We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riadh Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riadh Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Riadh Palms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenue du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Riadh Palms is centrally located with relatively short distance to the Medina. It takes approx. 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to the Medina.
The staff is kind, helpful, and very service minded.
The food is good and reasonably varied. The hotel includes 3 ala carte restaurants, which are contained in all inclusive concept.
Some rooms are renovated, others are a little worn and could use new beds, but still functional :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,
We are truly thankful for your review, we are glad that the hard work of our employees are appreciated. We are glad also that you did enjoy our A la Carte Restaurants: Tunisian, Italian and Indian cuisines. And soon from June the 1st Neptune Restaurant ( Fish Restaurant) which is on the beach, will be opened, so that our guests can benefit from more delicious meals and tastes.
We hope that you will visit us soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    576
    357
    196
    147
See reviews for
507
551
93
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel has amazing location right on the beach, this is the 2nd time to the hotel and would really recommend it as staff were always smiling doing there best to make your holiday one to never forget. All the animation were great at getting everyone involved in all activites no matter what the weather from aerobics to darts and dancing. Without the animation team it wouldnt of been the same always making sure you are happy and what they can do to make you have a memorable time, you are sure to have a great laugh with them Jo great on the mic and at bingo, Diams the kids entertainer, Sisco great dancer and aerobics, Smash great DJ in the nightclub which opens from 11 - 2, Sami the animation boss excellent customer service and team work and everyone else in the team :D Rooms on the fourth floor with sea view in the middle are amazing, everywere is clean and they have a great variety of food at all times something for everyone to enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose in the middle and not to high up eg fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,
We truly appreciate your positive feedback and thank you so much on behalf of our staff, especially the entertainment team. Our whole team is working hard so that all our guests can enjoy their stay and have a memorable experience.
We hope to see you soon among our guests.
Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

this was our first trip to Tunisia and the Riadh palms,overall the holiday was great but with a few problems. we sent an email to the hotel prior to arriving on the 5th March for 7nights we asked as it was our engagement could we have a room on the highest floor as we had already paid for a sea view, we received a reply back saying the would do there best to meet our needs but this didn't happen as we were given a room on the 1st floor? as it was late we had to stay in this room and go back to the reception the next morning only to be told come back at 1pm to see what they could do. we were eventually given a room on the 4th floor only to see other people checking in being given rooms on the 7-8-9th floor probably not English then? The internet was very hit and miss most days you could not get a signal and all reception kept saying was (not working)we found out near the end of our holiday if you go into the passageway between the lifts and the America bar you could get a WiFi signal so why did reception not inform us of this? you can try an al a carte meal of either Indian,Italian,Tunisian so we went for the Indian and what a big mistake that was the only thing Indian about it was the music we complained to the waiter as well as another four couples and he said the chef told him the food he was serving was Indian but then explained the chef had never cooked Indian food? the day before we were about to leave we went and asked if the transfer company (holiday taxis) sent an email confirmation to the hotel only to be told no you have to phone them so we asked at the concierge then then phoned to confirm our pick up time then charged us 1 dinar later when we went back to our room there was an email on the table from holiday taxis confirming our pick up? the hotel as a whole is great food was lovely and the drinks portions very large ie vodka and a dash of coke there is security at the hotel so you feel very safe. be aware when you go outside of the hotel that men will come up to you claiming to be off duty security at the hotel saying do you not remember me I will show you where all the best shopping is don't trust them they are con men. we will be back to this hotel as soon as possible.

Room Tip: you must get a pool/sea view room on the highest floor possible. not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you felt during your stay in our hotel. Riadh Palms’s team works hard in order to satisfy all our guests’ desires and provide thel with the best service so that they can have a memorable and pleasant vacation.
We are sorry that you did not get a room at the highest floor, but it was because we give rooms according to availability.
Lately we installed a new WIFI system to cover The Reception Lobby, The Bar Lobby, The Terrace, The Americain Bar, The Snack bar and the Coffee Lounge C’Zen.
We are looking forward to have you among our guests soon.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Second time we have stayed at this Hotel, the previous time last October.
We arrived on the Sunday lunchtime and although our rooms were not ready then, the Hotel's head of Reception could not do enough for us which we really appreciated. We requested two rooms on the 4th floor and later on after our late lunch we were shown the rooms 484 and 490 which were lovely room with sea views. The House Keepers/cleaners were very friendly and spoke very good english and our rooms were spotless and they were very thorough.
The reastaurant meals were very varied and you are spoilt for choice, and you certainly have to try the Italian, Indian and Tunisian Restaurants which you book a day before they are fantastic and should not be missed. All the Restaurant Staff work extremely hard and are always smiling and happy to see you. Throughout the day Sami Enajhar (Entertainment Manager) & his Team provide excellent friendly guest contact making sure you are happy and everything is alright for you. They provide games and activities throughout the day watever the weather and always good evening entertainment, early evening entertainment with a band , dancing and audience participation or shows by the Entertainment Team which obviously all go to make you Holiday a great one. If the Hotel is good, the Entertainent Team also has to be so thanks again to Diams and not forgetting Sisco & Joe and the Rest of Sami's Team & Smash the DJ.

Room Tip: Yes Rooms on the Fourth Floor are excellent with sea views - not too high Rooms also in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comments and for appreciating the effort that are done by the employees of the hotel. We appreciate that you did clarify few points about the service. We will pass your comments to our Entertainment team.
Please contact usbefore your next trip to Riadh Palms, we will be glad to help facilitate your stay in the hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Riadh Palms is a fortunate hotel with very efficient and kind staff. The surroundings are nice, clean palm garden with flowers and area around the swimming pools is nice.
However the WIFI internet is poor, and not functioning 100%.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the sea must be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,
We truly appreciate your review and we are glad that you did enjoy your stay among us. We take all comments seriously and we work hard improving our services. However now with the new Internet system, we installed WIFI to cover the Reception Lobby, the Bar Lobby, the Terrace, the Palms Lounge (snack bar), C’Zen coffee lounge and the Americain Bar.
We hope to have you soon among our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is an epitome of sun, sand, spa and socialisation. Ideally located next to the beach and massive swimming pool where you can soak all the vitamin D you like.

The good bits are:
> Staff - ever so helpful, entertaining especially animation (entertainment) staff, they get you to mingle with other singles / groups, and very accommodating
> Amenities - good but could be better, ongoing upgrades happening ie flat screen wall mounted TV installed; gym re painted. Hopefully equipment upgrade will happen soon. Spa was good as well. I paid 60TD for a package of hamman, steam bath, body wrap and relaxing massage. This price was agreed after endless haggling from 90TD. I could have opted for 2 day spa package for 100TD (€50) as the service was great.
> Food - good but not excellent either. After 3 days, it felt the variety is becoming a routine. I wanted to see more fresh fruits, all I saw was apples and oranges day in day out. Where are the grapes, bananas, papayas, water melons, mangoes, etc? Oohhpps, this is not the tropics, lol.
> Activities - loads to choose from: daytime - swimming, zumba, yoga, Pilates, volleyball, frisbee, excursions, trips, darts, camel rides, quad bikes, etc. Evening - kids disco, animation show, karaoke, ballroom dancing, disco in the hotel and also outside discotheque (see separate reviews) ie Bonaparte, Saloon, Living Bar and Banana Club, all within 5 minute walking distance from hotel.

Things that need to improve are:
> Noise - daily morning grind from chamber maids quarter which I found out next to mine! Oh dear. I can hear the arguments, discussions, laughters, etc. when all I wanted was a bit of quiet time up until I wake up around 9am. They start their rounds around 7am and I don't need an alarm clock after the second morning coz the noise woke me up everyday, so early!
> Smoking - perhaps not just in this hotel, others may have the same levels of exposure to cigarette smoking. I think only in Tunis airport that they started the smoking ban. Otherwise, people are smoking everywhere in Tunisia, hotel lobby, disco clubs, bars, resto, cafés, etc. there were designated non smoking area in the hotel lobby but you can still smell the smoke from afar. So, if you can't beat them, join them! Rather than be a second hand smoker, I started to smoke instead. Thankfully, didn't hooked up. Otherwise, this country is haven for smokers! A packet of cig is about 4-5 dinars = £2, yummy!
> Repairs - I noticed a lot of minor works and repairs left unfinished or not reported to maintenance either. For example, broken door handles, cupboard, light switches, taps in the common toilets in the lobby. Following the mid week evaluation, where guests have opportunity to comment on hotels performance, I saw few maintenance crew going around doing repairs. Well done!
> Bed - I find the bed a bit hard and low. Hope to see some upgrade into better quality beds that are a bit higher which should be easy to get up from especially for elderly guests. I chatted to few of them and asked about how they find the beds, they all complained it's too low for them. Perhaps the hotel need to consider average height of European guests as compared to local height standards. Best beds and pillows are the 2 most important things in every hotel stay I expect to have because in my 24hr sleep wake cycle, 6-8 hours (33%) or even more for some, is spent sleeping! So, investment in excellent bed and pillows should be made wisely.

Things to remember:
> Be good in haggling especially in markets (souks) to get the best price deal
> Always carry those charming smile so that staff will accommodate your wishes
> When exchanging for T. Dinars, ask for loose change to be used for tips. When you give good tips, words spread and customer service tends to be excellent. Staff do not demand any tips tho.
> No toiletries in the bathroom, make sure you bring your own. Best way is to buy them off local shop opposite the hotel. You can spend less than 5 dinars for 1-2 weeks worth of toiletries.
> Never wear shorty shorts when visiting souks / medina if you don't want the entire local community watching you with their eyes wide open. You can wear shorts but below the knee. T shirt is preferred than tank tops. Cleavages are exclusively allowed within disco bars / hotel premises and not in local town markets. No 2 piece outfits outside hotel premises. I learned my lesson after the 2nd day!

Hope you find this helpful and Enjoy your stay in Riadh Palms!

Room Tip: Best views by the sea from floor 5 above. However, the opposite offers the best sunshine all day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,
We are glad that you did enjoy your vacation in Riadh Palms. We appreciate all your comments that we take seriously and work hard on it. Our team’s main intention is to offer a pleasant and memorable experience to our entire guest.
Thank you on behalf of our whole staff especially our entertainment crew.
As you already noticed we are doing few renovations and repairs all around the hotel (new flat screen TV, new design and furniture in rooms, new WIFI to cover the reception, lobby bar, pool and terrace…).
Still we apologize for the other inconvenience that you felt during your stay.
Please contact us before your next trip to Riadh Palms, we will be glad to help facilitate your stay in the hotel and show you the changes done since your last trip.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was the 1st time we traveled with our 2 young daughters.. hotel was perfect right next to the beach and v close to local shopping and restaurant and cafes. very clean hotel with very friendly staff. not one staff was asking for tips which makes you want to give it to them naturally as thy are really friendly and sweet and go out of their way to serve and help you. the animation team was great and really friendly with the kids. makram our waiter was very polite and helpful. we had a all inclusive package which was well worth it as included all drinks and snacks for all day and the food variety at breakfast lunch and supper was excellent something for everyone i use to say..and the desserts made you feel like you were in dessert heaven! overall a 5* hotel instead of 4*!

Room Tip: high floor sea view balcony terrace! perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback and for taking the time to describe your impression.
Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering a good vacation experience for each guest. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in hotel Riadh Palms.
We hope that you will visit us soon.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riadh Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riadh Palms Hotel

Address: Avenue du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#7 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riadh Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among a realm of palm trees right on the edge of the most beautiful beaches in Tunisia, the Riadh Palms is located at the heart of Sousse. It is a 4 star-hotel where tradition, luxury and technology all come together to create a relaxed atmosphere.In order to make the most out of your holiday, many services and facilities are at your reach: a heated indoor pool and a large exterior pool, a sauna, a fitness center, a Spa center, a beauty salon, restaurants, bars with one near the pool & beach, a snack bar, a coffee and tea lounge, a night-club and a shopping gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riadh Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riadh Palms Sousse
Riadh Palms Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riadh Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.