We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sousse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marhaba Hotel
Save Saved
You added Marhaba Hotel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the marhaba last 2 weeks in february. Friendly staff, very helpful. (Even more helpful if you tip them which we didnt mind doing) clean hotel inside and out, nice pool. Food was well presented, my husband enjoyed it, but it was not for me. everything had a red spice shaken over it, which i didnt like. but that is just personal taste. I will be going there again but I will be taking butter, marmite, and maybe a pot noodle or two. but overall great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    238
    129
    56
    67
See reviews for
281
220
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adare, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First a disclaimer - I only spent one night here and did not have any meal here or use any of the facilities at all. Reception is okay, but I did not think the check-in was friendly or fast. The room was basic and relatively cheap looking. It did have a balcony and a nice view of the sea over the tops of some palm trees. There was no hair dryer.

It is possible to walk to other restaurants from the hotel and the food in this area seemed to be good. Sousse itself is a bit of a dump.

The best thing of all is that I only paid about 32 euro for the night!

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo. The hotel provides tiny sachets that are horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Part of the hotel has been refurbished so main areas and intial impressions are good. Unfortunately we were in the older part of the hotel which was very dated, dark and dingy and room needed clening on our arrival. Beds were extremely uncomfortable due to lumpy pillows. No air conditioning in rooms as it was October but room very warm on arrival. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food left a lot to be desired but plenty of it. We opted to eat at local restaurants a few nights which was better and nice to get out of hotel and see local area, although being female you do get pestered a bit. If going try to ensure in one of the refurbished rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just got back from a 1 week stay at the Marhaba Hotel to be honest its a nice looking hotel at the front its clean and its reasonabley tidy the staff at the bar and waiters can't do enough for you, and the cleaners are lovely too, ours decorated our little table around our anniversary cards from one another which i thought was really sweet!!! The pool and grounds is always kept clean its just a shame the indoor pool and spa smells like sweaty feet i couldnt stay in there more than 30 mins i think a few door's could do with being left open!! It could also do with an update everything looks like its on its last legs!! The food in the restaurant was pretty poor it was coated in olive oil and the mince was like ground bones the stews just tasted like beef no spices no flavourings at all the only things i could manage all week was the pizza slices and the warm fresh bread in the afternoon and they ran out of cheeses on the 5th day!! Also the entertainment team they were nice enough but there idea of entertainment was like something out of a old peoples home it was laughable!! As for going out well the thomas cook rep tries to scare you to death about going on trips with any independents so to be honest we didnt know what to do we took the camel trip with thomas cook and we loved it but the other trips are really expensive!! Hated going out the complex you either got beggers or men following you which was rather scary!! The beach is like a rubbish tip ive never known anything like it,we wont ever be returning back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and a friend both aged 23 have just come back from a week at hotel marhaba. Value for money wise we could not complain. We both went out there a little skeptical after hearing lots of stories of being very pestered and people being very full on with you, but we were pleasantly surprised although neither of us really ventured out of the complex, so if you are looking for a relaxing holiday and enjoy nothing more than lying by pool or beach I highly recommend it. The beach is just a stones throw away. Be warned there are lots of people on the beach trying to sell you various different things, cigarettes (which are very cheap £10 for 200 if you are willing to barter with them), watches, fruit etc. if you are stern and say no they do leave you alone before the next one comes along. We booked a quad biking excursion with a gentleman on the beach and was a little worried about it after, but on the day it was brilliant fun and I highly recommend it to anyone.

The hotel was very clean and all staff very friendly. Reception were exceptional we had a problem with our tv and hot water on 2 separate days and on both occasions reception sent a maintenance man very quickly. There is a lovely gentleman around the pool area who is there with your sun beds as soon as you walk onto the pool side, he had a laugh with all the adults and the children. Food was standard all inclusive food as long as your not a fussy eater you will find something to eat. Entertainment staff we are bubbly and lively and tried there hardest to get people motivated in doing some kind of sport (this was not however my idea of a holiday :)). Entertainment in the evening was a little hit and miss but I think that is due to the fact it was out of season, but they tried there hardest to get people involved. The rooms were cleaned everyday by very smiley maids. You can also use the facilities of the Marhaba Club Hotel. Overall a lovely hotel complex.

A last little tip. Tipping is a way of life out there and you will be swamped by porters at Enfidha airport when you arrive that want to take your suitcases to the coach or taxi for you, if you say no they will accept it and try and find someone else or if you let the only tip them £1 or 2 Dinar. Tip a little at the beginning of your stay then again at the end if you wish.

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Me and my friend had a super kingsize bed and a single bed between the two of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARROGATE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our first visit to Tunisia. The hotel had impressive public rooms and a lovely terrace. The pool area was well kept and there were plenty of sunbeds together with helpful pool attendants. We only used the indoor pool in the Spa but the water was clean although the pool sides could have done with a little TLC. The gardens were in the process of being tidied which is normal for the time of year, and the parts that were finished were excellent.
The food in the pleasant restaurant was good, though rather a predominance of turkey! However it was delicious turkey. Food mostly with a Tunisian influence, but salads, pasta and pizza if you can't find anything else. Pastries to die for! Try the omelettes for breakfast, freshly made. Waiters polite and helpful.
Our room was a new one to the left of the reception area as you enter. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. But! It was on the first floor overlooking the roof of the restaurant, together with its air-conditioning, so only distant hotel windows and roof of restaurant for our view. The first night it was very noisy and we asked to be moved. They obliged by showing us another room on the right of reception overlooking the pool, but it was very dark and needed refurbishing so we stayed where we were and actually got used to it.
There was not much to do in the hotel at night, most people chatted or played cards. It suited us as we wanted to chill but maybe not enough for some people. The animation team are very pleasant and do their best but we only wanted to go to the folklore evening which was great fun.

One big criticism is that things are not advertised enough. We went on a trip to a show which was not our scene and missed the Tunisian night in the hotel which we would have loved and which would have cost us nothing. Also people do not go to the Animation functions as they are not well enough advertised. A full hotel entertainments program, indoor and outdoor should be given to guests on their arrival.
The Rep is very good but did not inform us of the entertainment program. However it is essential that you attend the Welcome Meeting as he gives some other very good information.
We were not impressed by sousse but enjojed our stay in the Marhaba

Room Tip: Left of reception, quiet- right, noisy but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

reading the reviews on trip advisor,i was supprised to see that this hotel was more like a four star than a three,and is much nicer than its sister hotel club marharba which is dark and unwelcoming rated a 4 star, i found that the guests in this hotel all came over to the hotel marhaba not only to eat but to use the facilities as well, the staff and the rooms were great no problems at all, we a family of three stayed in a twin bed room which was very roomy and cleaned every day and with fresh towels, and with a sea view the only complaint was the lack of entertainment, but having said that the animation team pulled there hearts out trying there best to put on different shows every evening, and games during the day,the indoor pool was always 30%and a welcome sight during our month of late Febuary 2013 which was pretty bleak, the food was ok but you always found something to eat out of a wide selection,the resteraunt was spotless and the waiters very attentive to your needs,i would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Hotel

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marhaba Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.