We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pays your money......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marhaba Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marhaba Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You pays your money......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a very cheap holiday!
The hotel was clean, but very noisy. Good food, plenty to choose from. Entertainment really poor, team fed up with their duties and it showed! Smoking is allowed in most public areas, non smokers had the smaller area of the foyer. Do not expect the 4 stars given by Tripadvisor!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    188
    113
    63
    51
See reviews for
181
204
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Fantastic Holiday. Fantastic weather really lovely hotel and place! Food Gorgeous put on half a stone in a week lol! Only 1 negative to say alcohol not very strong! so found it hard to get Drunk. We stayed 31/10/12--7/11/12. Would deffo return! Spot On!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The journey: flew from Gatwick, took about 3 hours. Arrived at Enfidha. Passport control was very long line with only a couple of people checking passports so took a while. Advise you to take a pen and complete the additional info cards on the plane so you don't get flustered when landing.

The transfer: took about an hour with 5 stops before the hotel. Rep was nice. Coaches were air conditioned. Driver wasn't a maniac. Views not that good, lots of litter, stray dogs, goats etc. A lot of olive plantations. Quite interesting.

The hotel: entrance is beautiful and impressive. Lobby equally so. Have to fill in another form when you arrive (remember that pen!) and then the porter takes you up to the room.

Money: you can't change to tunisian dinar outside of Tunisia but all hotels seem to have a means to change money and charge the same rate as the banks. £1 is about 2.5 Tunisian dinar. You can't take the money back with you to the uk either and they charge around 40% to change it back so don't change too much!

The room: massive bed, maid service daily, sheets changed every 2 days it seems. We were on 2nd floor. Only complaint here is the loud and inconsiderate people (mainly British) who came back in the early hours and clattered about in the corridor usually laughing hysterically. I'm told the 3rd floor is quieter. Noise is due to corridors being long and tiled which creates brilliant echo space. Had one bad night when huge group of Tunisian teenagers were staying and had the hotel in uproar with their loud and mischievous ways. That was only for one night though and the receptionist offered us another room which we turned down. There was a huge amount of complaints about the noise the next day which were justified. Balcony is big and ours overlooked the gardens. Fridge in room for water which you can get for free from the bar downstairs. Toilet broke twice but was fixed promptly. Water is really hard on the skin and hair, take conditioner and moisturiser! Boys too!

The pool: was lovely, we stayed at the quiet pool all week. Bessem the camel man will insist on trying to sell you camel rides every day but is easily put off with a "no thank you" and loves to indulge in a joke. Pool not heated. Enough sun beds and space at this time of year but can see how it could get crowded at peak times. Noisier pool bar does snacks. Had a bit of a problem with the flies at the pool - very irritating but manageable with a flip flop...

The beach: very rough sea, lots of space, white sand. Quite a few insistent people selling goods but can also be told no thanks. Preferred to spend our time at the pool. Beach bar looked good. Private beach roped off and pedlars can't come on. Security subtly there to get rid of people selling goods.

Other: staff were friendly, they get paid about £140 a month and work 10-12 hour shifts so appreciate a tip. We usually tipped every couple of days about 2 dinar depending on the service we received.

Outside the hotel: went to the medina and would not recommend to those who hate being hassled to buy things. Constant barrage of people standing in your way, grabbing your arms, shouting at you if you don't go in their shops. Also people who will claim to work at your hotel and it is their day off, they will show you around for a fee etc. Not true! They see your hotel arm band and are on the make. Thomas Cook rep will go through all of this. Went to nice steak house called Farmers. Food was good and simple. Service not so good, got the feeling - as we did everywhere - that the British aren't liked. Can't say I blame them as saw some very obnoxious behaviour whilst there.

Sorry for long review but some of the reviews i read on here made me very worried about coming and wanted to do a valid one! Sitting in hotel lobby at time of writing this. Written by couple in early 20's :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the all inclusive Marhaba Club Hotel on the 14th October 2012, and have to say was pleasantly surprised. All of the staff in the hotel were really nice and very helpful. Hotel was lovely and clean and all the entertainment staff went out of their way to meet and greet you. Also you could use the facilities in the Marhaba Hotel which is a bigger hotel and sister to the Marhaba Club. The food was ok, but then we were only there for 1 week and considering we have never been to Tunisia before, we are already talking about going back again the same time next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I am currently sitting in the marhaba club reception having to sort out money to pay the hotel for a vase that they have blamed the group I am with of breaking. Without paying this money we will be thrown out of the hotel and our flight back home taken away from us and the police involved. All the staff and other Tunisians will not help you, serve you drinks or do any favours for you unless you give them a tip. The first night we were here (as I am blonde) kept coming up to our room and knocking on our door asking me for sex. After this he got his genitals out to us, all in the hotel. We asked for him to be remove 5 times before this even happened. The whole location of the hotel is in not a very nice place as Friends and I have all been tried to be taken down and alley. Overall we have not had a relaxed stay as we felt like we were all targeted as we are English

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel! Got a lovely sea view even thou I never paid extra for this so cannot fault the room or cleanliness of hotel, Staff were lovely and friendly, asked directions a few times and happy to help. Maddy the Thomas cook rep is also very helpful and lent us an adaptor as we forgot ours!
We used the Marhaba hotel for evening meal as read reviews that it was much nicer, which it was! (Just take your blue restaurant card with you). The food was great, plenty of choice: Salads, soups, veg, rice, pasta, Put on 3kg in the week, loved it. Tunisian night was nice as got to try different things, They do also have chips for all those fussy eaters who can't possibility try something different! Had breakfast at the club and again loads to choose from, my favourite the pancakes. The pancake man was mental.
The animation team were brilliant aways on the go, playing games round pool and night time shows.
The beer they serve is nice and the cherry brandy is also a good drink. The Marhaba cocktail is lethal, they are defiantly not shy on their measures. My boyfriend had to ask to top his vodka and coke up with coke, lightweight! But then it depends who you get.
The only annoying thing I found was the camel and quad bike blokes that come around the pool, it's best it you don't even look or say anything to them. Rude i know but found it the only way. If you say no thank you they seem to see that your making conversation and stay longer!

Outside the hotel, the best and easier (and fun) way to get to sousse and port el is the Noddy train! Every half hour and just flag it down! Although the golden rule in sousse is never trust anyone! Seriously Tunisian are the equivalent of chav's in this country and what money for doing nothing or very little, and they are not afraid to ask, nor ask for more if your tip for them doing nothing is not enough. Just walk away.
Went to the saloon restaurant for dinner once, just up road from hotel. Very nice food! The guy kept our change 18d bout £8 for tip without asking just assumed, there was only 2 of us and was more than 10% of bill. Not that I'm tight and would've tip just I didn't like the way they expect it and decide how much you should give them! I decide if and how much I will tip you! I just found Tunisians rude!
Having said that was a lovely holiday and the hotel was well worth money! (The tipping thing doesn't apply in hotel, just outside, just tip on last day and that's fine) but prob wouldn't venture back as wasn't keen on country!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

second time we have stayed at the marhaba club this time was october 24th hotel had not changed much good food somthing for everyone went to pool at marhaba hotel good clean good food for lunch drink was ok plenty of wine large and sprit entertement was fun if you take part would go back again to the marhaba club p.s indoor pool was getting revamp so look forward to see what it is like next time staff are very nice and heplfull thank for a wounderfull holiday

Room Tip: we stayed on the third floor and had a good view had sun on balcony till 2pm and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Club Hotel

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Marhaba Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Sousse
Marhaba Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.