We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 time in this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard du 14 Janvier | P.O. Box 114, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Zilina, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“2 time in this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I did stay in this hotel for my 2 time, in June 2013

I can tell that from 2012 i see some improvement with staff but still really noise cleaning staff so that it was impossible for me to sleep after lunch and because i did come to relax this was really bad for me

for sure they need to think about food it was good but really need more choices cause i really don't like to eat the same food for 12 days like i did, i really like that sushi restaurant at hotel and i did spend hours in Aga cafe and Mohamed, Sami and ohers staff there are really nice

what i didn't like was too many tourists form Russia :-( noise and ruooooooode and unmannered

this should be hotel with no kids under 16y really would be better

Room Tip: rooms are all good ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    251
    136
    80
    46
See reviews for
297
410
79
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've spent my summer holiday together with my parents in this lovely resort.

Last year, before our trip to Sousse, some of the reviews were not in favour of this resort, but thank God, we did not change our mind about our final destination. There are some flaws, but nothing unexpected for Northern Africa and Arab world.

We arrived very late to the resort but check in went smooth. Eventough we had booked Standard Room (the only possibility given to us by our travel agency) we were upgraded to Superior Room overlooking the nearby Marabout hotel. The receptionist had not told us anything about the (free) upgrade, so I realized that after entering the balcony. Really nice!
Traffic from the Boulevard du 14 Janvier did not represent any obstacle for a good sleep druing the day/night. However, one could hear the load animation programme from Marabout. Luckily it ended at 22:00.

Front Desk - No issues. Altough you might end up going there to ask repeatedly for the same thing. ;) We were able to book late check out for a reasonable sum of money. However, you need to bring keycards to the front desk to get decoded and coded again. FLAW - We were registered as guests from "Russia", even tough we are from Serbia (as well as our travel agency).

Room is spacious for two adults, but for 3 of us it prooved to be a bit tight - given the fact that I used the reclining sofa which did occupy quite some space between the balcony and king bed. Bathroom was superb, furniture in good condition, LCD TV working perfectly. Room Hygiene excellent. FLAWS: additional glass for 3rd person, and inconsistent supplies of shampoo and soap. Complimentary glass bottle of mineral water was never replenished - even tough requested several time. However, none of this made any trouble to our relaxable stay.

A la Carte restaurants & Reservation - Reservation agent seems to be rather not very fluent in English so, on one occassion we went to Levent Grill thinking we had a reservation but it was for the next evening! This was sorted out with helpfull lady from Guest Relations.
Levent Grill - AVOID, AVOID, AVOID! Rude service, mediocre food servings and overcooked meat/vegetables. The head waiter had a very underestimating attitude toward us from the very moment of our arrival to the Restaurant. We were not offerred anything to drink druing 40 minutes spent there. When we decided to depart, he was standing by the bar with a toothpick in his mouth and he waved for me to come over - in order to sign the invoice (just to note that even tough the meal/drinks are free if booked, one still needs to sign an invoice with room number, and the sum is 1 millime). Very very rude...
Tapeo - Totally different story. I cannot find the right words to explain how welcoming and well mannerred is the head waiter and his whole team. Tappas, Paellas and spanish deserts at this restaurant are extraordinary. We were regularly visited by the head waiter just to see if we like the food and if we need more drinks. The next time we went to Tapeo, he was happy to see us again and thanked us for this second visit.

Mosaique Restaurant - The main restaurant is OK. Everyone is working very hard. Tables are kept clean. Lunch buffet is quite repetitive, while dinner buffet is okay for a week or so, then it does get repetitive. Food is generally tasty and well prepaired. FLAWS - Sometimes it does take some time for the waiters to reach you and prepare the table or serve drinks. In the last few days we were given an allocated table, but then had it switched two or three times.

Aga Cafe - The real Orient! This is a MUST VISIT for everyone. Great coffees, nice atmosphere (live traditional Tunisian music in the evening). Very attentive staff.

Pool Bar - Drinks are served in plastic cups, so what? No issue with that. Special THANKS to Kamel (refferred by some as the lad with straw hat) and Billal from the pool bar. They are the best!

Pool area is clean and well managed. Beach is clean and there is security to avoid trespassers. Sea was clean for most of the time.

Gym - SUPERB! The view of the sea is stunning while you work out. Machines are brand new. And staff could not be more helpfull! Once again thank you very much.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms or Deluxe Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a resort with enourmos potential! You can almost say that this hotel has everything, but I'm sorry to say, it has some serious issues. I would say about 90% of the staff and management was totally destroying the hotel image, and I feel really sorry for det remaining 10% who was doing their absolute utmost to please the guests.

This was FANTASTIC:

- Our waiter at the buffet dinner (can't remember his name)
- The waiter at the pool Kamal. Fantastic positive guy with a great smile, and VERY helpful!
- Everybody at the Sendai restaurant. Professional staff and the GREAT cook Tedi!
- The Spa was gorgeous, and the staff were great.
- The waiter at Lavant Grill, Ferhat. He worked his butt off, was very attentive and genuinely wanted to do a good job.
- Roomservice was really good.

This was NOT so fantastic:

- The people in the reception, the bar, everybody at the breakfast servings were mastering the art of frowning at an extremely high level.
- Houskeeping did always come at a inappropriate times. late in the day/night.
- It's good to clean properly, but hey, what about maintanance?? (This list is too long to write in this review).
- I'm a guy who generally likes to tip workers who I feel deserve it. I do NOT like it when I feel that it is EXPECTED that I MUST tip even if you didn't really do anything! ( This is a BIG issue in Tunisia in general, and no less at this hotel).
- When I complained to a manager after waiting an hour(!) for coffee at breakfast, while I see that everybody else who were from Tunisia got served before everybody else (foreigners), I do NOT expect to get the F-WORD in reply.

It actually frustrates me when I see a resort like this slowly going down the drain. This could really be an AMAZING hotel, but I'm so sorry to say that it has too many flaws, and if the leaders at the top don't act on this they will just be an average hotel at best...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I have to say we are disappointed to be writing this review as I was genuinely excited about going to stay here for a week. We travelled as two couple (both early 30s) and we have both been to a number of high quality all inclusive hotels over the years.
The hotel itself is stunning and the rooms are superb too. A couple of things worth knowing though - the all inclusive side of things isn't the best. The choice of drinks is terrible and only about 3 cocktails to choose from with no imported alcohol. Not what I am used to in a 5* resort. The food wasn't much better, you had limited selection if you could get into any of the al carte restaurants and when you did get in it wasn't the best. Choice was limited and food standard average.
The buffet was a free for all every day with a lot of very rude foreigners eating there too. We paid £1300 each for a week and do not feel it was good value eating the same buffet stuff each day. Very little variation.
Our room wasn't cleaned on 3 out of the 7 days - once down to our choice as they wanted to come in at 6.30pm when we had returned from the beach and were getting ready for dinner. Not exactly convenient and poor service.
On a positive note, Kamal who works as a waiter around the pool area served us every day and couldn't do enough for us. He was a true attribute to the hotel.
Overall this has the potential to be a great hotel but needs some serious working on. Almost appears they are under staffed and trying to squeeze every little bit out of the minimum resource!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Lovely relaxing holiday
i visited Movenpick with my wife from 07.18 till 07.27 and we were greatly surprised with the high quality of service and the accomodations! We enjoyed our time there thanks to all the staff especially Zied the responsible of the recreation team who helped us and was extreamly kind and professional!
For people who are afraid of jellyfish, in Movenpick there's 2 seawater swimming pools! ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very poor service with so many mistakes at different levels (reception, restaurant, bars…). It’s a mess and a shame for a well-known Swiss brand like Movenpick.

This hotel would be great place to be if managed otherwise: great facilities, very nice location, wonderful beach, many restaurants and bars…: the real issue is the very poor service and the way how client relationship is managed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marsa, Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Despite nice location and great facilities (pools, restaurants and wonderful beach), Movenpick Sousse is simply horrible: do not worth the money we pay (250 EUR/room), do not worth 5stars and it's a shame to have it under great Swiss brand of Movenpick!

Few examples to illustrate why:

- Horrible reception: waiting for 1 hour 15 min to get our room at 4:15 PM! Very poor and not friendly communication until one manager has been contacted

- House keeping: room cleaning requested from 10:30 to 7:00 PM: room was not done until we contacted reception for the 3rd time!

- Horrible service at all restaurants and bars: not professional at all, do not know how to communicate with clients, orders came very late and frequently wrong...

- Managers not looking after clients and not visible around!

- Restaurants: bad quality not matching 5 stars/ brand name and do not match the money we pay for (only exception Tapyniaki restaurant)

- Air conditioning: not working

- Mini bar: not re-filled automatically

- Parking: only 50 places for 800 rooms!

The above feedback is based in our stay, with my wife and son, on August 2013 ( we stayed before during winter season and was not good neither: I thought it will be better during high season!)

I highly recommend to avoid this hotel when you plan vacation in Tunisia: it does not reflect the quality of hotel industry in Tunisia ( you can have much better for less money...

I know very well the other hotel Movenpick in Tunisia (in Gammarth) : it has nothing to do with Sousse one and it's from far much better

Room Tip: The best tip I can give is to not book at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier | P.O. Box 114, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#6 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located at the entertainment heart of Sousse, and just minutes away from the city centre. Opened in April 2010, this luxury resort is the first International chain resort in the city of Sousse. LocationThe Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located on a prime 300-metre beachfront location in the heart of the city, only 20 km away from Habib Bourguiba Monastir Airport and 135 km from downtown Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Moevenpick Resort And Marine Spa Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.