We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, ideal location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sousse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marhaba Hotel
Save
You added Marhaba Hotel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good, ideal location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011 via mobile

Very pleased on arrival, looked so much better than we were expecting for a 3 star hotel.

Food tended to get a bit boring after 3 days, but there was a good selection to choose from.

2 minute walk to the beach, but the pool was better in our opinion.

No queues for the bar while we were there, but we did tip the bar staff and found if there were 3 people in the queue he would serve us first.

Entertainment was good, but we think they would benefit from having a stage to preform on. But all the entertainment staff seemed very happy in their work and we enjoyed some good shows.

All in all I would deffinately recommend this hotel to other people.

We met some lovely people here and have become good friends with them.

Had a couple of trips to the 'Medina' all I will say is that if you want to buy, you have to barter, we got some converse trainers for 20 dinar about £10 instead if the 95 dinar he was asking :)
If you don't want to go in to their shops just say no thankyou and keep walking, as they can be quite intimidating.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    253
    138
    57
    69
See reviews for
299
230
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Returned from the Marhaba hotel on the 27th May...Had a fab time, lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely food, lovely pool...lovely trip. The weather was fab, the pool just right and the Animation team great.

Ive been going with my family to Tunisia for many years now and love the country and culture...i hear lots of people moaning and complaining WHY? Go with an open mind, a GSOH and relax. So its not the same food as home, the furniture not quite as good, the staff not same as our hotels - but if you want British food etc STAY AT HOME.

The staff will bend over backwards for you and if your friendly to them they will make your holiday one to remember. Dont be rude and spoil it for the rest of us...

In March/April we stayed for 2 weeks at the Tour Khalef with my husband, sister and 2 daughters (15 & 19) and my sister and I have just had one week here.
As a family i have stayed in Skanes and Port El Kantaoui but never before in Sousse although i have visited.

As my children are older now i think i prefer Sousse for the night life etc.
We will be back before the end of the year...

Fab time had by all a big hello to Mido, Christiano, Momo, Cheif security (and his partner), Atef, Ali and my friend DERRICK Dj from Lagrot Disco x

Room Tip: We had room 63 was clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Engalnd
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

we stayed at this hotel some years ago before it offered all inclusive, but this was an AI visit. The hotel is very big and a bit dated and rooms can be a very long walk from restaurant/reception areas. The rooms are a good size and mineral water is provided most days.
Yes some areas of the hotel are a little scruffy, particularly the carpeted corridors which are being slowly replaced. The main public areas are fine and the reception bar area is very pleasant, although beware, smoking indoors is very popular here!
The food was good and there was always a good choice. It is not standard 'eurobox' hotel food so some less adventurous may not enjoy. At most meals something was being prepared freshly and the guy in the morning making crepe and omlettes was an absolute delight - so happy in his work and quite artistic.
We encouneted absolutely none of the staff expecting to be tipped at all times. They were pleasant at all times whether or not you tipped. The entertainment is just okay and the lack of anywhere else to go for a quiet, smoke free, drink is a disadvantage.
Sousse town is wonderful and the Medina is a world heritage site, although the reps will try to disuade you from going and oddly they offer alternatives for which you pay dearly - what a strange coincidence.
You do get a lot of 'attention' when in the towns and a number of scams are around so be very wary. In almost all cases a pleasant no thank you wll suffice, but if you do give eye contact and enter into a conversation you may well be drawn into something, even if its just buying something you don't really need - they are very persuasive, but are only trying to make a living, which is very hard I found from talking to some local people.
Be warned that there are virtually no bars away from the hotel, so if that's the holiday you like, do not come to Tunisia.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

arrived 27 th aipri 2011 . 3 adults .4 kids 14. 9. 4..9.
we all thought this place was amazing . slides for the kids .food was great .my lads are hard to please but they had a great time here. beach was really nice but be warned they do get on youre nerves selling things stay at the top near the hut and they are not allowed up to sell you anything unless they have a licence.
i thought the shops were very cheap .but please note do not go out on youre own at night .if you wear gold please remove it befour you otherwise you will loose it .
tip the staff they will run for youre drinks. quad bikes are a must great fun
the hotel will get a very bad reputation for theft there was quiet a few guests hundreds of pounds mobile phones were stolen . even a case was taken from the lobby . do not show any of the staff youre wallet temptation .the cleaner was even caught stealing in 1 of the rooms .something seriously needs to be done maybe the owner should be taught a lesson and be closed down .if we stole in our country we d pay the crimes so why is it different for them . be very carefull and you wont go wrong
maggie manchester

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

i went to the marhaba hotel for 14 nights. with my 14 year old son .on 10Th April 2011. on our arrival we thought we had hit the jack pot the hotel looked nice . and first impressions of the staff was they where nice ..that however didn't last as they wher constantly rude to everyone unles they got a tip .. their was constant building around the pool and the hotel next door . every time we went to the pool the work men would make rude comments to my self and my son. my son went swimming and came out the pool covered in blisters. as they added way to much extra salt to the sea water they where already using . The indoor pool had so much chlorine in it the kids all had red eye and rash marks on there body . as for the food it was moderate and what we didn't eat for lunch. came back in a sauce for dinner .snack during the day where basic with little choice . there was a fight between a drunk guest and 3 other men in the hotel blood everywhere . it was not what children should see . the hotel refused to call the police . the following night the same man assaulted my son. for no reason .when i asked for the staff to call the police they again refused . and told me that id have to go to the police station but not to take anything but my passports . i thought this was for security reasons . it was however so the staff could go into my room and break into my locked suitcase and steal £480.00 pounds our ipod's ,chain and my sons ring . when i complained to the hotel i was told they could do nothing .and to go back to the police station . which i did .nothing was done . there was nothing we could do . when i discussed this with other people . I was informed that several people in the hotel had also had money and belongings stolen . The rooms where entered with the pass key. by the staff and security staff at the hotel . when i informed the owner of the hotel he informed me he knew it was going on but could do nothing about it . There is nothing in the area for children and we where advised not to walk out side the hotel grounds . this is not a safe place this resort should not be used for families . as it isn't safe and not what they say it is in the brochure

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Went in March 2011 and what a fabulous holiday.
The service was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, the food was fab, the beer was good, the pools and slides were great and the entertainment staff tried their very best.
My in-laws went the week after us and thoroughly enjoyed it too.
Trying to get back with the kids in September and have advised all of our friends to go there.
Only down side was on the flight out we were sat on seperate aisle seats despite being on our way out for our honeymoon! But the hotel could not be faulted, go you will not regret it! x

Room Tip: Tip little but often, 1 dinar is only about 50p!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

we thought the hotel and staff dam excellant very friendly indeed we thought it was that good we have booked up already to go there this sept and that 6 of us we like to take the time to thank all the staff for a great holiday esp attare mosutafer kemo we can not wait to see u all this year kev ali take care all see u all soon

Room Tip: room 301 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Hotel

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marhaba Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.