We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on the room ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Royal Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marhaba Royal Salem to your Saves list
Marhaba Royal Salem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Depends on the room ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we stayed here in January after being relocated from the Marhaba Salem as it was closed for refurb. First half of the holiday we had one of the rooms in the outside annex .... the room was heated but very basic and the building was noisy and echoing. This was not the standard of room we booked. The hotel was fully booked and we moved to a room inside the hotel for the last half; what a difference! We could not complain about this room; kingsize bed, roomy, lovely bathroom. There is some building work at Royal too as they are renovating an outside block near the back of the hotel; the noise didn't bother us even though we were right opposite but other guests had asked to move rooms.

Our other grumble was the seating arrangements in the restaurant. After a very confusing start as to where we were 'allowed' to sit (even though we were always seated by a waiter) and a couple of embarrassing altercations with a waiter and a group of guests the restaurant manager allocated seats on a table between 2 couples, very cosy! The management of tables when the manager is off needs to be looked at.

The reception staff and the spa guys are great.Our waiter was very attentive. Food got better after 4 days but was not very warm (there is a microwave). Indoor pool with jacuzzi, steam and sauna fantastic. The bar men were brilliant constantly running around to serve you at your seat. Wifi worked in our bedroom in the hotel and there is a cyber cafe. Grounds are beautiful.
Any questions please ask.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marhaba-manager, Directeur général at Marhaba Royal Salem, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on tripadvisor.com,
Our target as a management in Marhaba Royal Salem is to give you satisfaction for all your stay with us and more.
That's why you will see one of the managers of Marhaba royal salem all the time in touch with the guest to give him more advises about they stay or to program with them there trip-visit in Sousse.

For the restaurant, we was at this time full, as you told in your comment, and we are sorry for this disappointment about the restaurant. and Be sure that we will fix this, with the person in charge.

thank you again,
See you soon with us.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    413
    210
    77
    72
See reviews for
592
358
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My second holiday at this hotel in two months. Lovely hotel with beautifully kept grounds to walk around. The beach is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and has a beach bar there. The staff are what make this hotel really great though. The cleaners are fantastic and work really hard - my room was cleaned every day. Also the bar staff especially Wahid, Amine, Mondher and Ali - up and down the room bringing us cocktails for hours - always smiling, never complaining. Also, the animation team are excellent at this hotel - even though it was quiet they still went all out with their entertaining and generally keeping us company ;) - special thanks to Kimo, Mido, Alex, Sam, Bibo, Sagon, Fi-fi, Sophie and Nino - true stars.

Room Tip: Room at the front if there's are still building works at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This holiday is fantastic! The rooms are so clean and well looked after. The staff are very friendly and the service is great.
I came away for a week on my own and will be back in June!

I would live here if I could!
Strongly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

it's just a nice holidays with my wife that i had in Royal Salem, i really enjoyed the time there with everybody and i can't forget the bar stuff how nice and how friendly they are :) wish i were there right now it's very cold here so i'm preparing my self to visit this hotel again .. thank's Mr Ibrahim the bar manager

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sousse, Tunisia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

hi went on a holiday first to to tunisia, its was strange and but then i start liking it it alots, i will loved its alot, i went and stayed at royal salem i would advise u go and stay they, they staff are excellent and friendly, and you would love it when you go there, you would love it and they places for you to relax and you can take in they beautiful sites of tunisia, i made friends with they staff and they take care of you there. i would advise go to sousse and also to el jem for a visit

Room Tip: i would choose royal salem if i come bck to tunisia
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, food was excellent, Noah, nassa and fifi were good at their job, weather not so good but made our own fun. Bar staff were great. Only negatives really,was the building work next door. Make sure you book any excursions through hotel, and not on the beach because although it looks cheaper, when your there, they make sure you spend on other things, when booked at the hotel, you only pay the amount stated. Men on beach are bit of a pain, nagging you to buy cigs and trips. Shows were pretty good, youngsters work very hard. We were surprised to see how many women there who travelled alone, but the attention they got from 2 of the youngsters was quite sickly to see. Although the 3 that I mentioned at the beginning were funny, nice to chat to, and not after one thing! Just friendly, polite and genuinely nice kids.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel about 60 times and this is the first review I have ever written about the Marhaba Royal Salem.
The positives are many - excellent staff, good food, large rooms with an excellent sea view, good facilities and lovely gardens.
Food has improved since I last visited three years ago and I felt the all inclusive option was value for money. It may not be Caribbean all inclusive standards but you get what you pay for. If you are expecting British food then please travel somewhere different! In the last three years Tunisia has gone through the mill and has had to face major changes since the Arab Spring Uprising and some people need to remember this when they are writing their oh so critical reviews. What I have found to be so true about Tunisia is - that you treat people they way you want to be treated yourself.
The staff in the hotel are very courteous and cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable.
A dinar here or there as a tip for staff is very much appreciated as they earn very little money compared with European salaries. We also had an excellent New Year Gala Dinner.
Give the Royal as you could be suitably surprised!! Make the most of a different culture.

Room Tip: Fourth or fifth floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
0.2 mi away
LTI Thalassa Sousse
LTI Thalassa Sousse
#10 of 39 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#14 of 39 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 39 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#12 of 39 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Royal Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Royal Salem

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Royal Salem 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba Royal Salem Marhaba Royal Salem Beach Tax : SOLIDARITY STAMP for non resident foreign travellers leaving the tunisian territory are requested to present a solidarity stamp: * accounting 30 TND * It is sold at th finance offices, cusomer offices (including the borders ones), banks and tabacco shops. * Its entry into force is fixed on the 1st of October 2014, defined as the entry date into the territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Marhaba Royal Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Royal Salem Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Royal Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.