We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a few niggles!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sousse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marhaba Hotel
Save Saved
You added Marhaba Hotel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just a few niggles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Value for money hotel.
Our hotel room was one of the refurbished ones and was great with a lovely view of the gardens and a sea glimpse beyond!
The bed was extremely comfortable, with beautiful linen, which was changed 4 times during the week.
The room was serviced daily and kept very clean.
Towels were changed daily but were not good quality and I presume that they were originally white but are now faded and jaded.

The food was fine with plenty of choice but was not always hot (I found the microwave in the restaurant was a boon for this though!) However, if you are expecting english cuisine, this is not the place for you.
The waiters are attentive and willing to please.

The bar is badly organised, often resulting in queues, even though we were there out of season and the hotel was pretty quiet.
There was usually only one bar staff serving drinks - alcoholic, soft drinks and tea and coffee.
Orders for tea and coffee were time consuming for the bar staff to prepare, resulting in a queue forming.
The bar regularly ran out of long mixer glasses, even though it was out of season and the hotel was quiet, resulting in drinks being served in small plastic cups.
Ice was always either in short supply or non existent.
We found the draught mixer drinks were extremely sweet and undrinkable so we bought our own from the nearby shop to have with the all inclusive vodka, which we didn't mind.

The animation team worked hard and tried to involve everyone in the activities but didn't push it if you declined.
Their evening shows were entertaining and welcome, as there was no entertainment to speak of outside of the hotel.

We didn't use it but the indoor pool and fitness centre looked great.

We had a look at the Marhaba Beach and Marhaba Club grounds, pool area and reception and thought that Marhaba was the best out of the 3.

We met several people who had returned to the Marhaba hotel several times, which speaks for itself.
We wanted a good value, relaxing week in the sun to escape the UK winter weather and that is exactly what we got and we would have no hesitation in returning for the same in the future.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    229
    121
    49
    61
See reviews for
273
208
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

just returned from this hotel. could not fault it on any level.animation team never stopped they were the best we have ever had.food really good and a totally spotless.we would go back tomorrow if we could.

Room Tip: one side of the hotel can get more tv channels including the disney. thats on the right hand side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our 5th visit to this hotel , this hotel is fantastic value for money and everytime we go we have a great time ! we stayed for 1 week in february and going back in june for 2 weeks.
food is great you will always find something to eat even if you are really fussy , you are in a different county so its nice to try different things. The hotel makes a great effort to please everybody .
Hotel is clean and all the staff are very friendly . sun bed man is great put your sun bed out for you every morning we tipped him 2 dinnas a day which is less the a £1.
Animation team ........ FANTASTIC group of guys the work so long hours but always put 200% into there job . They make an effort with everybody . Fifi has been there now since we have been going there and its nice to go back to see the same friendly faces .

The fact that we keep going back to this hotel says it all :)

one tip i would say that if you like your cup of tea in the mornings take your own teabags as there's aren't great .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the marhaba last 2 weeks in february. Friendly staff, very helpful. (Even more helpful if you tip them which we didnt mind doing) clean hotel inside and out, nice pool. Food was well presented, my husband enjoyed it, but it was not for me. everything had a red spice shaken over it, which i didnt like. but that is just personal taste. I will be going there again but I will be taking butter, marmite, and maybe a pot noodle or two. but overall great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adare, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First a disclaimer - I only spent one night here and did not have any meal here or use any of the facilities at all. Reception is okay, but I did not think the check-in was friendly or fast. The room was basic and relatively cheap looking. It did have a balcony and a nice view of the sea over the tops of some palm trees. There was no hair dryer.

It is possible to walk to other restaurants from the hotel and the food in this area seemed to be good. Sousse itself is a bit of a dump.

The best thing of all is that I only paid about 32 euro for the night!

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo. The hotel provides tiny sachets that are horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Part of the hotel has been refurbished so main areas and intial impressions are good. Unfortunately we were in the older part of the hotel which was very dated, dark and dingy and room needed clening on our arrival. Beds were extremely uncomfortable due to lumpy pillows. No air conditioning in rooms as it was October but room very warm on arrival. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food left a lot to be desired but plenty of it. We opted to eat at local restaurants a few nights which was better and nice to get out of hotel and see local area, although being female you do get pestered a bit. If going try to ensure in one of the refurbished rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just got back from a 1 week stay at the Marhaba Hotel to be honest its a nice looking hotel at the front its clean and its reasonabley tidy the staff at the bar and waiters can't do enough for you, and the cleaners are lovely too, ours decorated our little table around our anniversary cards from one another which i thought was really sweet!!! The pool and grounds is always kept clean its just a shame the indoor pool and spa smells like sweaty feet i couldnt stay in there more than 30 mins i think a few door's could do with being left open!! It could also do with an update everything looks like its on its last legs!! The food in the restaurant was pretty poor it was coated in olive oil and the mince was like ground bones the stews just tasted like beef no spices no flavourings at all the only things i could manage all week was the pizza slices and the warm fresh bread in the afternoon and they ran out of cheeses on the 5th day!! Also the entertainment team they were nice enough but there idea of entertainment was like something out of a old peoples home it was laughable!! As for going out well the thomas cook rep tries to scare you to death about going on trips with any independents so to be honest we didnt know what to do we took the camel trip with thomas cook and we loved it but the other trips are really expensive!! Hated going out the complex you either got beggers or men following you which was rather scary!! The beach is like a rubbish tip ive never known anything like it,we wont ever be returning back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Hotel

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marhaba Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.