhere. The hotel is clean and has all the basic amenities. That's about it. No frills. The room was a decent size with a balcony which overlooked the tiny pool area. The view was of Sousse. Just some buildings, some still being built. Again, no frills.

The staff were helpful. The cleaner was very nice and kept the room spotless. The reception were helpful and always there to change money etc. The breakfast would struggle to reach the basic category. We gave up on it after a few days. Pretty horrible coffee, really cheap and nasty tasting juice. Bread that was past it's freshest. Croissants that tasted as if they were bought in bulk from a supermarket. Hard boiled eggs, soft cheese triangles and some sort of sliced meat. Every morning. Best avoided unless you're really starving or seriously short of funds.

The hotel is on a busy road. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach. There are plenty of good places to eat within easy walking distance. There are an endless stream of taxi's passing by if you want a lift to the Medina or the Museum etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hello and Thankyou to all the staff (except one) for making my holidays in tunisia enjoyable i have no complaints and if i did i am sure it would soon be sorted if possible,if you want to sit around the tables drinking and smoking (foreign tourists)and talking about others no doubt you would welcome be aware though if you have a tunisian boyfriend as soon as your back is turned you will be talked about or if you are bothered by any unwelcome boys or men you just tell them you are not interested. THANKS AGAIN TO THE STAFF HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!!!!!

Room Tip: Personally i prefer the rooms over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hotel was an average hotel. The room was nice, which was cleaned daily with fresh towels. Unfortunately we did not get any sunshine in our room at any time of day. The pool was very small, which was too cold to swim in. There was very little space for sun loungers, which were all in the shade by mid afternoon. Food was acceptable and cheap. Drinks were cheap. Staff were very friendly and helpful, although there was a bit of a language barrier, however their English was much better than my Tunisian! The English female guests made me feel ashamed to call myself British! Most appeared to be in the 50+ age bracket looking for young Tunisian "boys" to befriend. They then ate their own food and drank their own drinks in the bar area, or tried their best to get out of paying for anything. The main barman, Ahmed, commented that these women think of the Tunisians as below them. We told them, this is not normal practice for the UK, as we would not tolerate this behaviour here and they would be asked to purchase wares from the establishment or leave!
The resort itself is a very dirty littered area. A dead rat was left on the path for several days before "something" probably ate it. Even the beach was littered with glass and bottles, making a beautiful beach a dangerous place to walk. On two days, we saw Tunisian men urinating openly on the beach, regardless of who was around.
The shop keepers were very intimidating, almost bullying you to buy their wares. We realise they are only trying to make a living, but it got to the point where we couldnot be bothered to even walk down the street. They try to con you, saying they work in your hotel and then try to get you to go to their shop! One chap grabbed for my arm to pull me into his shop, I side stepped him and walked round a lamp post to avoid him.
Cigarette sellers, give you nuts to eat, then expect to get paid for them, when you decline they ask you to exchange english sterling coins for dinars, but this is to see what you have in your purse. I ended up having a tug of war with one seller as he grabbed my money. A kind lady who spoke Tunisian saw what happened and sent him packing. How frightening this was!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are less noisy and have some sun shine during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

not bad when you live in my room number 501 ;) just nothing for have fun there or meet people just the bar and when the most of customer of retaurant or bar are from out side, it will be soooo :'( lol but its ok like hotel when you have business in sousse but if you want enjoy and relax you have to find other place

Room Tip: room number 501 is fantastic amazing and lovely,not just cuz its mine but cuz really she is like tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I was staying in the Kaiser for 2 nights in November 2011 as I was visiting friends who were also staying in Sousse at this time. Booked the hotel via onthebeach.com and could only book for a minimum for 3 nights but at just under £19.00 for 3 nights bed and breakfast - who could really complain??!!

The staff here were very friendly and also helped out as had a few communication problems with my friend who i was there to visit (we kept missing each other and had a problem with her phone not receiving calls). Could leave messages for each other at reception and the staff went out their way to ensure that we received these messages, they must have a fantastic memory!!

The room was clean but basic but had everything that you needed. The decor was a bit outdated but the room was cleaned everyday and had hot water....what more could you ask for for that price!!

Would certainly stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaiser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser Hotel

Address: Blvd Taib M'hiri, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaiser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Hotel Sousse
Hotel Kaiser Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiser Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.