We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marhaba Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marhaba Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Syorks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived at Marhaba club about 11am Sun 16thSept 2012 Check in staff very friendly, porter took us to our room (please note if anyone helps you in any way I.e the porters at the airport or hotel they do expect a tip, this is a very poor country and the wages are very low therefore the Tips are appreciated, a tip of £1 if you haven't had time to change any money is a nice amount for them and one you have changed your money 1denar is around 35p is about the norm to tip and can secure a decent position round the pool or beach if given along with your towel to the guys who clear the sun loungers on a evening) we had paid a little extra on our booking for a sea view and what a view it was beautiful. The room was spotless clean and spacious the sheets and towels were changed every day and a fresh bottle of water left by the maids, if you do not want the maids to walk in when you are in the room put out the do not disturb sign! We left a denar for the maid every day and she made us some swans out of the towels and even a rose one day which was lovely. In the hotel lobby there is free wifi which is great and you can use all the facilities in both this hotel and the Marhaba Beach hotel which is part of the same complex and is a little more grand in the lobby with lots of easy lounging soft furnishings. The restaurant's offer buffet style dinning with lots of choice but if you like your English breakfast and chicken nuggets it's not for you! Although there are lovely pizzas, breads, pasta, rice, fish, chicken, prawns, couassants, pancakes, etc all very nice and there are 3bbq areas by the pools and on the beach with bars. All the staff are friendly but if you are a blonde female you may have to laugh of a few compliment's from the bar staff as they can be a bit cheeky, I found as a slightly overweight 45year old it hilarious to be told I was a beautiful sexy lady! And the Animation team were fantastic, they were on the go all day with Aquarobic's, water polo, children's entertainment and then the show at night they never stopped. We would recommend a visit to Kantaoui you get on the noddy train outside the hotel pay when you get there and it's only 5 denar per couple and then catch it back when you are ready from the same place. We also walked out in the evening to the Farmers it's a steak house a five min walk left out of the hotel it's very cheap, we had a bailey's and a bottled lager I had a small steak and my boyfriend had a steak and the bill was 43 denar which is less than £20. All in all we had a great time the weather was fantastic a the sea crystal clear :)

Room Tip: Pay extra on booking for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    159
    101
    53
    47
See reviews for
156
173
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After spending our first day of our honeymoon stuck in Manchester airport we eventually flew out after a 13 and a half hour delay. Would never go back to this hotel, food was awful, had a upset stomach for two days, a couple of other guests that i know of suffered the same, had to visit the pharmacy for some medication, flies on the food and a bird that was flying around in the restaurant were we were eating our food, probably thats what caused my upset stomach, dont think that is acceptable!!!!!, found some locals to be very rude with us as we wouldnt buy the rubbish that they were selling, room was good although air conditioning was hit and miss, one day it was working the next it wasnt and it was leaking, some of staff was friendly but others ignored you, had a lovely view of the sea from our room. Would never stop here again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We read lots of reviews prior to leaving and were a bit worried before arriving. We had initially booked the Marhaba Hotel, but the refurb still wasn't completed when we arrived, so we were moved to the Marhaba Club which is within the same resort and 2mins walk away. We were able to use the Marhaba Hotels pool and bars though which was good.

We had small children and were away with my Mum, so we requested quiet ground floor rooms next door to each other. We got 2 huge rooms, the double bed in our room was ENORMOUS, we quite often had me, my husband, our 3.5yr old and our 4mth old baby all sleeping in the bed and there was still loads of room leftover and we're not small people!! It must have been over 7ft wide!!!! The balcony's were a great size too.

Our rooms had baths with showers over and the bathrooms were a good size. Both showers weren't working, which we complained about and they were fixed the following day.

We arrived at lunchtime and were shown to our rooms after completing the arrival forms and we were then able to go for lunch which was great.

At the time we were there, the restaurant in the main hotel was an absolute nightmare, as the marhaba hotel wasn't completed, so all the guests that were staying in the completed part of the hotel, were using the restaurant at the Marhaba Club and it was ridiculously busy!! Quite often the queue for food was stretching out the door, so unless you went very early or very late, then you would be standing waiting for up to 20mins to get to the food section. We found if we went straight to the pasta and pizza and salad sections, then we could miss out the queue... Not ideal, but it helped as we had young children and my husband is diabetic and often can't wait that long to eat...

I enjoy good food and am pretty adventurous and my husband is much more plain and my little boy likes pasta and salad. We each found something to enjoy every night, although, I would have preferred more tunisian food. But meals were tasty and lots of choice.

We never had any problems with the tipping, we tipped the barman on our last night, as he had been very good to us and filled up my little boys milk tippy cup for him every meal time, or whenever he asked. We had taken our own big tumblers in our suitcases and there was never a problem having these filled up. There was no problem with getting 4 drinks at a time either.

We made the mistake of tipping our waiter on the first night and he then left the hotel half way through our trip and the last week, we never seemed to have the same table and often had trouble getting clean cutlery and plates, etc... But I think this was down to them having too many guests due to the other hotel not being finished.

We tipped the pool man every 3-4 days and he laid out loungers and towels for us each morning, so that we always had shade for our baby when we came down, he was very thoughtful and we greatly appreciated it.

One word of warning, if you go with a baby, prepare to be hounded. The tunisians love babies and every 5mins, someone was coming over to talk to her, kiss her, stroke her, etc.... I eventually gave up being bothered about it, as she seemed to enjoy the attention, but it does get very irritating, when you are trying to let them sleep....

The pool bars do food at all mealtimes and they were ok. The marhaba club pool bar has the pancake man occasionally doing pancakes for breakfast - think it might be on a saturday morning and that was a nice change - he does them in shapes for the kids, which my son loved...

All in all, it was a lovely relaxing holiday and we would love to go back.

Top tips....

1. Put your towels in the bath and they will be changed daily
2. If you are going to the Medina make sure you agree a price before getting in the taxi and make sure you tell them to drop you off right outside.
3. Tip the poolman and he will make sure your loungers and towels are waiting for you every morning
4. If you are polite with the staff, they are very polite in return - they work very long hours and often get very little thanks from guests - I was horrified how rude russian and german tourists were to them!!
5. If you venture outwith the hotel, don't listen to anyone who tells you they work at the hotel, and offer to show you around, as they have spotted your all inclusive wristband and they know which hotel it belongs to.... It's a con and they want paid for showing you around.
6. If you go to the medina - shop around - I was kicking myself for buying a bag which at the time sounded like a good deal, but a few shops down the road, I could have got the same bag at much better quality for a lower price!!! Don't be pushed into buying... You have to be prepared to go to the medina - it will be noisy, you will get harassed - but just be polite and say no thank you, it will also get VERY hot... We went twice once in the morning, which was horrendous and boiling hot, and the second time we went late afternoon and it was much more pleasant.
7. The Neptune restaurant attached to the Marahaba Beach is awful. It took us nearly 3hours to finish a 2 course meal, which included uncooked food, incredibly slow service and it seemed that we were constantly ignored in favour of other guests who were wearing a different colour of wristband?!?! Not impressed at all... Was a shame, as it was the one meal we decided we would pay for to go out and eat at as it was our first wedding anniversary - and it was a complete waste of time and money!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms to the left of reception were very large and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel is very average. most of the employees are very friendly and helpful. However people outside is rude and pushy (men), have no respect for others. You can feel the country has no leader and no proper rules and regulations. At the hotel they tell you one thing at the airport completely another. We had a problem changing our money back to our currency. At the Hotel they say they don't do that and we need to change at the airport. However, Banks at the airport were closed (6am), when I asked for the manager, manager didn't really care. At the airport little shops can change you the money for very low rate. (that's was a rip off). The only amazing thing from our whole trip to Tunisia was a 2 day trip to Sahara. Mush see!
Beach is good but a lot of locals have an access to it, and always try to bather you. Seems like men never see a women before and are starving. Will never go back to that country.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

read good bit and bad bits about this place arrived 12th sept left 19th sept2012
So taken with a pinch of salt, we arrived midday no problems when we checked in first views of hotel lovely clean spacious recepton staff polite hepful and frendly offered a choice of rooms ..sea view ,poolview,garden view or view of car park service area. took sea view , which had an allround view sea/beach/pool/garden .great room super king sized bed plenty space lots of storage lovely big clean bathroom/shower constant hot water unlike some places.

food was a bit of hit and miss (if you want british food holiday in britain) we liketo try local food,my only complaint about foodwas the amount of fish on menu but my wife and I ain't fish eaters, plenty of other choices ,lets say we never starved anddidn't need to eat outside either.
drink was in abundance wek harsh beer.. a spot of lemonade made it drinkable.spirits to me were poured to big a measure to enjoy, just ask for a small measure or tell them how small/large you want nothing was to much trouble for bar staff.

animation team were great allways on the go and lots of activitys to many to mention.
pools were great with a choice of pools beach ..golden sand and clear sea water.

great place staff were great nothing to much trouble for them
would we recomend you bet

Room Tip: ask for sea view ie 1148 or 1248 or 1348 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My partner and I spent a week at this hotel on the outskirts of Sousse in early September 2012. First impressions of the hotel were good; reception is clean, lavish and spacious, despite the bizarre lack of pens when we were trying to check in! A porter frog marched us to our room but did not demand a tip (we could not give him one as had no dinar change at that point).
Good Points: The rooms are a very good size - ours included a nice balcony and a HUGE bed, with fresh fruit on arrival. The maids are very polite and attentive. The Animation Team (particularly Gigi, Mido and Nino) were fantastic, making great effort to entertain at all times and were always smiling and happy, despite the long hours they work. If you're taking kids, the Animation Team would make the hotel a great place to holiday. The poolside bar at the quieter pool, along with the barman and the pool boy, were great and eager to please. The pools were very clean, and generally didn't get too packed. The open-air bar that backs onto the beach is very cool, with hookah pipes available for a modest fee if you're into that. The weather was amazing every day, the perfect heat and ideal for getting yourself a golden tan.
Bad Points: The "beer" here is apparently roughly 2.5% proof and is the worst beer I have EVER tasted - we had to have shandies in order to make it taste remotely drinkable. I suppose this is a symptom of an all-inclusive holiday - you can buy various crap Euro lagers from some hotel bars here if you can't stomach the free stuff. The drinks in general are appalling, and served in tiny plastic cups meaning you have to order four at a time to quench your thirst. The food, particularly at the Club restaurant was HORRIFIC - as others have commented you would not feed it to your dog - it was like school dinners or something they serve in prisons and those that say otherwise are lieing. The food at the restaurant at the Marhaba (the sister hotel connected to the Club) was better but the waiters here were mostly quite rude we found, even making lewd comments to my partner on one occasion. Try to avoid staying in a room next to the main pool if you want to get a good night's sleep - every night there is entertainment followed by pumping dance music until 12am. This wasn't particularly an issue for us, but could be for some. The air conditioning in the rooms is welcome on occasion, however don't leave it on while you sleep - I woke up half way through my holiday with a stinking cold which I attribute wholely to this and definitely not to the copious amount of alcohol I was consuming. Avoid setting up your sun lounger near the edge of the hotel's section of beach - you will be constantly hounded by beach sellers hawking their tat. Rude Russians - there are large numbers of these, do not be afraid to force them to the back of queues they will inevitably try to jump.
Despite the above negatives, if you want a relaxing holiday in Sousse with an element of fun, great weather and value for money, and especially if you have kids, try Marhaba Club and you will (probably) not be disappointed! And remember, tipping will get you a long way here!

Room Tip: Go for rooms closer to the hotel reception if you wan't a good night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We landed in Tunisia on Sunday morning 2nd September at 11 am to heavy and i mean heavy thunder storms! Never seem anything like it! Everyone on the plane was laughing! Our luggage came off soaking and our pushchair finally got to us about a hour later! After a 35 minute transfer we arrived at the marhaba club hotel and even in the rain it looked nice! We were placed in what i would call a basement level room which wasn't very handy as the lift operated from 0-4 and we were effectively -1. We got to our room a little grumpy and within 5 minutes of being there the mirror fell off the wall smashed everywhere! With the stair issue and mirror and security of having a ground floor a went to reception and demanded a change! After reading reviews if your firm and offer a small tip you will get what you want! By 10am Monday morning we had been moved to 3rd floor in a lovely room,excellent view and the Sun was beaming down and the 4 inch puddles where totally gone! We had a lovely breakfast and went down to the beach which is joined onto hotel and private! The sea was really warm and the sand life fluff! My little boy who is 20 months old loved it! We then tried out the pool which is lovely and set in beautiful grounds with its on bar which you don't even have to leave the water as its a pool bar! So beach, pool, grounds, are excellent! Was a little worried about a few things which i read on here before i went but can honestly say they are obviously the Benidorm,salou typical English tourist that wants everything for nothing and moans about every little stupid thing! There was a beach bar and restaurant, a pool bar and restaurant, and bar and restaurant in the hotel! You can also use all the eat and drink at the sand facilities at the neighbour hotel marhaba! But the 2 hotels all share the large grounds! With a separate pool! We decided to just eat in our hotel as that's where we were! The food was lovely! Lots of choice and different from nite to nite! Some slightly strange but if you want English food and moan about silly little things go to skegness sand shut up! My holiday doesn't revolve around food like some but my wife who is a little fussy eater loved most of it! If you want a nice hotel with everything you need,nice food, excellent service with a friendly atmosphere and not someone who moans about the slightest thing you will have a excellent time and a holiday to remember! Me and my wife and little boy can't wait to return! Just a quick mention to finish off review is that all the bar staff,cleaners,waiters,reception staff played jokes with you and went out there way to make your stay there extra special! They were brilliant with my little boy! Bobn momo and Dallas the animation team were excellent! When it was time to come home we were all sad! Thank you so much to all at marhaba club hotel! EXCELLENT EXCELLENT

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marhaba Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Club Hotel

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Club Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marhaba Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Sousse
Marhaba Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.