We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brenda, Southampton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riadh Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riadh Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riadh Palms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenue du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brenda, Southampton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were at Riadh palms4thMarch-18th. Hotel quite good, pretty clean. Food choices very good.Rooms basic but ok. Staff very helpful .Entertainment very poor. Shows were in English bar where you had to buy all drinks and pay for shows. Although all inc but not for any other bar in hotel. A great pity smoking is allowed in the hotel. In reception and bar area. There are no smoking areas but they get ignored. Good value for money though.

Room Tip: sea view rooms would be quieter. Road facing rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    440
    270
    166
    120
See reviews for
389
418
66
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for his birthday, we are a young couple, and I would estimate every guest was over 70 that's alot to do with the time we went. There was no other English guests most was German, and a few French.

The food was ok, not great and not bad, I recommend a place called 'The Legends' to eat, reasonable in price excellent to watch sports.

The Spa of the hotel is basic, prices are reasonable.

We paid extra for the sea view room, and it was worth every penny waking up to the sound of the waves and then seeing the beach was such a perfect start to every day on holiday.

The journey from Tunis airport to Sousse is two hours maximum, and cost 140 Dinar excluding tip.

Overall good holiday, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent 7 days at hotel Had city room view Which meant did not have a good night sleep because of noise from cars outside Staff were not helpful just told me keep window closed.Reception staff were rude at times I didnt feel welcome at all. I visit Tunisia every year but will never stay in this hotel again The food was average not worth 4 star rating

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Only here for five days but worth the 8 hours travel. Will definitely return for longer time here as staff very friendly & welcoming, will do anything for you. Especially Achref in reception is very helpful & friendly making our stay very good!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 10 days in this hotel and it was such good value for money. With a private beach, hotel pool, bar, activities, you're simply spoilt for choice, as you are with the food. Breakfast was always lovely. Lunch and dinner can get crowded so be sure to go down early!
The room views were amazing. As we had booked to separate rooms for 3 people, they upgraded us to a suite :)
Loved it here and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel was bad, did not like food and bad smell in toilet. And was not good drink as weel, bad water, we been very ill, it was the worse holiday ever.But location was very nice, and we met some fantastic people over there. But I would not come back there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We came here in November last year for 9 nights all inclusive. When I booked the hotel I specifically requested a sea view room with a balcolny, and this cost us £30 extra which was 100% worth the money considering the phenominal view we got of the beach and coastline, not to mention the peace and quiet of being on this side of the resort.

I have been to Tunisia many times, and was fully aware of what to expect from the resorts, compared to the "real Tunisia", however, my fiance had never been to this kind of country and was quite taken aback by the almost third world state of resident Tunisia compared to the luxury of the tourists resorts there. If you like a holiday where you can get up to lots of activities, without the supervision of resort staff, then do not choose to go somewhere like this. The resorts are out of this world, but when you wander out of them unaccompanied you can end up having quite a scay experience. Tunisia is best appreciated as a relaxing, resort based holiday destination. This has been my experience in both Hammamet and Sousse. If you are a young female tourist, particularly with fair hair like me, get used to being approached constantly by Tunisian men. On every occassion I have been to Tunisia I have been followed around by men, some of whom can be quite full on. One day walking through Sousse a man approached my fiance and I and started to speak to us, however, this quickly deteriorated into him asking my fiance if he could "spend some time" with me. When my fiance said no and started to pull me away from the man he started shouting threats to us and becoming agressive. Please know that not all Tunisian men are like this, but some can be so please be aware, particularly if you are travelling as a couple.

All Tunisian destinations are heavily reliant upon tourism, so you get a lot of shop vendors in the street, joking around and trying to get you into their shops. Take this with a pinch of salt and joke back. The culture is amazing and there are some gorgeouos buildings in Sousse. If you can wander around without being fussed over too much then do so, Tunisia really is a gorgeous country

The hotel itself is gorgeous. It is vast though with 600 rooms. We went out of season and it was quiet so we received amazing service from staff who couldn't do enough for us.The weather was amazing, so hot for November! The hotel rooms are spacious and clean with good maids service, and the restaurant is also great with lovely food and plenty of choices, for every meal. The bar staff in the hotel and at the poolside bar were great, they loved to joke around with you. The only 2 points for consideration of the hotel management I would say are 1. the ferral cats hanging around in the gardens outside the restaurant at meal times (we were told by other tourists that this was because the hotel chefs would feed them left overs from meal times) and 2. the night time entertainment out of season is non existent. We were happy to sit outside on the patio and enjoy our drinks until they closed the bar at 11pm, when we used to go back to our room and sit on the balcolny for a few drinks we used to buy for this purpose at a shop near the resort, but the resort nightclub was never open, and there was no music or anything at night.

I will continue to visit Tunisia because I love it there, and we are always treated like kings and queens when we visit. We particularly love Tunisian resorts, which make English ones look like shanti towns!

Room Tip: Always choose a room with a sea view, from floor 4 upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riadh Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riadh Palms Hotel

Address: Avenue du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riadh Palms Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among a realm of palm trees right on the edge of the most beautiful beaches in Tunisia, the Riadh Palms is located at the heart of Sousse. It is a 4 star-hotel where tradition, luxury and technology all come together to create a relaxed atmosphere.In order to make the most out of your holiday, many services and facilities are at your reach: a heated indoor pool and a large exterior pool, a sauna, a fitness center, a Spa center, a beauty salon, restaurants, bars with one near the pool & beach, a snack bar, a coffee and tea lounge, a night-club and a shopping gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riadh Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riadh Palms Sousse
Riadh Palms Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riadh Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.