We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a place for the retired than for families with young children but a good location for beach, shops and medina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riadh Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riadh Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riadh Palms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenue du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More a place for the retired than for families with young children but a good location for beach, shops and medina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Riadh Palms Tunisia
Very pleasant reception area, rooms were clean enough but not 4* more like 3 however a sea view is very nice
Exchanging money here is straight forward
Food is very limited on choice for vegetarian and for kids its pizza every day the desserts are plentyfull and very nice
Speaking of young ones there is nothing for them to do unless they organise it themselves, the animation team are only interested in adults so definitely no organised entertainment for the kids
If you like your tea take some tea bags because the tea at the bar isnt that good
Tips are expected more than earned
If you venture out on the streets be carefull because most people who approach you wanting to be helpfull and appearing to be friendly have their agenda especially if they take you to a shop selling silver
Fontenella is a nice Tunisian place to go for a coffee or dessert Tunisian style and has free wifi and is only a very short walk from here
The Medina is a 20 minute walk or 3-4TD(Tunisian Dina) for four people thats cheap its well worth a visit more than once first visit try to resist any purchases or you may have regrets and remember to haggle on price when you do decide to buy something or youre gonna get fleeced without any embarrasment at all
We were there for a week including new years eve and the temperature was in the high teens during the day and definitely no swimming in the sea or outside pool but the indoor pool although small is ok for a swim
Wifi in hotel only in lobby area which we found a little annoying but usable
Overall recommedation if youre retired and looking for cheap winter warmth and some company then this would do but for families with young children you may be disappointed at the lack of kids club activities on offer as the animation team seem to be more focused on the adults

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    456
    281
    171
    121
See reviews for
412
426
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been 2 years in a row now in high season and I don't normally go back to the same place twice. Staff are brilliant for the very small fee of a local tip which is less than sweets to us and it makes all the difference if you want a truly lazy holiday and don't fancy walking further than pool to sun lounger NB tips were on a promise by end of holiday not day by day. We paid extra for a large sea view family room which was huge the first year we visited. The second year we booked with our cousins family and when told our rooms were not next to each other well we got a bit upset. This was resolved within an hour as we were all upgraded to the presidential suite!!! Fantastic suite 2 huge en suite bedrooms with a massive living area where there were more beds for the kids flat screen tv etc. the only downsides to this hotel are the lack of towels issue and the general threadbare state of the ones supplied in the bathrooms. Also the animation team well it's all down to leadership and I think they are being lead badly. The kids enjoyed the one on one time with them during the day and the kids disco (half hour) was good as for the rest unless you are of a German sense of humour it's just not worth loosing your seat near the bar to go watch the shows. Lastly the sunbed situation is absolutely dire the first year we were there they took towels off beds that were not occupied - brilliant. However the second year we took it in turns to get up at 530am to serve and sit with the beds for our group. We also watched a lot of very irate Eastern Europeans get annoyed if their towels bad been removed after they hadn't been near beds for over 5 hours. So if the hotel stuck to its clearly signed rules of no bed reservations this wouldn't have been a problem. Would defo recommend this hotel but due to early hours to get a
Sunbed unless you are in a group and can share the early morning shift then go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Air con is much better in the sea view rooms on the right wing off the reception and the further alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I and my husband stayed at Riadh Palms for an all-inclusive week in December. We asked for a room with a double bed and a sea view and we had to wait two hours until the room was ready.
The room was a standard double, poorly lit. The furniture in the room was very old and the wardrobe had a musty odor. The matress was unconfortable, and the pillows were lumpy. In the bathroom, the bathtub was very small and the toilet didn't flush properly. Upon arrival, we left a 5 dinar tip to the maid and 3 more dinars later in the week and we had our towels and sheets changed daily.
The public areas were fairly clean most of the time. On one instance I saw a cockroach in one of the downstairs toilets.
As far as entertainment goes, there is a team of animators that organise dance nights and darts and ping-pong tournaments. There is a disco open from midnight to 2 am and sometimes there was live music in the evening. There are pool tables, ping-pong tables and a couple of very old electronic games. You can also rent playing cards and dominoes from the animators. There is an indoor heated swimming pool, a sauna and a gym. Do go to the spa for a massage (the best money we spent there).
The food was plenty, varied and yummy. We especially liked that the things like eggs, grilled fish and grilled meats were made fresh in front of you. For breakfast and lunch you could sit wherever you wanted but for dinner you had a designated table and a certain time you had to go (you could choose between early dinner from 7 and late dinner from 8). You get a decent service only if you tip your waiter. If you choose not to give a tip, you can be left hanging for minutes on end without a drink (while the food is self service, the drinks are always served by a waiter). There is a limited choice of beverages such as local wine and beer (not bad at all), no-name poor quality spirits and squashes tasting like washing up liquid. You can also get tea, coffee and milk. Always ask for bottled water (even if you have to give a tip), the tap water is undrinkable. You smoke nearly everywhere in the hotel.
A special mention must be made about the New Year's dinner. Everyone had to go to the restaurant at 7pm. Because there were too many guests (the restaurant was full, they even had to bring extra tables), and not enough staff, there was chaos. Our table waiter 1. 5 hour to get the first couse. In between courses there was a wait of half an hour. Even though we gave a generous tip to the waiter, we had to wait an hour to get a get glass of wine. We asked three different people for a bottle of water that never came. In order to get a drink, we had to leave the restaurant and go to the downstairs bar. Half an hour after midnight we left (without having finished dinner, there were 3 more courses on the menu).
Besides the all inclusive restaurant and bar, there is a paying bar and a paying restaurant that we never went to.
The location of the hotel is pretty good. There are lots of shops and restaurants around. We walked around and had a very nice lunch (traditional snacks) for 4 dinars.
Medina is within walking distance (a 20 minutes walk). We went there twice, once for shoping and once to look around. Be prepared to be hassled, unless you want to be dragged in all the shops, don't make eye contact and firmly say "no" to everything. If they see the bracelet with the name of the hotel, they will tell you they work at the hotel and try to scam you. The further you go into the market, the cheaper the prices. Be prepared to bargain for everything, even if it looks cheap compared to the UK prices. We got some spices for 1.5 dinars/100g. Had we haggled a little, we could have easily bought them for less than 1 dinar.
We also went to Port El Kantaoui. We took a taxi from the hotel, we asked about the price but the driver said "only with meter". It ended up costing 13 dinars, when it should have been somewhere around 5 dinars (that is what the receptionist had told us). We came back by tourist tram that costed 5 dinars for both of us and gave us the change to do some sight seeing. The Port itself is a nice place, with shops and restaurants, but it's nothing spectacular.
We went on a camel ride (35 dinars each) which included a trip to a ostrich farm where we were served a traditional snack. You get to see how the pita bread is made (this bit made the whole trip worthwhile). The camel ride felt unnatural and unconfortable, we got off half way and continued the trip on a coach. At the start of the trip we were given traditional scarves to wear and take pictures and we were asked to pay 3 dinars each, but we just gave the scaves back.
All in all, we would never go back to Riadh Palms or Tunisia in the near future.

Room Tip: Higher foor, sea view rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

TRIED THIS HOTEL OVER CHRISTMAS AGAIN. AFTER LAST YEARS EFFORT AT the christmas eve gala diner said I would never go back. However decided to return this year with my family. Again what a disaster. Overall this hotel is fantastic for service, food and value. But when it comes to pre christmas gala diner it all fall flat on its face. The service is terrible . the food is not so good and the value is really bad.
I think , having spoken to many people, there is a culture difference. North Europeans like to sit down eat, then enjoy the hospitality. Tunisians love to eat talk and enjoy themselves over a period of time.
I have only praise for the staff and service in this hotel, but please the gala diners, do something positive.

Room Tip: Depending on the time of year choose your room. Sea facing in summer gets the sun. Town facing in wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sousse, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Day 2: invited new local friend to downstairs lounge for tea. During our conversation, the waiter interrupted us in loud tones and told us to go upstairs (in Arabic). We thought he meant our room which we thought was a bit strange, but he meant in the upstairs foyer. He was very rude and we couldn’t understand why.
Day 3: I invited my same friend to the hotel so I could quickly shower before going out for a meal.
As we were waiting for the lift, another security guard grabbed her violently by the arm, asked her if she spoke Arabic and then shouted at her in Arabic in front of many people that she was only allowed to sit in the upstairs lobby. He was aggressive and rude and treated her like a thief or a hooker.
Apparently our guest cannot have OJ in reception.
So we bought OJ and stuck the receipt to her forehead.
No tea, coffee, shampoo or soap in room
Max one towel per person per day - how does that work if you’ve been to gym or swimming etc?
No remote control to big, boxy 14” TV
Stinky toilets in bedroom
No internet wifi in room - only in lobby - why?
Lobby internet stupidly slow
Women toilet cleaners in male toilets - men like to fart and pee at same time
Spa treatment is rubbish - the commission-based salesman will pester you until you either buy or tell him to get lost
Lobby and lounge full of cigarette smoke and makes to cough immediately. If you spend 20 mins there, you will smell of fags - but guess what? You can’t shower because you have to conserve your only towel!
Lounge entertainment consists of 70’s songs done by a local artist, but the sound system was too loud for a lounge - more like a disco.
Corridors unlit - they use slow-reacting motion-sensors that don’t work until after you’ve walked past the area.

Room very dimly lit - can’t do make-up, see your hair while using hair-drier can’t do handwriting, can’t count coins and notes.
And yet, front and rear of exterior of building bathed in floodlighting.
The food is bland, tasteless school dinnery slop and the menu doesn’t change daily. No love went into meal prep (or meal service). You could finish your whole meal before a waiter approaches you to ask you what you want to drink.
Staff interrupt and talk over you when you’re in conversation with other guests
No smiles from any serving staff
Surly pre-1991 USSR style “Can’t do” attitude from reception desk staff. Very regimented
Elevators take ages because staff are always using them.

GO TO MOVENPICK NEXT DOOR INSTEAD - JUST PAY THE EXTRA

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

positive aspects of spending a week here.
Food is good
Staff sorts out problems when needed
Wine although local is good.
The private restaurant which u can go to once during your visit is good.
Beach nice. Pool ok.
Negatives:
If you have young pre or adolescent girls you need to keep an eye on them 24/7 as men from neighbouring countries who come as guests, target them and harass them non stop. I had to make a formal complaint to management for them to stop stalking my girls. Men seem to constantly emit noises from their mouths when they see a young pretty girl. My girls felt really uncomfortable and they were covered from head to toe.
If you dont smoke, like me, you will suffer as people chain smoke and even in the non smoking areas. You are constantly reeking of cigarettes.
The hotel lobby is ok, comfortable but he gym is dilapidated and so is the indoor pool. The spa offers cheap treatments but do not get a manicure or pedicure because it is a rip off and they don't know how to do it. They paint half of your choice fingers and they dont even remove the cuticle from your toes and from ur fingers they do so with the old nail polish still on.
All in all it was ok but i would not rush to come back here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riadh Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riadh Palms Hotel

Address: Avenue du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riadh Palms Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among a realm of palm trees right on the edge of the most beautiful beaches in Tunisia, the Riadh Palms is located at the heart of Sousse. It is a 4 star-hotel where tradition, luxury and technology all come together to create a relaxed atmosphere.In order to make the most out of your holiday, many services and facilities are at your reach: a heated indoor pool and a large exterior pool, a sauna, a fitness center, a Spa center, a beauty salon, restaurants, bars with one near the pool & beach, a snack bar, a coffee and tea lounge, a night-club and a shopping gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riadh Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riadh Palms Sousse
Riadh Palms Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riadh Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.