We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fantastic staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard du 14 Janvier | P.O. Box 114, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel with fantastic staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the last week in October and we had a superb holiday here. All the staff made an extra effort to make us feel welcome, they paid attention to detail and the standard of service was excellent. Everyone we encountered worked hard to ensure that we had everything we wanted and answered our questions helpfully, politely and cheerfully.
The reception area was impressive and the whole hotel had a five star feel to it. Security was tight, but not oppressive, and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Our deluxe room on the seventh floor was a good size and comfortable, with a spectacular sea view. The pools were very well tended and looked after, with a card system for towels working well to ensure no problems in getting loungers. There was a good mix of nationalities among the guests many of whom made for interesting observation.
We had chosen to go all inclusive and this did not disappoint. There were some drink options which had to be paid for but there were plenty of others available and we particularly enjoyed the house cocktail. Food in the buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent; a rich variety, carefully prepared and seriously tasty (it was obvious that the issues raised by some previous reviews had been addressed in this area). The lunch snacks at the beach bar (the Levant) were very good also. We really appreciated the efforts made by the chefs, and the bar and restaurant staff who were always attentive, efficient and cheerful. Indeed, the individual personalities of the staff we met enriched the whole experience for us and left us with many happy memories.
This was one good holiday and the Movenpick was a great hotel. We would certainly consider returning here in the future.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with a sea view well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    251
    136
    80
    46
See reviews for
297
410
79
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Don't expect a western five-star hotel. But it was very good.

The room was clean, cleaned every day and the bedding replaced half way through the week. Very good TV choice. One of those inconsistencies that doesn't make it a proper five star was that the bottled water, coffee sachets and minibar contents were inconsistently replaced.

I found the food in the Mosaic restaurant very good indeed; drinks service could be a bit slow but after three days the beer arrived without my having to even ask. One night they did a special 'Tunisian foods' presentation, excellent - but unfortunately didn't advertise it

The hotel and pools are spectacular, but do note it faces east, so the sun on your balcony will be in the morning to early afternoon if you have a sea view.

I heard the suicide bomb, and the blast blew through my room like a gust of wind. I wasn't in the least worried afterwards, as security was very impressive.

The bar staff were very friendly and talkative, though as others have stated, entertainment was muted - not a bad thing maybe, but it did lack atmosphere. It could do with a bar that looks like a bar, not an adjunct to the main hall or a restaurant. I used to cross the road to the Rose and Crown pub in the shopping centre to watch the football. The dangers of crossing the road have been exaggerated by other posters. I usually waited until there was a gap in the traffic, then walked across.

The location is 20 minutes walk from the centre along a nice promenade, or you could get a taxi for 5 dinars if you didn't feel like haggling, 2 or 3 if you did,

To sum up: incredibly helpful staff in spectacular surroundings; usually very good food and service with a few niggles; not a lot of atmosphere. If I came again I would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The reviews were so poor for this hotel I really didn't, want to go but we were very pleasantly surprised. The welcome we received was brilliant... Hot towels and a fruit punch and an offer of a meal even though it was late.
Our room was clean and spacious. The only down size was the five foot solid wall on the balcony
We did ask to be changed but the hotel was nearly full and no suitable rooms were available.
The food in the main resturant was plentiful and fresh and we all enjoyed it. The Spanish and Japanese restaurants were really very good. The best part of the kids day was chocolate time.
The service was very good. I found the waiters to be attentive and very helpful. Camel the waiter round the pool , and the waiter on the terrace were just wonderful. .. Knowing what you wanted before you even asked.
All in all we had a great holiday and would. Definitely go back for another relaxing break in lovely surroundings with great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I often think you can rate a hotel by how it deals with things when they go wrong. Unfortuately, whilst we were there a suicide bomber blew himself up on the beach! The hotel had security in place and with the minimum of fuss, both on the beach and out the front of the hotel, within the hour; they remained there for the duration 24 hours a day and whilst this was an awful experience their presence made you feel safe and reassured.
The hotel was on a busy road (think busy city centre in the rush hour), grand, though not so much so that you felt you didn't fit in! There was good food available 24 hours a day and the daily chocolate bar was a delightful indulgence. Beware the mini bar in your room...it's not expensive, but it's not part of the All Inclusive package either. The staff were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The ony thing that really let the hotel down was the lack of evening entertainment which was dismal...the fact that we were advised not to leave the hotel after the unfortunate terrorist attack only compounded this; fortunately we wanted a laid back relaxing hoiday! Great hotel though not sure I would go there again because of the location and lack of evening entertainment.

Room Tip: The sun sets on the front of the hotel so for winter sun do not ask for a sea view if you want to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed during the month of September . The hotel is excellent with its nice architechture. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Upon check in one of the female staff at the reception lacked of warmth and professionalism but our experience with the rest of the staff was great. We had lunch couple of times at the beach restaurant : Food is amzing and very good portions as well. Room service staff during night were very professional.
Will definetely go back when possible.

Room Tip: Avoid street view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkeilor, null, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In reviews it said daily program of entertainment/events.There was little of either. During the day it had a list of activities and location, but never did I see anyone going around actively encouraging guests to take part, I was particularly interested in the aqua-gym but no one ever turned up at the pool for the class.They did say numbers dependent but if no-one shows up to take class - no class. Evening events consisted of classical guitarist(good) or keyboard alternate nights.Food was monotonous and same most days.
Hotel is clean,right on beach, nice rooms, fair service,the advance booking for special restaurants if all inclusive left a lot to be desired with them announcing it was full till 10pm, when in fact the place was more than half empty. I was told this more than once instead I went directly to the restaurant and booked there.Hotel was practically empty and they seemed to be shutting up for end of season, it appears to be more of a business hotel,also not much to do around hotel area.Just as well weather was good!!!

Room Tip: Avoid front of hotel at roadside as drivers tend to toot horns repeatedly and rev engines, so get ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

After reading many bad reviews about this hotel before going I was worried about visiting but upon arrival until departure it was great.

ALL INCLUSIVE 24 HOUR Thomas Cook

First we arrived on a late flight, check in was a bit slow as you have to fill in a form for each person arriving but then we went to our room and all was ok. The next morning at breakfast they take you to a table (different each morning) and you go up as many times as you like lots of choice.

The pool area was really big one salt water pool and one normal pool which are really large. Sometimes you was the only one in the pool. Plenty of sun beds to choice from. Plus if you want to go onto the beach you just step from the pool area to the beach with the hotels own sun beds. The beach has security guards to you do not get pestered by the beach sellers unless you go to the sea then you will get asked if you want to buy something. But it you get stuck the security guard will help you.

Lunch time you can eat near the pool or go into the restaurant again for all you can eat buffet.

Evening meal has a great selection for all. Even children they have pasta, chicken, chips , pizza etc

Drinks you can have soft drinks or alcohol which is on the all inclusive menu. You can also try the Sushi restaurant and Tapas which is on the all inclusive meal deal. You have to book these two restaurants.

In the afternoon you can go to the chocolate event every day from 4pm in the Breeze bar. Once the waiters know what you want to drink they will bring your drinks over to you.

The people who work round the pool/beach helping with the sun beds and towels were very nice people.

If you want to go out of the hotel there a couple of shops outside but at times it is very very hard to cross the road, sometimes impossible. There is a supermarket when you turn left outside the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and do nothing for a week or two. I just don't understand why some people keep moaning about it.
Just don't drink the water you get bottle water in your room every day, ice is up to you.
There is not alot of evening entertainment just someone playing a guitar or an organ in the lobby each evening, so do not go expecting lots of Kareoke etc this is not the right hotel for that.

Room Tip: Pool View, sea view. But the street view will be interesting enough to watch people go by. Ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier | P.O. Box 114, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#6 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located at the entertainment heart of Sousse, and just minutes away from the city centre. Opened in April 2010, this luxury resort is the first International chain resort in the city of Sousse. LocationThe Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located on a prime 300-metre beachfront location in the heart of the city, only 20 km away from Habib Bourguiba Monastir Airport and 135 km from downtown Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Moevenpick Resort And Marine Spa Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.