We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marhaba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marhaba Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 7 Novembre | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Newcastle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hello my husband and i are going to this hotel the last week in September this year for 2 weeks, we stayed in the Mahaba Club last year and had a great time but unfortunately they turned the air conditioning off on the 1st of October, could someone tell me if they leave it on at the Mahaba Beach please & is there any English TV channels.

Thanks
Sally

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    454
    182
    70
    50
See reviews for
427
520
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silsden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the hotel and have had a fab time. The staff were friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you.The room was spacious and well furnished and we had a sea view and could hear the waves at night.( Blissful) The hotel is undergoing renovations at this time whilst it is quiet but they did not impede on our holiday. After reading other reviews about the food we were a little apprehensive but the food was good with lots of choice and I think some people are very fussy and also need to remember they are in an Muslim country and not England!!! it was great value for money and well worth it. On a down side I think it will be very different in the height of summer and could imagine it being very busy and noisy. Even the staff said they did not like it in the height of summer !!! would definitely return again out of season if looking for good food and a rest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Travelling as a couple who had stayed in Skanes, Tunisia twice before, having both good and bad experiences, we thought we would try a different resort. On arrival of our first trip we were welcomed with cocktails and although a short delay whilst waiting for our room to be made up (we arrived at 11.50am, room not ready till after 12pm) we were taken to our first floor room. The room was clean and very spacious and had a good view over looking the pool area. The maids were great, they are happy to clean everyday, however if you don’t want to be bothered you only have to say and they will clean when you request.

The weather in October was fantastic (in the low to mid 30’s), surprisingly warmer than I had expected for this time of the year.

The outdoor pool was adequate in size and was cleaned daily, as our first trip was in October the pool was only half full (but more than enough to swim in). In peak season it is busy and unless you are down to the pool early you may not get a sun bed under a parasol (although there are plenty of beds available in the grounds). You do not need to tip for the sun bed mats; however it is expected as it is a tipping culture. Steve the pool attendant was fantastic, we tipped him the first day and said that we would look after him at the end of the holiday, after this we had sun beds reserved for us (under parasols) everyday of the holiday (without the expectation of a daily tip). We did of course give him a nice tip at the end of the holiday!

In the daytime you have access to the pool bar which is self service or you can ask one of the waiters to get them for you. The beach bar serves snacks throughout the day, if the buffet is not available then you can order off the all inclusive menu and it will be cooked freshly. The mini bar is open throughout the day and is great place to sit and chill out after a hard day of sun bathing. In the evening the salon bar is also open, so plenty of places to get served without having to queue. Again if you tip the waiters (not much) they will look after you for the evening.

Food is served from 6.30am though till 11.00pm, this is the best place that I have been for the availability of food. Breakfast is 6.30am – 10.00am in the main restaurant; late breakfast is served in the snack bar from 10.00am-12.00pm, the beach bar was open for snacks throughout the day, in addition the main restraint opens for lunch 12.30pm – 2.00pm. Evening dinner in the main restaurant opens 6.30pm – 9.00pm and then snack bar is open from 9.00pm – 11.00pm. I am a fairly picky eater but found the food to be good compared with previous resorts we had stayed in and always found something we liked to eat. There are also opportunities throughout the stay to sample some local Tunisian cuisine which I highly recommend.

So the thing that made our holiday so special was the staff and the friends we have made. There are so many to mention but we’ll start with our waiter Riaz. Every meal time we were greeted with a smile and our drinks were served shortly after. Although again as it is a tipping culture there is an expectation to do so, we gave Riaz a small tip at the beginning of the holiday to ensure that he looked after us and again tipped at the end of the two weeks. Although no names to mention, the rest of the staff within the restaurant were fantastic, they would always greet you and ensure that you were having a good time.

We then have the bar staff, they made us feel like we were family and couldn’t do enough for us. So many of them really made our holiday special but a shout out to Salem, Walid, Chokri and Sofien who really were memorable and will be life long friends.

Now onto the animation team, where do I start? These guys are really something else! Khaled, Susie, Leo, Laska, Timo and Joe all work so hard to make everyone happy and they never stop smiling. Kids love them, adults too! From early in the morning when they run archery sessions, mini golf, exercise sessions, Water Polo and French Boules to last thing at night when they are doing the evening entertainment. The comedy sketch show is a must see, I don’t think I have laughed so much in all my life. I could write so much more about these guys, but instead I think you should find out for yourselves. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself saying Hallo Hallo for weeks after you come back of your holiday!

We went as a couple and by the end of the holiday we were a group of 16+. We met some fantastic people, some who lived just 20 minutes down the road back at home and some that live the opposite side of the world. All of which I now stay in touch with on a regular basis and one day hope we can all have a Tunisia 2012 re-union.

All this and more in one trip, we flew back to the UK on 17th October and by 24th October we had booked to go back again from Boxing day till 9th January. I wasn’t sure that any holiday could live up to the last one, but how wrong was I. We walked into the hotel and were instantly recognised by all of the staff and it was like we had never been away. The service as ever was fantastic and I have never felt so at home on holiday. Again we met some amazing people who I now call friends and can’t wait to plan some visits to meet up.

Everything on the second holiday was equally as brilliant as the first, the only differences for us this time was we were on the third floor with a sea view, beautiful and picturesque but the waves crashing were loud at night (for me I would prefer a pool view). The indoor pool was warm so for winter is perfect and for those of you that want to keep trim, the gym facilities are good (although I can’t say that I actually used them).

So what next, well I know I am going to miss the hotel, our friends and the staff, so there is only one thing for it. Yes we are going back in May. See you all soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great Place, Great Christmas and a memorable New Year.

How do I sum up the two weeks over Christmas and New Year at the Marhaba Beach Hotel… “Interesting”.
Arrived 23rd December All inclusive.
Having emails the hotel a few weeks before arrival asking for two, 4th floor, sea view adjoining rooms we were allocated two, 3rd floor, sea view rooms next to each other… well it was close to what we asked for.
Rooms we a real good size and very clean and tidy, the bathroom was good with what a door that either closed to the separate toilet or bathroom area… or would have if it had been fitted better, but a small issue. The tiles and tiling were interesting in places and suspect may have been finished by a four year old but it is a talking point in most of the reports on here.
View from our room was fantastic and great to wake up too on Christmas day…
The entire hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, great waiters and the odd tip ( a dinar here or there)really does ensure you are looked after even better… even to the point where a nod in the right direction ensured drinks were forthcoming.. so if you have the same drinks on a regular basis the service is great.
Christmas Eve Gala evening was fantastic, great food, great service, great atmosphere and great entertainment in a more European style, a real Christmas treat but Christmas day was just another day in the sun, so different to being at home.
New Year Gala evening was more local type music and entertainment and really loud not what I expected after the Christmas Eve event, food not as good, service really slow and gave in after the main course which was served around 10:45 to 11 o’clock at night with still two more course to go… but the evening got worse, friend we had meet while in the hotel had there Ipad stolen and things kicked off.. resulted in four Algerians being arrested and still Ipad wasn’t recovered.
Quick note on Algerians, they did take over the hotel around New Year, they were loud, ignorant and would just take over.. jump queues in dining room and there were a number of incidents of items being stolen and a number of European women being harassed by Algerian men, but this shouldn’t stop you visiting this hotel as its not the hotels fault for the Algerians actions.
The hotel food overall is excellent, meat dishes really tender, good choice of food and you always could have chips with every meal (except breakfast).. which brings me to breakfast its ok but the same everyday hot food try’s to be a English breakfast but isn’t… its ok but after day 2 I wasn’t that bothered, there is the choice of cereals and bread roles, croissants etc. so always something if you want it.

Only trip we did was the 2 day safari, great trip but you do spend a lot of time on a coach but worth it in the long run.

The hotel is a great place to visit, the food is excellent, animation (entertainment) team are really great guys, meet some great people and made some great new friends. Price excellent as well so why not give it a try.

Room Tip: Sea view great from 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The service is good and the staff are friendly. The food is limited if you are vegetarian, but that's not to say I starved! The place is spotless, there is some sort of renovation going on, and the drilling got a bit much at times, but you can't make a cake without breaking eggs.
There was a mix-up with our room. We booked a sea view, but didn't get one, so they changed us to a room with both sea & pool views. Very nice. However, the next day, they needed our room, so we were upgraded to as suite. This was very spacious and had the benefit of a fridge. Not everything that is advertised is open at this timed of year. Cafes etc.
The downside of Sousse is that there is nowhere that you want to walk to. The hotel is a bit of a schlep from the town, and once there, you are hassled. It makes you think twice about venturing out on your own.
We booked with Thompson. In my opinion, once the rep had your money for the trips, she couldn't care less about you. She was not really customer focused & on occasions, I thought that she was rude, not paying attention to what was being said.
Having said that, this is a nice hotel. We have enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very good value hotel with friendly staff and located right beside a lovely wide beach which is kept clean by an Attendant who provides sun loungers for a small daily fee (2TD). The room was large, had a sea-view and was comfortable as well as clean with adequate storage space. It was disappointing that there was no safe in the bedroom to store valuables but at 2TD a day, we hired one of the small safes near Reception. They recommended 10TD a week for the Chambermaid but we suggest that 2TD a day gets you better service!

Food was of good quality and there was plenty to choose from, especially at supper when there was a choice of 2 soups and usually 1 or 2 local dishes on offer. We enjoy 'foreign' food so were pleased with the selction they had on offer. The Waiters are very helpful and we got special attention because we tipped them - 1TD at lunch and another at supper appeared to be well received. You are allocated a table at the start of your holiday and this is done to ensure the Waiters get a fair share of guests to serve and they appreciate the tips they are given. We were served by little Samir and big Sammi who were very friendly and served us the drinks (nice beer at lunch and reasonably good wine at supper) as well as cleared the dishes very quickly.

The 'all inclusive' deal saved having to carry money for drinks and coffees, but we found that a 1TD tip whenever they brought you drinks to the table was always gratefully received by the Waiters, and this also got us better service if you wanted more drinks! The Porter is very helpful with your suitcases and takes them to your bedroom after you have checked-in, for a small tip of course - just 2TD for 2 cases is enough but he will be happy if you give him a £1 coin because he gets it changed by one of the guests when he gets the opportunity - very enterprising!

We walked around the complex of 3 hotels, and found that the Tour Khalef had nicer grounds with better seating areas. They also have a better pool area, but no indoor pool, this being at the Marhaba Beach and adequately warm in the Winter. There is very little to do in the vicinity, with just a few shops (the one in front of the Tour Khalef being the best) and a small Pharmacy if you need anything medicinal. We walked along the road to both Port El Kantouie and Sousse (45 mins and 30 mins respectively), but enjoyed the short beach walk to Sousse which is to the right when you leave the hotel exit to the beach.

It was not surprising to meet several guests who have returned many times to this hotel and enjoy the facilities, one who had been back twice a year for the last 17 years! If you are looking for a good hotel and are happy to enjoy the lovely beach and just use the hotel's facilities, this will suit you very well.Enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: Any rooms on the higher floors are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a family from 12-26th December and had a great holiday. On arrival at the hotel, we thought it was a bit smaller than we expected, but very friendly with lots of nice seating areas. Our rooms were interconnecting and whilst the bedrooms were great with a sea view the bathrooms were definitely in need of a refurb, dark and dodgy tiling. I really must say the king size bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in on holiday (even rivals our own bed) - so that was a great plus point.

I like the fact that you are allocated a table in the restaurant for your whole stay. Meal times were very enjoyable with a very extensive choice with the usual salads, pasta, rice, chips, veg, various meats some freshly grilled in front of you and some lovely tunisian specialities and there was always something even for the fussy ones. Many delicious cakes and deserts on offer.

One of the best things about this hotel, was the staff. They are all very friendly and we certainly didn't feel we had to tip them (although we did). They gave a great service and worked very hard. We had a great time at the gala dinner on Christmas eve - a real effort had been made to make it enjoyable. Emma the Thomson rep, also very helpful.

If we were to return to Tunisia we would definitely come back to this hotel. Oh, and for the time of year we were very lucky with the weather - it was great!

Room Tip: High floor, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Beach Hotel

Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sousse
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba BeachLocated in Sousse and 3 km away from Port El Kantaoui resort, between the white sands and crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea, the Marhaba Beach has been created in the 80’s.His creators have established a contemporary and Moorish interiors of some suites … An ideal place for soaking up the sun of Tunisia and to relax on the beach, and the advantage of having nearest a new Thalassotherapy center : Les Neréides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marhaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Beach Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.